Tenet Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 21, 2021
The weakest of Nolan's 11 cinematic at-bats to date, Tenet finds the filmmaker unable to get out of his own way as he attempts to spin a yarn that makes earlier efforts like Memento seem as linear and uncomplicated as A Charlie Brown Christmas.
January 2, 2021
Visually dazzling but absolutely incomprehensible and impenetrable...
December 29, 2020
Fact is, Tenet should not be taken more seriously than a James Bond movie. As an action film, it isn't nearly as skillful as a Tom Cruise Mission Impossible commodity.
December 26, 2020
Love your palindromes? The film is a dud.
December 26, 2020
Anyone who insists Tenet is Important or Otherwise Notable is probably trying to sell you something.
December 23, 2020
TENET ends up something of a Rube Goldberg machine of a film: a wondrously complex set of mechanics that is fascinating, but also an incredibly convoluted way of masking what is, in essence, a thin and poorly executed story.
December 22, 2020
A flashy disappointment-intricate but not especially involving, clever but never captivating...a sterile exercise in spy movie cliché, with a twist that allows for some striking effects but... proves far less engaging than Nolan thinks it is.
December 22, 2020
[Christopher Nolan] is very clever, but mostly irritating is what I find. [His movies] are not cerebral - they're fake cerebral... He doesn't even do the time travel right.
December 22, 2020
I am a big fan of [Christopher Nolan's] films -- I usually enjoy the time puzzle of it -- but this seems even more intentionally inaccessible and challenging than everything else... Confusing, distancing, and chilly.
December 18, 2020
I could see the points when the movie was like: this is the moment where I want you to have that emotional feeling, and I really wanted to get there... there wasn't enough done in the build-up of this whole movie for me to actually, really care.
December 18, 2020
It didn't engage with me as a viewer... the biggest reason I can see is that the main character didn't have this goal that was recognizable.
December 18, 2020
'Tenet' may contain [Nolan's] most ambitious use of time, but also, ultimately, the least effective.
December 17, 2020
"Tenet" is difficult to understand, but even worse, it inspires little desire to understand it.
December 14, 2020
"Tenet" squanders all its visual spectacle through obtuse storytelling and dramatic inertia. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 13, 2020
... mediocre espionage sci-fi thriller.
December 5, 2020
If Tenet were a Beatles song, it would be Revolution 9: gun shots and car crashes, breaking glass and muffled words, all come together in a mix, made all the more unintelligible by segments happening forward and backward.
December 4, 2020
To be constantly told how Tenet's engine works is like having Peter Jackson explain the metallurgy behind the One Ring -- unnecessary.
November 27, 2020
Christopher Nolan's latest mindbender contains his trademark elaborate set pieces but lacks a story that makes a lick of sense.
October 31, 2020
A film that wends its way around time, backward and forward, needs some space, and filling it with more intricacy doesn't always work.
October 30, 2020
For the first time in a long time Christopher Nolan's work just gets a bit tiring and tiresome as he exploits his obsession with time yet again in a way that's more noisy than expressive. [Full Review in Spanish]
Page 1 of 5