The Dirk Diggler Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Dirk Diggler Story Reviews

Page 1 of 1
September 17, 2015
Only of interest because it precedes the great film Boogie Nights in the Paul Thomas Anderson oeuvre, otherwise it's not really worth watching.
½ July 12, 2015
A weird entity not quite worthy of PTA's masterful canon.
May 4, 2014
Not to judge the film too harshly, as this is the first work of Paul Thomas Anderson before he had access to the tools he does today. It's a great piece of nostalgia for Boogie Nights and generally PT Anderson fans.
June 9, 2013
While it's admirable and certainly ambitious, what PTA goes on to do in Boogie Nights is far more worth one's time. It's a
½ April 16, 2013
While it may not have been P.T. Anderson's great start to his directorial career, it managed to lead to something much better 10 years later.
½ February 10, 2013
Decent acting and camera work are fine in PTA's first directing attempt.
½ November 18, 2012
I liked this, it certainly provided insight and inspiration for Paul Thomas Anderson's Boogie Nights. There's some interesting aspects of Dirk Diggler's character that I wish might have stayed (like his bisexuality and his bf) and most of the actors I didn't care for, but the look of the film (especially since this film is only availible nowadays in a pirated form (it's been withdrawn from circulation) and this looks good and grainy. This does definitely have the same feel as another earky (banned) film from another director who was to make it big, Todd Haynes\ "Superstar -The Karen Carpenter Story"
½ October 28, 2012
Judging by the fact Paul Thomas was 17 and this was his first film ever, It's acting and camera work is pretty good for such a low budget, and inexperienced filmaker.
June 29, 2009
A very interesting look at PT Anderson's early filmmaking days. Only for true PT Anderson fans though.
February 4, 2009
Mostly fascinating just to see Robert Ridgely (who later played The Colonel in Boogie Nights) in the Jack Horner role. Also, I wish Boogie Nights had retained the part of the story where Dirk is discovered at a falafel stand. Other than "I'm your brother... from another mother," it's possibly the most inadvertently funny P.T. Anderson moment ever.
November 7, 2008
It's better than the Marky Mark version.
September 28, 2008
At age seventeen, Paul Thomas Anderson shot this short mockumentary, which later became the masterpiece Boogie Nights. It's fascinating because the film hints at the later brilliance of Anderson and is also informative of his childhood neighborhood (how many people can claim that they lived next door to Dirk Digglers?) Amazing considering Anderson's youth and the amateur filmmaking resources available at the time.
September 15, 2008
I was so happy to see this short...PTA was 17 when he made...he might be my favorite living director and watching this was a pleasure.
½ September 3, 2008
I'll give this an unabashedly bad rating. Because it's fucking awful.
April 25, 2008
Dirk Diggler, the main character of Boogie Nights ... I want to compare the short with the feature one
Super Reviewer
½ February 25, 2008
PTA's first adventures into the world of pornography and Dirk Diggler
Page 1 of 1