Tai-Pan - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tai-Pan Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 31, 2015
Tai-Pan (1986)

Although I'm a big fan of James Clavell's Shogun, I thought that his book Tai-Pan was far superior. His book about the early China trade, starting with the Opium Wars and then the taking of the island of Hong Kong by the British was wonderful. This brought a continuation of his characters on the rest of his series of books about Asia.

The movie, Tai-Pan was perfect timing for the De Laurentiis Entertainment Group with the up-coming transfer of Hong Kong sovereignty back to mainland China in 1997. Unfortunately the transfer of this story to film, just didn't work as well. I still think that it covered the book okayl and it's well worth a viewing especially if your a James Clavell fan.

Although Roger Ebert called this movie "The Battle of the Breasts", it does have some of the most beautiful and sexy women of the 80s; Joan Chen, Kyra Sedgwick, Janine Turner, Katy Behean, and scores of unknown cuties.

Dirk Struan (Brian Brown) is a Scottish leader of a fleet of sailing ships in the lucrative trading with China. He deals with pirates, corrupt officials, and competing, villainous merchants. He has to deal with high finance and political intrigue to stay afloat and alive.
January 19, 2015
good version of this
½ August 10, 2014
Pretty bad. Should have paid heed to both sets of ratings here. Bryan Brown's "Scottish" accent was laughable, as well as the terrible dialogue poor Joan Chen had to mouth. Even Maurice Jarre's music left a lot to be desired. It was like it was trying to be like Hawaii and just didn't know how. Piss poor.
April 1, 2014
Love and honour against the backdrop of British Empire building and entrepreneurial traders in 19th century China. It's a fair story of imperialist aspirations although the general themes are common enough and ordinarily dealt with by the director.
½ November 3, 2012
Not many have seen this film. It's a pretty good though!
October 2, 2011
A sad, sad version of a very great novel. Disappointing would be an understatement.
½ March 25, 2011
Not many have seen this film. It's a pretty good though!
½ March 25, 2011
Not many have seen this film. It's a pretty good though!
½ December 20, 2010
Once again, this attempt to use the opium war as a background for an epic story ends up being flat. Too bad, Joan Chen's performance was pretty good and Clavel's book a good base to work on.
½ March 31, 2010
Interesting semihistorical movie about the founding of Hong Kong with the beautiful Joan Chen.
½ March 18, 2010
burn opium and do not go

I we're going into the eye of the storm

never lass, I'll never leave you

no hiding from a typhoon, you ride'r out or you do not; we'll wait for the sun together

You are my supreme lady... tis no laughing matter
December 25, 2009
Saw it when i was like 12 yrs old so i have a vague memory of it but i know i enjoyed it then though i didn't fully understood it, im in the middle of the book right now and i'm lovin it so hopefully i'll be able to find the movie on line somewhere ¿any clues where to find it?
December 25, 2009
saw it when i was like 12 yrs old so i have a vague memory of it but i know i enjoyed it then though i didn't fully understood it, im in the middle of the book right now and i'm lovin it so hopefully i'll be able to find the movie on line somewhere
½ October 2, 2009
Having loved 'Shogun' as a youngster i did have some expectations from this - that were very quickly scotched. I'm sure the book would be better, certainly better than Bryan Brown's Scots accent, but the pacing and balance of action and drama were all wrong - not to mention some ridiculous 'pantomime-style' villains.
October 2, 2009
well umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch its got a really good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie i think that bryan brown plays a good part throughout this movie..its got good settings throughout this movie because its set in 1841...i think that this is a good movie...i think that the director of this drama movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie its a good drama movie 2 watch its a powerful movie its got good settings throughout this movie n its a powerful movie 2 watch
June 18, 2009
Great story of the beginnings of Hong Kong. Movie isn't the book, but nice to have the movie too.
February 21, 2009
The film is ok, but when it comes down to it, if you've read the book, then don't waist your time with the film, as it is no where near as good.
½ July 29, 2008
The books were better,However I do recommend James Clavell's Noble House.
It was made into a mini series.
June 20, 2008
Muy buen guión, buenas actuaciones, buen ritmo...la recomiendo
April 24, 2008
i was also really looking forward to this but was let down. the film has nothing on the book and it felt rushed fro most of it. do yourself a favour and get the book you will enjoy it greatly.
Page 1 of 2