Taste of Cherry (Ta'm e Guilass) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Taste of Cherry (Ta'm e Guilass) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Cole Smithey
June 18, 2016
Kiarostami executes a filmic social study that digs deep into the public and private psyche of Iran's male populace via the age-old query that Shakespeare elegantly distilled into, "to be or not to be; that is the question."
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Sean Axmaker
Turner Classic Movies Online
December 6, 2009
Taste of Cherry confirmed Kiarostami as the most acclaimed director of Iran's rich film culture...
Rob Nelson
City Pages, Minneapolis/St. Paul
September 1, 2009
Kiarostami's insistence on putting a frame around his vision keeps the freedom of interpretation--and the responsibility for it--in the hands of the viewer.
Keith Uhlich
House Next Door
March 6, 2007
Taste of Cherry might be Kiarostami's most difficult film.
Jake Euker
F5 (Wichita, KS)
July 8, 2004
An enduring meditation on living life. A great film.
| Original Score: 5/5
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
January 10, 2003
The #1 U.S. release of 1998: 'A sublime and patient film...[Kiarostami] handles his profound material flawlessly.'
Full Review | Original Score: A
Brandon Judell
Critics Inc./America Online
January 7, 2003
That Kiarostami keeps us guessing and caring to the very end as to how Mr. Badii will answer these questions, and that he accomplishes this concern on our parts with a startling spareness, is nothing less than Divine.
Full Review
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
May 31, 2002
Que seja aberto a interpretações é um dos pontos positivos de 'Gosto de Cereja'. Que se feche de maneira tão terrível é seu - talvez - único ponto negativo.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
John A. Nesbit
February 3, 2002
Simplicity often leads to profundity, but A Taste of Cherry (especially the ending) represents lazy cinema that has been overrated by too many.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
July 24, 2001
Appropriately languid and uniquely seductive.
Christopher Null
July 24, 2001
While it's interminably slow and I still haven't quite figured out why they went with the copout ending, I can't say it's not an interesting film.
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
John Hartl
July 24, 2001
Has a visual style that seems rudimentary but becomes increasingly hypnotic and resonant.
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
January 1, 2000
Kiarastomi, like no other filmmaker, has a vision of human scale that is simultaneously epic and precisely minuscule.
Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
January 1, 2000
As the film's design becomes clear to us, a quiet spaciousness begins to inhabit it.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
The film is such a lifeless drone that we experience it only as a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Ed Scheid
Boxoffice Magazine
January 1, 2000
Although Ershadi's performance gives a clear sense of Badii's anguish, the screenplay does not give the character enough personal details to make him compelling.
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 1, 2000
I know from my past experiences with great filmmakers, that sometimes I don't like what I see from them the first time and later on change my mind...
Full Review | Original Score: A
Bob Thompson
Jam! Movies
January 1, 2000
For fear of revealing myself as a wanting intellectual, I found myself in a state of 'huh?' watching the conclusion to the lethargically-presented A Taste Of Cherry.
Dan Jardine
Apollo Guide
January 1, 2000
The lack of information about the central character, which results in a distinct absence of emotional connection, leaves us cold to his fate.
| Original Score: 63/100
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
I intellectually understand what occurs in the movie; I just can't make the leap into calling it a humanistic treasure about life's big questions.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 2