Tales from the Darkside: The Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tales from the Darkside: The Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 15
½ April 11, 2016
Historias medianamente interesantes, pero tampoco nada que te vaya a sorprender mucho o dar miedo, por así decirlo. Eso sí, un gran uso de efectos prácticos.
December 2, 2015
Decent movie, some stories were better than others but overall it was cool. 3/5 OR 6/10
January 28, 2016
'Tales From the Darkside: The Movie' left me shaken and a little stirred like the way a martini would be at the bar. Its problem lies in its laughability at times and how the actors in the 'Lot 249' segment feel as if they are tired of being given this script to do. My hope is the show is actually better. But this movie makes for great entertainment for horror and anthology fans
Super Reviewer
November 1, 2015
Kind of a hokey horror-comedy, Tales from the Darkside: The Movie is too tongue-in-cheek for its own good. In the film a suburban witch is entreated to three tales of horror by a young boy that she's preparing to cook. However, the stories are rather lame; a mummy that comes to life, a killer cat that won't die, and a gargoyle that falls in love. The writing is really poor, and is full of clichés and painfully bad stereotypes. Yet, the cast is surprisingly good, and includes Christian Slater, Steve Buscemi, Julianne Moore, and James Remar. Tales from the Darkside: The Movie is mildly entertaining, but it just isn't able to pull off the campiness and clever wit of the television series.
½ January 7, 2016
i share the seem feelings towards this one as i did "Creepshow"; almost seems like it's a spoof when i watch it now -- but i wonder what my thoughts would be if i were to watch it in 1990. again, SO many big name actors in these! (by today's standards)
½ June 15, 2015
Not as fun or good as Creepshow, but it does thoroughly capture the cheesy charm of Creepshow in an excellent degree! B+
½ September 5, 2015
More cheesy fun last night. Nothing like seeing Christian Slater get stalked by a Mummy.
July 16, 2015
A fun little nostalgic horror anthology, that saves the best skit for last, and has a fun wraparound tale.
June 21, 2015
A tad underrated. It's no Creepshow but it'll do.
½ May 12, 2015
Tells some good tales with better than average gore. The all star cast really steals the show and makes Tales From The Darkside: The Movie better than expected.
May 22, 2015
"Tales from the Dark Side: The Movie", is a film that can be entertaining, but has next to no creativity put into it. This is supposedly the third CREEPSHOW, but has none of the inventive stories that movie had. It feels generic and very rushed pacing wise, and even though I don't hate it, I don't really like it much either. It's honestly a film that you can live without watching.
½ May 13, 2015
As an anthology horror movies it's one of the better ones for sure. The stories have no real twists or turns that will surprise or shock the viewer (like The Twilight Zone) and it doesn't have the style or substance of a movie like Creepshow, but what it does have is plenty of gore and monster effects, plus some good acting.

The first segment involves a mummy. It has the most big named actors of any of the segments and is probably the scariest of the three stories. It's okay, but nothing special.

The second segment is a bit boring, despite being written by Stephen King and George Romero. It involves an evil cat and it really isn't that interesting until the fantastic gore scene at the end. The weakest story in my opinion.

The last segment is the cheesiest by far. It has some cool monster effects and gore, but relies too heavily on a twist ending you can already see coming. It isn't that great, but the cheese factor is high and there's something about rubber suit monsters that is awesome to see in movies.

Overall, Tales from the Darkside as a whole is like the sum of all its part. Each story is okay, but nothing you need to go out of your way to see. There's nothing terrible about the movie, but nothing special about it either. Though, if you want to see an anthology horror movie then this is one of the better ones to recommend.
½ May 9, 2015
I think these tales had such potential, and they used gore and monsters that were typical for the late 80s, early 90s. But they really missed the potential. Take the second tale for example. They were so close to having a story that was a perfect metaphor for death from old age or natural causes, and the scene with the cat crawling in and out of his mouth squandered it.

It was entertaining enough, though that's not saying much from me. I'm easily entertained. But it was thoroughly unimpressive, with cheesy monsters and too-conclusive endings. The ending to the "framing" story of the boy boring. All in all, it showed potential but squandered and followed through too expectedly to be at all successful.
½ April 7, 2015
The Wraparound Story: A kid tells stories to a witch, (played by the lead singer of Blondie) to postpone being eaten. The kid is so irritating I was rooting for the witch.
Lot 249: A segment that proposes a truly horrifying situation; Steve Buscemi, Christian Slater and Julianne Moore all simultaneously forgetting how to act. They all seem to be competing to have the most apathetic reaction to being killed by a mummy.
Cat From Hell: Preceded by "Cat's Eye" and concluded with "Sleepwalkers", this is the middle instalment of Stephen King's "Cats Are Not Scary" trilogy. A hitman is hired by an old man to kill an evil cat. It's as hard to take seriously as the filmmakers did.
Lover's Vow: The most well-made segment that is all but ruined by the hilarious creature effects.
Overall: The filmmakers truly did not know the power of the darkside.
March 28, 2015
2 stars for the story with the gargoyle. The Disney cartoon Gargoyles made me love the monsters and besides this movie I've never seen them in a horror movie. We have a million Bigfoot movies but no gargoyles. It makes no sense. Anyway, the story is alright but the killer cat story was better.
½ November 11, 2014
As the unofficial Creepshow 3 (it's Tales from the Darkside only by name) this movie tops part 2, very close to part 1. It's a creepy old fashioned horror film, resembling a much more twisted '50s-'60s anthology horror flick. 70/100
½ October 30, 2014
Funny, campy, brutal--they took old school thrills and made them fun.
½ October 15, 2014
Thanks to casting that is savvier than the horror norm, and to direction by John Harrison that is workmanlike and sometimes even witty, at least it's fun.
Page 1 of 15