Swoon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Swoon Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ July 16, 2015
The case has been made into two previous movies - Alfred Hitchcock's "Rope" (1948) and Richard Fleisher's "Compulsion" (1959), but both to one degree or another played down the topic of homosexuality. This new version by writer-director Tom Kalin plays it up, sometimes in ways that are fairly disturbing, as when he seems to linger on the ways the dominant Loeb was able to control the more submissive Leopold by using sex as a weapon.
½ May 13, 2012
Moody, dispassionate take on the savagery of crime that neither illuminates nor captivates.
½ February 14, 2012
Moody, dispassionate take on the savagery of crime that neither illuminates nor captivates.
May 23, 2010
This is a movie I've been looking for quite a while, and I've finally found and watched it, and felt rather disappointed in it. Like my best friend said, I remember there were two guys, I remember they were gay, I remember they were outlaws, I remember it felt "slick" - and I remember thinking it should have been sexier, scarier, more intense, with more impact. His words pretty much summarize how I feel about it as well.

The photography, the music, the direction were magnificent. I also found magnificent the way with which the archive footage including the real Leopold and Loeb was edited in this film. The acting by the starring duo was superb and Craig Chester is an actor who has brought all the gay characters he's portrayed to life. But the movie falls short - it has the vision and the guts, but it doesn't have the force and the impact.
February 18, 2010
very interesting take on new queer cinema that emerged during the early 90's... for a movie from 1992, it really holds a good sense of detail and intrigue
December 14, 2009
The true crime movie has become fashionable in recent years, with "In Cold Blood" a particularly hyped example. This first movie from Tom Kalin, often seen as a leading proponent of the 1990s "new Queer Cinema" is perhaps the best of the genre I have seen and something of a relief - I had seen his most recent film, "Savage Grace" and found it to be shallow and pretentious.

I don't tend to be a fan of films shot in black and white for the artistic sake of it, but again, had my preferences subverted. The explicit nature of the two protagonists' relationship works well in that we usually expect monochrome settings to be accompanied by monochrome storylines. Egged on by the psychopathic Dick, the relatively benign Nathan is ultimately unable to control his love and goes along with a crime which he had had no intention of committing and had precious little involvement in. The filming is full of clever touches and the shockingly homophobic atmosphere of public opinion is vividly depicted - although we have little sympathy for the murderers.
November 18, 2009
pretty good remake of the story. love the photography. and the two guys are really great in their roles.
½ September 30, 2009
Doesn't really achieve the goals it sets out to. The period never convinces, the relationships never feel genuine or well developed and it does not really warrant its place in the Indie film Canon. It should however be credited for its ambition and attempt at creating something different and interesting.
Super Reviewer
July 3, 2009
Add a review (optional)...
½ June 24, 2009
siempre me ha gustado el nombre Leopoldo
June 5, 2009
Add a review (optional)...
½ August 17, 2008
The Worse Movie Ever. Can'i believe I even rented it. Actually returned it about twenty minutes into the movie. If I wanted to see a porn movie this bad I could probably find them online. Would give it a negative rating if I could ( Almost 18 years later but still the worst movie ever)
August 12, 2008
Leopold & Loeb, mas siniestro-romanticas historias de amor de todos los tiempos
August 6, 2008
My third favorite movie of all time. I absolutely adore this one. I've always been obsessed with the Leopold-Loeb case. This movie just romances it, and I am haunted. "Now I know you, your doglike nature that adores being kicked. Now I know you, and you shall come to know me."
July 13, 2008
I am glad that this isn't as surreal as people say it is. This is a film that judges Leopold and Loeb not because of their sexuality and identity but because of their immoral choices. It doesn't see their acts of homosexuality as a perversion but it sees them as parts of their identities. Not as artistic as but more interesting than the film Poison, this is a great and important part of the New Queer Cinema.
June 20, 2008
A haunting kind of a film, Swoon tells the infamous story of the lovers/killers Leopold and Loeb. The black and white cinematography is gorgeous and the mood is enhanced even more by the soundtrack and editing of the film. Craig Chester (Adam & Steve) is fantastic as Leopold, managing to show both the sensitive and flippant sides of the man. Schlachet played Loeb as an endlessly charming but strangely menacing character and did a fine job of it. The director only recently went on to make his second feature, another great true crime drama, Savage Grace, and here's to hoping that he doesn't take quite as much time making his next one. Queer Cinema might not be so New anymore, but it's definitely alive and kicking. Thank god.
June 13, 2008
I totally LOOOOOOOOOVVEEEEEEE this movie. It first introduced me to the ultra super mega sexxxy Craig Chester:p This movie is so cool it could be president!
½ April 9, 2008
An interesting surreal film.
½ March 23, 2008
An art-house, murder/courtroom film with deep moral core. I felt the courtroom sequence (3rd act). They went from being prosecuted for a ruthlessly sick murder to being putt-away for being gay. A very dark commentary on how our "liberal" North American society treated (and to some extend still does) those whom where considered different (or sexual deviants in this case).
February 2, 2008
Resourceful, sensitive and fascinating portrait of Leopold and Loeb.
Page 1 of 3