The Colditz Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Colditz Story Reviews

Page 2 of 2
February 2, 2008
Just seen this on TV, It was very good although it does sort of give the impression that POW camp is actually lovely since you have loads of fun trying to escape and if you fail you tend just to get told off a bit
November 21, 2007
A classic British war film!
October 6, 2007
A classic war movie. Stiff upper lip escaping at its best, but not realistic.. a typical 50s idealistic film. Sir John Mills is brilliant as ever.
October 6, 2007
I wanted to see this having seen a documentary which mentioned the real-life escape plans used by Allied boyz in Colditz. This film shows them whilst encompassed in an entertaining package. There is little that requires any depth of thought about this, but it does provoke thought... the moral and political choices of the commanders and the fact that everything had to be done in the 'British way'. Great.
½ September 28, 2007
Great film! Not much plotwise, but excellent story-telling and pacing!
September 11, 2007
Good show chaps they stick it Gerry again What.
September 10, 2007
One of a rash of WWII escape stories from the fifties, this is the classic tale of stiffer upper lips headed by the ever reliable John Mills. It lacks the drama of Bridge Over The River Kwai and the action of The Great Escape, but it has a simple honesty that is probably the product of it's roots as an adaptation of true life memoirs. It's also happy to give screen time to the French, Dutch and Polish prisoners (something Hollywood would've been well served to take note of) and is even not entirely unsympathetic towards the German captors. A solid escape story all round.
garyX
Super Reviewer
September 6, 2007
One of a rash of WWII escape stories from the fifties, this is the classic tale of stiffer upper lips headed by the ever reliable John Mills. It lacks the drama of Bridge Over The River Kwai and the action of The Great Escape, but it has a simple honesty that is probably the product of it's roots as an adaptation of true life memoirs. It's also is happy to give screen time to the French, Dutch and Polish prisoners (something Hollywood would've been well served to take note of) and is even not entirely unsympathetic towards the German captors. A solid escape story all round.
½ September 4, 2007
Upper lips so stiff that the cast have to talk funny. I love this film, mainly because of the book (and the vaulting escape: how many times have I tried to do that?)
½ September 3, 2007
Entertaining through the continuous escape attempts portrayed, otherwise fairly standard.
Super Reviewer
September 3, 2007
i saw john mills in something else ages and ages ago. he was alright in that and alright in this too. it's not one of the best P.O.W. escape flicks i've seen. saw a better one recently with a german in an english camp. there were some funny moments such as when the french soldier announced to the germans that he would rather work for 20 germans than 1 french man, and when asked what his occupation was he said undertaker. there were some well cheesy jokes in this which i found quite funny. how'd you make a venetian blind? poke him in the eyes. what's a greek urn?... an so forth. found the bit towards the end where they lowered the dummy down on the rope a good prank too. i didn't really get what happened with the four guys in the jerry uniforms though. did all of them escape? just one? the ending confused me a tad
September 3, 2007
Probably not my cup of tea
July 31, 2007
What a fucking fantastic movie!! All blokes will love this film...!!!
July 19, 2007
All CLASSICS are GOOD
July 6, 2007
Outstanding and not a yank in sight.... cant wait for a remake ....sigh
Page 2 of 2