Tart - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tart Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ March 6, 2014
I hate being negative, but this just was not good.
January 10, 2013
Yet another story of an insecure teenager dealing with wealthy adolescents and their after school life style. Predictable, endless coke parties and unrealistic scenarios.
½ January 2, 2013
Dominique Swain is in this movie
December 2, 2012
I was waiting for more
hunterjt13
Super Reviewer
May 26, 2012
An Upper East Side high school girl falls in with the wrong crowd.
Tart is an uninspired mess. First, in terms of character construction, there is a lot of mention of these characters' age, but they act like grown-ups, complete with the suit jackets and sipping on whiskey -- they're not just grown-ups; they're cliched grown-ups. And are they rich? They act like it, mentioning their parents as magnates of big businesses, but Cat's argument about the money for the dance and their surroundings are decidedly lower class at times, a mixture that produces confusion, not complexity.
Second, the dialogue is stilted and delivered like amateur actors are auditioning for community theater.
Finally, the plot is thoroughly predictable until it turns into a Lifetime movie at the very end; the final resolution has almost nothing to do with the rest of the film's conflict.
Overall, this film is without a redeeming element; even Bijou Phillips's beauty can't serve as a refuge from the shit that surrounds her.
May 15, 2011
Now I can say I've seen Dominique Swain, Mischa Barton, and Bijou Phillips acting, and in one picture! They are quite talented. Decent story. I also think Lacey Chabert is adorably cute and played her part very well.
May 9, 2011
I was waiting for more
February 20, 2011
#47 - Decent movie, bleak at times with quite the downer of an ending.
½ November 16, 2010
An interesting kid take. Eh... Filmed in NYC, and it has Mischa Barton.
September 26, 2010
"....a director in love with her own material?"
½ February 28, 2010
Not bad, nice scenes in NY. Mischa w/ Brit accent!
January 13, 2010
An upper class high school reject gets accepted into the "cool" clique, which is composed of a small group of confused teenagers who use drugs, steal, and have sex. The plot is typical and overused, and I don't think this movie is any different than others like it.
½ December 14, 2009
your typical teenage facing problems and trying to find the right place to fit in! all while losing friends gaining friends and facing family problems... not any different than the other films like it except maybe a Lil slower!
December 13, 2009
Interesting drama of troubled youth, well developed characters and very nicely acted by the cast. The direction is perceptive. Nice score, well edited. Mischa Barton is particularly good. Disturbing and thought provoking.
August 16, 2009
Couldn't finish it, hated it...
June 5, 2009
Some of the things that happen in this movie are just rediculous, but at least it was interesting.
April 14, 2009
ahhh! gossip girl is NOT better then this... oh god, if you didn't notice this movie was made in 2002! jesus, if anyone is copying anyone it's the other way around. i LOVE this movie. it was really touching, and the ending: great. overall i thought it was pretty good.
½ January 5, 2009
I wanted to see more tart, less mediocre flat writing. Boring.
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2009
A very misleading title and cover art. This turned out to be about a young woman, Kat (Dominique Swain), trying to fit in at her exclusive private school in NYC. The crowd she runs with can be very fickle; the boys are out to get what they can and the girls are quite catty. Kat's best friend, Delilah (Bijou Phillips) is a real rebel and circumstances cause them to part ways at a critical juncture in both their lives. Kat looks for acceptance everywhere and thinks she finds it in the arms of a dangerous young man. Tragedy ensues and lives are forever changed and some are destroyed. This was well done with several fine performances. Kat's mother, played by Alberta Watson, was especially finely turned. The conflicts between a mother who wants what is best for her child and can't afford it and the young woman longing to find her place in an uncaring world was, for this viewer the glue that held this together. Look beyond the surface. What you find may be frightening, but ultimately will serve to assist in the eternal search for significance. Family is sometimes the only safe harbor. A surprising four stars.
Page 1 of 4