Tank Girl - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tank Girl Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 3, 2013
Lori Petty does her tough-talking best to breathe some life into the comic-book action, but it's not enough.
June 4, 2003
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Enormous energy went into this movie. I could not, however, care about it for much more than a moment at a time, and after awhile its manic energy wore me down.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
One of those chew-the-popcorn, munch-the-candy flicks - - the kind you go into expecting to have a good time, but nothing more. Given those expectations, disappointment is as unlikely as boredom.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 25, 2002
| Original Score: 1/5
March 21, 2013
Unfunny, often painfully boring, and so blatantly low budget and poorly constructed...
January 1, 2000
Petty ruins this movie with her bad acting, inability to crack jokes, and the ability to look stupid no matter what she is doing.
| Original Score: 1.5/5
February 9, 2006
Generous souls may try to blame this travesty of the Deadline comic-strip on the studio execs who forced director Talalay to tone down and re-edit her cut.
January 1, 2000
The story, which feels like a disjointed collection of low-budget rock videos more than a coherent plot, just rocks idly on its pseudo-fashionable backside.
January 1, 2000
The film tries very hard to recreate the comic book's wild and wacky flair and in the end it is a total assault on the senses with deafening rock music interspersed clips of psychedelic animation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
In the end there are a few too many formulas and too few surprises.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 6, 2014
The 'counterculture zeitgeist' vibe seems rather silly, more Sherwood Schwartz than Riot Grrrl, and not in a good way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 4, 2004
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
April 18, 2014
Rachel Talalay's hyper direction and Lori Petty's hyper performance result in migraines; you also get an unrecognizable Ice-T as the most antagonistic of the Rippers and Iggy Pop in a fleeting cameo as a pervert with a penchant for 10-year-old girls.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 1, 2000
Simply bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
February 11, 2003
Ugh.
| Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2000
She may not be to everyone's taste, but she's certainly refreshing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 13, 2001
Watching Tank Girl is as disorienting as waking up in someone else's bad dream. You want to get out as fast as possible, but all the exits seem to be blocked.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 27, 2001
A frenzied mess that's dull in the extreme.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
January 1, 2000
I wanted to like Tank Girl, but I kept feeling that the filmmakers kept daring me not to like it, daring me to be un-hip.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Page 1 of 2