The Tall Men - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Tall Men Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 17, 2016
This move is underrated in my opinion. It has a great story line, a lot of intense action, beautiful scenery and some very wild dangerous scenes. One of my all time favorites, if you like westerns and have not seen this one, please check it out.
Super Reviewer
½ December 11, 2015
Standard oater with the main attraction being that grand Western vistas were filmed in bigger-than-life Cinemascope, and they are impressive indeed. The work is improved and highlighted by an epic fight against the Indians combined with a raging cattle stampede. Heady stuff. The cast is charismatic enough too, but here's what hamstrings this one up: they are all in stereotypical roles that telegraph the outcome of any interaction long before any of it happens. The whole effort is decent finally, but that's all.
September 21, 2014
Raoul Walsh directed this lavish but dull cattle drive western tale. Clark Gable and his brother sign on to help Robert Ryan with is cattle drive and face all manner of adversities. Jane Russell plays the love interest. The film has some nice photography and a pretty large scale, but the story is deathly boring. Walsh typically directs tight and efficient action tales, so I'm not sure what went wrong here.
½ June 28, 2014
Big-budget Hollywood western with a glamorous cast.
½ November 10, 2013
A very good film. You'll enjoy every single moment.
½ December 24, 2012
Decent scope Western from Raoul Walsh. It's not one of his better films but it's well worth watching.
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
½ September 24, 2010
Ordinary western dressed up with big stars.
½ August 15, 2010
Clark Gable uber alles
½ September 16, 2009
Good western peppered with almost all the usual elements of the genre - marauding Indians, cavalry, a cattle drive, Civil War overspil, standoffsl and double-crosses..all that and Gable, Ryan and Russell - the latter baiting the former throughout in song.
June 15, 2009
The Tall Men (1955)

Two brothers, Ben (Clark Gable) and Clint Allison (Cameron Mitchell) are down-on-their-luck cowboys, after the Civil War, that come riding into a gold mining town in Montana. They try to rob a man, Nathan Stark (Robert Ryan), but Nathan talks the boys into working with him to herd cattle from San Antonio, Texas to the meat-hungry territory of Mineral City, Montana. It's risky, but if they can accomplish this, it'll make them all wealthy men.

On their way down to Texas they meet some settlers who feed them. One of the travelers is Nella Turner (Jane Russell). Later, the settlers are killed off by an indian attack. Ben is almost too late but manages to save Nella. They camp out in an abandoned shack and sort of fall in love with each other. However, Nella has high ambitions of living a comfortable life and Ben's dream of ranch living is not for her.

On their arrival to Texas Nella re-aquaints herself with ambitious Nathan Stark; a match made in heaven. Ben and Clint have put together the cattle and the men needed to herd them this distance including Ben's old friend, Luis (Juan Garcia) They're shocked to find that Nathan is bringing Nella on this trip with him.

Raoul Walsh directs this movie and the technicolor and cinemascope shows the wide expanse of the old west beautifully, and is also great on the wide screen TVs. Also, I loved how he portrayed the Mexican cowboys, the Vaqueros, in this movie. Their horsemanship and bravery are shown to it's finest.
June 3, 2009
It's a western filled with everything, a great scenery, a great direction, a big cattle and horse drive, and Indian fights. The final battle between Allison's cowboys and a Sioux war party is more than amazing.
½ May 3, 2009
Gable and Ryan should have switched roles. Gable would have worked better as the sly and ambitious financier, Ryan would have been better as the Texas tough with simple dreams of prairie dog country living. Jane Russell doesn't show off her bosom much, so she's nearly useless. Otherwise its stock western without much to make it worth watching. Which was a disappointment, to be sure.
March 27, 2009
wow what a movie...i have just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch...its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie..i think that clark gable, robert ryan, jane russell play good parts thorughout this movie..i think that the director of this Western, Classics movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie...i think that the gun shoot outs n the scenery were pretty kewl throughout this movie..its a good movie 2 watch
January 24, 2009
i love cows: meeeooooo!
July 14, 2008
Tremendo western donde los personajes se mimetizan en perfecta armonia con la grandeza de los espacios abiertos. Gran merito de esto se debe a la impresionante fotografia en cinemascope, llena de matices de color y profundidad de campo; ademas esta la planificacion preciosista del gran Raoul Walsh. Dilemas morales por monton y un excelente planteamiento del erotismo como vehiculo narrativo. Clark Gable brilla, logrando un trabajo fenomenal como interprete. Buenisima.
April 16, 2008
Interesting combo of Clark Gable, a cattle drive story, and trying to fit Jane Russell into that equation. The film generally succeeds. I say generally, because Jane Russell's presence is just RIDICULOUS in this movie. Why she is wearing a shoulder exposing top in a cabin in the middle of a goddamned snow storm is the first of the many questions she has going with her character, none of which of course, are answered. Barring that, this was fun, with spectacular scenery in Cinemascope to boot.
½ March 25, 2008
Disappointing western which has the cast and the cattle drive, but none of the fizz. The gun play and love interest are a bit dull.
November 12, 2007
Middels samlebåndfilm, som ville kun vært en parantes om andre enn Gable hadde vært i rollen.
½ September 15, 2007
I heart Clark Gable! but he was kindof a grumpster in this one
August 9, 2007
Long movie but good.
Page 1 of 2