Taste of Cherry (Ta'm e Guilass) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Taste of Cherry (Ta'm e Guilass) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 1, 2000
The film is such a lifeless drone that we experience it only as a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
The lack of information about the central character, which results in a distinct absence of emotional connection, leaves us cold to his fate.
Read More | Original Score: 63/100
February 3, 2002
Simplicity often leads to profundity, but A Taste of Cherry (especially the ending) represents lazy cinema that has been overrated by too many.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 1, 2000
Although Ershadi's performance gives a clear sense of Badii's anguish, the screenplay does not give the character enough personal details to make him compelling.
January 1, 2000
For fear of revealing myself as a wanting intellectual, I found myself in a state of 'huh?' watching the conclusion to the lethargically-presented A Taste Of Cherry.
January 1, 2000
The style is understated, the mise-en-scène is spare, but Kiarostami's complex morality tale catches you in its mesmerizing spell.
June 18, 2016
Kiarostami executes a filmic social study that digs deep into the public and private psyche of Iran's male populace via the age-old query that Shakespeare elegantly distilled into, "to be or not to be; that is the question."
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
A masterwork.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 24, 2001
Appropriately languid and uniquely seductive.
July 24, 2001
While it's interminably slow and I still haven't quite figured out why they went with the copout ending, I can't say it's not an interesting film.
| Original Score: 3/5
January 10, 2003
The #1 U.S. release of 1998: 'A sublime and patient film...[Kiarostami] handles his profound material flawlessly.'
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 1, 2000
I know from my past experiences with great filmmakers, that sometimes I don't like what I see from them the first time and later on change my mind...
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 31, 2002
Que seja aberto a interpretações é um dos pontos positivos de 'Gosto de Cereja'. Que se feche de maneira tão terrível é seu - talvez - único ponto negativo.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 6, 2009
Taste of Cherry confirmed Kiarostami as the most acclaimed director of Iran's rich film culture...
January 1, 2000
Kiarastomi, like no other filmmaker, has a vision of human scale that is simultaneously epic and precisely minuscule.
January 1, 2000
The talk flows persuasively; the picture pulses with art and humanity.
March 6, 2007
Taste of Cherry might be Kiarostami's most difficult film.
July 8, 2004
An enduring meditation on living life. A great film.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
July 24, 2001
Has a visual style that seems rudimentary but becomes increasingly hypnotic and resonant.
Page 1 of 2