Tenet Reviews

Page 2 of 18
January 2, 2021
Visually dazzling but absolutely incomprehensible and impenetrable...
December 29, 2020
Less of a puzzle and more like a mechanical bull. But at home you can tame -and appreciate- this beast. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 29, 2020
Fact is, Tenet should not be taken more seriously than a James Bond movie. As an action film, it isn't nearly as skillful as a Tom Cruise Mission Impossible commodity.
December 29, 2020
It is an imperfect film, but to dismiss it would be to punish it for merely being 'good' and not 'great'.
December 28, 2020
The film feels a lot like an allusion of its palindrome title. What I like most about Nolan, and Tenet, is that it challenges me and reminds me, forgive the redundancy, that movies are first felt and then understood. [Full review in Spanish]
December 27, 2020
Even if you are confused by all this complexity, there is still much to enjoy here. For me, it was just too much. I prefer more character depth and less emphasis on manufactured plot complications.
December 26, 2020
Love your palindromes? The film is a dud.
December 26, 2020
Anyone who insists Tenet is Important or Otherwise Notable is probably trying to sell you something.
December 26, 2020
Like with other Christopher Nolan films, it will take multiple viewings to fully realize the scope of Tenet's groundbreaking accomplishments.
December 24, 2020
If you stick it out to the end, you'll either hate it or feel you need to watch it again.
December 23, 2020
TENET ends up something of a Rube Goldberg machine of a film: a wondrously complex set of mechanics that is fascinating, but also an incredibly convoluted way of masking what is, in essence, a thin and poorly executed story.
December 23, 2020
Christopher Nolan's most ambitious and complex film to date, also ends up being his most cold and lacking emotion. Not all of it works, but it's still better than many of the other releases this year. [Full review in Spanish]
December 23, 2020
"Tenet" succeeds in somehow transcending the audience's basic understanding of time and narrative while nevertheless keeping them engaged and entertained for the film's entirety.
December 22, 2020
A Christopher Nolan movie is an event, and Tenet and its extraordinary action set pieces justify such a tag.
December 22, 2020
A flashy disappointment-intricate but not especially involving, clever but never captivating...a sterile exercise in spy movie cliché, with a twist that allows for some striking effects but... proves far less engaging than Nolan thinks it is.
December 22, 2020
Amid all the nonsensical writing, messy action, and blank characters, Tenet is a display of the pure, unfiltered blockbuster-filmmaking sensibilities that Nolan always delivers.
December 22, 2020
[Christopher Nolan] is very clever, but mostly irritating is what I find. [His movies] are not cerebral - they're fake cerebral... He doesn't even do the time travel right.
December 22, 2020
I am a big fan of [Christopher Nolan's] films -- I usually enjoy the time puzzle of it -- but this seems even more intentionally inaccessible and challenging than everything else... Confusing, distancing, and chilly.
December 21, 2020
Nolan at his most thrilling and semi-comprehensible.
December 19, 2020
[We] get the full Nolan treatment in spectacle without [any] emotional and psychological lifting. It'll never [match] his best, but it's undeniably entertaining nonetheless.
Page 2 of 18