Talk to Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Talk to Me Reviews

Page 1 of 7
July 12, 2007
Neither Lemmons nor screenwriters Michael Genet and Rick Famuyiwa, however, have much of a feel for character, let alone story.
July 26, 2007
There is one good movie in Talk to Me and about four bad ones.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
July 8, 2007
Lemmons tells her based-on-real-life tale with enough enthusiasm to partially obscure both the clichés lining her plot's path as well as her cursory address of the roiling social unrest gripping the country.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 23, 2007
Petey hated whitey.
Full Review
July 17, 2007
In spite of Cheadle's forceful performance, the watered down script fails to capture the rawness and polemic logic of a groundbreaking social commentator who spoke truth power on a daily basis.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 3, 2007
For all the wild controversy that Petey ignited in his time, Talk to Me ends up being as generic and watered-down as its title.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
November 28, 2007
This straightforward schematic biopic never talks to me.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 22, 2007
Alternates too deliberately between jaunty comedy and serious message-making.
July 14, 2007
About halfway through the movie, it changes direction, becoming less a biographical drama about Petey than a maudlin buddy movie about his relationship with Dewey.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 27, 2007
he mood shifts awkwardly from broad comedy to melodrama and social commentary.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 27, 2007
Its dialogue, equal parts uptight honky and jumping jive seems, particularly in the early stretches, to have been generated by a computer.
July 27, 2007
The biggest problem with Kasi Lemmons' biopic "Talk to Me" is whether it wants to be a comedy or a drama.
July 19, 2007
What I'm hoping flies under the radar is the unexpected and disappointing transformation of Kasi Lemmons, whose previous pitch-black, haunted sensibility barely makes an appearance in her highest-profile film.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 12, 2007
I was bummed out by the movie's trite VH1 cartoon of the black power era -- especially coming from Kasi Lemmons, who made her directing debut with the hauntingly ambiguous Eve's Bayou.
July 14, 2007
It's an unfortunately neatly packaged tale about a man who, by all evidence, constantly and consciously resisted easy repackaging.
Read More | Original Score: C+
July 12, 2007
The writing and direction pull their punches, opting for a 'be cool, yâ(TM)all' ethos and the hazy glow of tribute instead of the messy reality that Greene himself reveled in lancing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
July 12, 2007
'Every stereotype has truth,' says Don Cheadle as Petey Greene. That fallacy ruins Talk to Me.
July 12, 2007
Don Cheadle, along with Taraji P. Henson, act up a storm in this biopic about Petey Greene, a 1960s-era deejay who shook up the airwaves with his streetwise rant. Their performances deserve a better film.
Read More | Original Score: C+
July 14, 2007
Watching it becomes an exercise in frustration when a potentially great movie winds up buried inside a just OK one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2007
Unfortunately, the filmâ(TM)s self-importance simply masks a story about a self-destructive loser who lucks into some notoriety.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 7