Tamara Drewe - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tamara Drewe Reviews

Page 2 of 35
½ August 27, 2013
Not bad at all, but lets just be honest, having Arteton to look at is what made this movie tolerable...
July 10, 2013
Un peu long à démarrer, un peu ridicule au début, c'est en plongeant dans la psychologie des personnages paumés de son film que Stephen Frears finit par donner du sens et du rythme. Les écrivains sont des voleurs et des menteurs !
June 23, 2013
wow what a movie......i have just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch.....its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie.....i think that gemma arterton, roger allam, bill camp, dominic cooper, luke evans, tamsin greig, jessica barden, charlotte christie, josie taylor play good roles/parts throughout this movie......i think that the director of this drama/art house/international/comedy/drama movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.......i think that gemma arterton/dominic cooper were brilliant throughout this movie........i think that this is such a really well directed movie 2 watch its got a great cast thorughout this movie........i think that this is a brilliant comedy/drama/art house movie 2 watch its so really well directed movie 2 watch........i think that gemma arterton was absolutley brilliant throughout this movie..........i think that tamsin greig was great throughout this movie as well.......i think that the soundtrack throughout this movie was really great as well........i think that this is a really well directed movie 2 watch its got a great cast throughout this movie.........i think that this is such a really well acted/written movie 2 watch its got a great soundtrack throughout this movie...........i think that this is such a really well directed movie 2 watch its so funny its a really good enjoyable comedy/drama movie 2 watch with a great cast throughout this movie its got a great soundtrack throughout this movie as well its an enjoyable movie 2 watch
May 23, 2013
I was trying for a few years to watch this movie and then I finally got the chance to do so. This is my review of Tamara Drewe (2010). The story is about the title character played by Gemma Arterton who was once an ugly duckling but is now an attractive journalist and has pursued three men from her past. And that's about it really. Just her going around in a village where she once lived and she returns back now that she is attractive and everyone is seemingly stunned by her. OK there is kind of more than that to the story but it gets kind of boring at times that you just want to skip certain scenes of the movie. Another important fact is that when people watched this film, they thought it was a comedy but they forgot that it was more of a drama and less of a comedy so whenever you try to watch this film, don't expect too much of it to be funny otherwise you'll be disappointed. Tamara Drewe gets a 6/10.
½ May 6, 2013
I surprisingly liked this movie more than I believed I would. It's a sly comedy that also tells a very compelling story as a drama.

PLOT:Tamara Drewe (Gemma Arterton) is a young girl that was raised in the small town of Ewedon, right outside of London. She left town a long time ago, got plastic surgery on her nose, and then came back into town and the lives of several others, including her past flame, Andy Cobb (Luke Evans), who now works as a farm hand for a writer's colony in town. The writer's colony is led by famous crime novelist, Nicholas Hardiment (Roger Allam), who is not very faithful to his wife, Beth (Tamsin Greig), and used to be the crush of Tamara in the old days. However, Tamara is swooped up by the drummer of the indie rock band named Swipe, Ben Sargeant (Dominic Cooper). This, however, leads into an interesting chain of events including love, scandals, and a couple of crazed fans. It's a great plot executed very well.

ACTING:The acting in here was very good. Gemma Arterton played a pretty good part as Tamara Drewe. She doesn't stand completely out, but she does the job rather well. The best performances would have to have been by Roger Allam as Nicholas Hardiment and Dominic Cooper as Ben Sargeant. They really did a good job. The other shiners would have to be Tamsin Greig as Beth Hardiment, Luke Evans as Andy Cobb, Charlotte Christie as Casey Shaw, Jessica Barden as Jody Long, and Bronagh Gallagher as Eustacia. However, there really wasn't a bad performance in the movie.

SCORE:The score in here is very well done by the great Alexandre Desplat, as well as some entertaining song by the fake-band, Swipe. I'd probably buy a song by them.

OTHER CONTENT:This movie wasn't anything too special, but it was still very much worth a watch. There were several good jokes as well as a good, dramatic story to tell. Some things about the end of the movie actually shocked me and also impressed me that it would take a turn like that. The movie overall is quirky and compelling, but it isn't anything truly memorable.

OVERALL,a good movie with a great plot, very good acting, well done score and soundtrack by Alexandre Desplat and "Swipe", some good jokes, a good dramatic story, a shocking ending, and some compelling quirks, but it just isn't anything truly memorable or able to stand out.
½ May 6, 2013
I surprisingly liked this movie more than I believed I would. It's a sly comedy that also tells a very compelling story as a drama.

PLOT:Tamara Drewe (Gemma Arterton) is a young girl that was raised in the small town of Ewedon, right outside of London. She left town a long time ago, got plastic surgery on her nose, and then came back into town and the lives of several others, including her past flame, Andy Cobb (Luke Evans), who now works as a farm hand for a writer's colony in town. The writer's colony is led by famous crime novelist, Nicholas Hardiment (Roger Allam), who is not very faithful to his wife, Beth (Tamsin Greig), and used to be the crush of Tamara in the old days. However, Tamara is swooped up by the drummer of the indie rock band named Swipe, Ben Sargeant (Dominic Cooper). This, however, leads into an interesting chain of events including love, scandals, and a couple of crazed fans. It's a great plot executed very well.

ACTING:The acting in here was very good. Gemma Arterton played a pretty good part as Tamara Drewe. She doesn't stand completely out, but she does the job rather well. The best performances would have to have been by Roger Allam as Nicholas Hardiment and Dominic Cooper as Ben Sargeant. They really did a good job. The other shiners would have to be Tamsin Greig as Beth Hardiment, Luke Evans as Andy Cobb, Charlotte Christie as Casey Shaw, Jessica Barden as Jody Long, and Bronagh Gallagher as Eustacia. However, there really wasn't a bad performance in the movie.

SCORE:The score in here is very well done by the great Alexandre Desplat, as well as some entertaining song by the fake-band, Swipe. I'd probably buy a song by them.

OTHER CONTENT:This movie wasn't anything too special, but it was still very much worth a watch. There were several good jokes as well as a good, dramatic story to tell. Some things about the end of the movie actually shocked me and also impressed me that it would take a turn like that. The movie overall is quirky and compelling, but it isn't anything truly memorable.

OVERALL,a good movie with a great plot, very good acting, well done score and soundtrack by Alexandre Desplat and "Swipe", some good jokes, a good dramatic story, a shocking ending, and some compelling quirks, but it just isn't anything truly memorable or able to stand out.
½ February 23, 2013
Enjoyable performances from Tamsin Greig, Dominic Cooper and the two young girls aside this was a bit of a let down. The main problem being that the titular character was quite unlikable and not fleshed out enough to make you empathise with her at all. Not romantic enough for a romance, funny enough for a comedy or dramatic enough for a drama!
February 14, 2013
It was a little bit all over the place, entertaining in parts, but nothing special.
½ February 9, 2013
Awful movie, best thing about the evening was the company....
February 1, 2013
Thursday, January 3, 2013

(2010) Tamara Drewe
ROMANTIC COMEDY

The name Tamara Drewe is a name of a hopeful young writer stopping by to revisit her respectable childhood small village with the intentions of selling her old childhood home. And upon returning has also presented herself with a brand new look is that she got a nose job, who inadvertingly became the talk of the whole neighborhood. Conveniently intermingling with other writers living around the area and igniting conflictions. The film is not funny since it has way too many predictable obstacles happening at the same time.

2 out of 4
December 25, 2012
It is always a pleasure to see a film where not only the dog gets killed, but is intentionally shot by a minor character who is not punished for this deed in any way. Bravo! Otherwise, OK but easily forgettable.
November 17, 2012
Memorably boring as hell.
October 13, 2012
It's to thinly written to be good, Gemma seems tolerable.
October 9, 2012
Comedie sympa... mais ca ne vaut pas The Snapper ou The Van! Enjoyable little comedy... though not as good as The Snapper or The Van.
October 4, 2012
Lets face it, watching Gemma Arterton getting frisky for an hour and a bit is entertainment enough, and the storyline isn't too bad either :)
½ October 2, 2012
I was enjoying this film until the end, unfortunately for me the ending was terrible, otherwise it was an enjoyable comedy/drama with a few up&comers: Gemma Arterton, Luke Evans and Dominic Cooper. Skip it!
September 23, 2012
Rodd enjoyed this one more than I did.
½ September 21, 2012
I was going with this for quite a while but the soap opera-isms begin to take hold way too much. Tamaera Drewe is overhyped and really is rather vapid.
September 9, 2012
Mildly amusing but too episodic, and disjointed, to constantly enjoy.
September 5, 2012
Admittedly I wanted to see this movie because it starred Luke Evans :) It was enjoyable with its doses of comedy and British wit.
Page 2 of 35