Tampopo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tampopo Reviews

Page 2 of 36
Super Reviewer
March 9, 2013
Tampopo is a Japanese comedy about the art of noodles. It has plenty of funny scenes, especially the silent noodle scene. That brought some good laughs. But the movie loses all focus and has no concentration. This makes the film ultimately pointless. Also WTF was with the erotic scenes, this director would have a bright future in fetish porn.
February 10, 2013
Still funny, and it still makes me hungry
½ December 19, 2012
This won't be a review in the sense of what's good or bad about the film. It's a pure classic which can't really be rated, only described. The director succeeds in expressing a warm-hearted love of human life, but without sentimentality. The gently paced storyline meanders through several side-plots ranging from highly amusing to extremely violent. Tampopo is idiosyncratically Japanese but the humour and the emotional and philosophical content are universal enough to be thoroughly enjoyable for a Western viewer - in fact it's a lovely introduction to some of the eccentricities of Japan, especially around food. It's a film about food which really is, at least partly, about food. Does the quest for the perfect noodle stock have an existential meaning? Is the analogy a playful joke? I was far too relaxed to analyse it in that way, and the philosophy blends seamlessly with the characters and atmosphere. It's difficult to describe exactly what is so wonderful about this film. Watch it and you will be amused, moved, charmed - and hungry.
December 16, 2012
One of the Greatest film ever.
December 7, 2012
One of the greatest movie ever made. It got everything. Love, honor, relationship, sex, action, culture, and the main thing..... food. Love it.
November 15, 2012
???? ?? ????? ????.. :)
October 1, 2012
Tampopo (タンポポ) directed by Juzo Itami. Starring Nobuko Miyamoto and Ken Watanabe.

A widow Tampopo is willing to be proper noodle-cook with the help of a trucker (Ken Watanabe) who himself criticized her lack of proficiency at noodle-making.

Film covers several other sub-plots, an elderly woman who squeezes breads, loafs at grocery shop, a dying mother who wakes up to make last meal after being emotionally-taunted by her husband to make meal for the family and dies instantly, an old man who impersonates himself as a professor and scams people at the restaurant, a woman who teaches food-eating-etiquette, bunch of elite businessmen accompanied by young amateur who is more than often physically jolted by senior, he orders food (to sheer amazement of the seniors) in a way that it humiliates seniors who are without the perspective knowledge about foods-choice. But the central character is that of Tampopo and bunch of eccentrics determined to bring her business to fame and popularity.

I have always loved watching movies surrounding subjects of 'foods'. Although my primary reservation about this movie should have got to be its duration, nonetheless I can take it as long as it's all about foods. Very dramatic, purposeful, and above all hilarious while dealing with few peculiar characters/scenes. This movie does take 'Noodles' seriously and it is perfect.
September 20, 2012
Off-beat is an understatement. This is, no hyperbole, my single favorite movie ever and has been for years and years. Probably not for everyone though.
September 18, 2012
A7a!! how come I forgot to rate this the first time I watched it like a year ago?!! One of the most erotic, visually-tempting culinary experiences with the right amount of surrealism and wit.
September 5, 2012
Truly a Japanese cinema classic. This is the standard by which I will judge every bowl of ramen from this day forward.
½ September 2, 2012
zany, totally enjoyable and likable classic. this 'noodle western' was loads of fun and laughter. really dug the vignettes, some of which were not linked in any way to the main story's characters.
the go-to movie for some joie de vivre.
½ August 3, 2012
Paraphrasing Jane's Addiction: "Her sex is pork noodle"
½ July 13, 2012
Another Japanese classic which delighted a lot of people in the 80s. A string of stories about the importance of good food surrounding a main story of a woman who wants to learn how to cook the best noodles in the world, for no apparent reason at all. Other than the fact that the motives of all the characters are unjustified or non existent, this is an interesting film.
May 21, 2012
I'm hungry, so this is the next movie that I want to re-visit.
½ April 12, 2012
I loved it! Japanese humor at its best. It did remind me of Monty Python's Flying Circus at times with all the jumping to random things, and that was odd at times. But the food experience was impressive, made me hungry, and also eager to experience Japan and the many different foods they showed. I love Ramen, but to have it in Japan would be ideal! Great movie!
April 10, 2012
One of my very favorites... Food, comedy and sex! yes
February 29, 2012
A great movie that intertwines the lives of different people in their unique relationship with food. It's so beautifully filmed yet it seems timeless. A must watch for foreign film enthusiast.
February 22, 2012
Le secret est dans le bouillon !
December 10, 2011
Recommended by Mireille.
October 30, 2011
Clever display of japanese culture with interlaced insider puns
Page 2 of 36