Te doy mis ojos (Take My Eyes) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Te doy mis ojos (Take My Eyes) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 14, 2008
Domestic abuse has been portrayed on film before but never with this much complexity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 1, 2007
Every element of the production is well-crafted. Take My Eyes is highly recommended.
May 12, 2006
A mesmerizing and deeply disturbing film from Spain.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 21, 2006
Approaching potentially unpleasant subject matter with humor, intelligence and deep compassion for its flawed yet infinitely human characters, Take My Eyes is almost certain to rank as one of the year's best films.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 20, 2006
Actors Laia Marull and Luis Tosar explore the intricate details of a relationship based on the laws of attraction and repulsion, in which the intellect is repeatedly devastated by primal passion.
Full Review | Original Score: A
April 20, 2006
An extraordinarily truthful and piercing drama about spousal abuse.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 20, 2006
What makes the movie fascinating is that it doesn't settle for a soap opera resolution to this story, with Pilar as the victim, Antonio as the villain, and evil vanquished. It digs deeper and more painfully.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
April 20, 2006
Though deceptively straightforward in its exploration of the causes and effects of domestic abuse, Take My Eyes benefits from the grubby verisimilitude Bollaín brings to his material, which otherwise might have lapsed into movie-of-the-week superficiality
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 6, 2006
This tale of domestic abuse breaks little new stylistic or psychological ground, but it is a searing, well-acted drama that should strike universal chords.
April 1, 2006
The performances from Marull and Tosar ... are superbly nuanced, carefully tweaking your emotions until they ensure that Take My Eyes is one of the most moving films you'll see this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 31, 2006
This small, somber drama says things to battered women they probably already know. What it says to their abusers -- of any country or culture -- they can't afford to ignore.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 23, 2006
We emerge worn but wiser, having stepped, if only momentarily, and secondarily, into the shoes of the brutalized.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 17, 2006
Harrowing, psychologically astute drama about domestic abuse.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 17, 2006
The story isn't exactly new, but Bollain, an actress in her own right, keeps Take My Eyes from sinking into clichés.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2006
These kinds of films are hard to keep out of your mind.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
March 16, 2006
The film won a sack of Goya Awards in 2004.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 16, 2006
Handles the subject of domestic violence with intelligence and compassion.
March 16, 2006
The performers are luminous.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 15, 2006
If Take My Eyes explored how a woman could still feel for a man who abused her, it might have gripped us with its difficult truths.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 14, 2006
For once, it makes sense that the battered wife always returns to the abusive spouse, even if we don't believe his promises ('I've changed') any more than hers ('I'm never going back').
Page 1 of 2