That'll Be the Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

That'll Be the Day Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 11, 2014
really in the mood to watch this. damn you netflix and your woeful selection of films.
May 13, 2014
Solid British film, based on the early life of John Lennon, has a terrific cast with excellent performances from everyone, especially David Essex and Ringo Starr. Great score of 1950's hits, fast moving, well directed.
February 10, 2014
I like this film. 3 stars.
February 23, 2013
The thing that strikes me about this movie, and to a lesser extent than its sequel, is that it seems to be built on the premise that a man's life is dramatic enough to warrant the plot's entire focus and dedication. The rise in action ebbs and flows, but never crashes in. For me at least, there is a feeling of authenticity and peacefulness in this structure. Essex plays a man interesting enough to warrant the autobiographical feel of the film. While not for everyone, this film is thoroughly enjoyable.
½ October 19, 2012
Even as a biography of a real pop star, TBTD would be little more than a plod through various Sunday tabloid tropes but as a movie in its own right, it just doesn't work. Teaming real life singer Essex with the lamentably un-cinematic Starr should have set bells ringing from Day One of the shooting schedule and its only the presence of veterans such as Rosemary Leach that keep its head above water. Nostalgia ain't what it used to be. Tepid.
May 9, 2012
As true to its time as Quadrophenia
August 26, 2011
Interesting film, but also unsatisfactory. Yes, the film gets across the dreariness of Jimmy's life, but is not really credible. His father abandoned him and his mother when he was a small kid, apparently because he couldn't settle back into civilian life after the war. It is possible to understand that, if not condone it. Jimmy, on the other hand, does the same (inevitably) to his wife and kid at the end of the movie for purely selfish reasons. His character has no redeeming features. Despite being academically bright, he decides to chuck it all in for no clear reason. He then treats women as disposable bonkees, and deliberately avoids helping his friend (Ringo Starr) when he's being beaten up. He also sleeps with his wife's best friend the night before the wedding. At the end, we really don't care what happens to this selfish prick!

The music, on the other hand, is great! One star is for the soundtrack, which is no longer available, unfortunately.
½ February 11, 2011
it was ok, it obviously ws low budget, Ringo Starr was good but not great, the Acting in it wasn't as great as i hoped, music was wonderful and the picture quality for the 70's was great, it as a period peice i give a 7. out of 10.
½ July 15, 2010
And I thought this was about David Essex forming a rock band! - he hangs out with superstar drummer Ringo and Moon, writes a few lyrics, then buys a guitar... at the very end! Pretty good though, and there's always the sequel...
½ January 6, 2010
Not a bad film, loosely based on the early years of John Lennon. Great music, plus appearances by rock stars David Essex, Ringo Starr, Billy Fury and Keith Moon (playing a character loosely based on Starr). Great for Beatlemaniacs and the general public alike.
January 1, 2010
Enjoyed this one. David Essex pusues his dream of becoming a rock star. Great "acting" by Ringo.
½ August 10, 2009
focuses around a high school drop-out and his friends, trying to get through life with no responsibilities, being ladies men, with the rock n roll lifestyle.

Not great, but not terrible.
½ June 27, 2009
I loved this film when it first came out but having seen it recently I have to say that I have downgraded it a bit. The acting is very wooden especially by Essex and Leach and the script needed to be tighter. Plusses are the photography which was clear and detailed and the music which abounds in nostalgia.
In the end though it lacks dramatic pacing and it is now looking dated.
August 6, 2008
Average....theres no rock musician...just a guy who cant settle down....bit of a family history...ok watch
½ July 10, 2008
i like the sequel stardust more, but then a sequel needs a prequel
½ July 6, 2008
If you love 50s, 60s & 70s music, you'll love this film along with the follow up, Stardust, even if some of the acting is a bit iffy.
½ June 10, 2008
More my parent's cup of tea than mine. David Essex plays such a bastard in this (suppose this means he's a good actor as he seems a nice chap in real life) and Ringo Starr is so annoying you just want to slap him!!!
January 13, 2008
i so wanted to be this guy, i remember watching this film first time in 1992, and i wanted to give it all up and sell deck chairs on the beach !! bit like now really
October 17, 2007
The synopsis is quite misleading. The main character doesn't even touch a guitar until the last shot of the film, and the whole film has little to nothing to do with the character's dreams of becoming a rock star, save for a few lines of dialogue and the Elvis posters on his walls. It isn't a bad movie though, it just isn't what they're selling it as. It's quite interesting simply because I (like probably everyone else) am a huge Lennon fan. It does accomplish it's goals in presenting a realistic portrait of life in 1950's England, as Rock n Roll was beginning to take hold. Ringo's small part in the film is great.
October 5, 2007
Love Ringo in this! Stardust was great too but wasnt listed here..
Page 1 of 2