The Education of Fairies (La Educacion de las hadas) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Education of Fairies (La Educacion de las hadas) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
May 20, 2012
Se o Ricardo Darín já fez algum filme ruim eu ainda não ví! Este é mais um filme com ele que vale a pena ser visto, destaque também para o Menino Víctor (Raúl).
½ July 7, 2011
2.5 - A man (Darin) falls in love at first sight with a single mother (Jacob) and her child (Valdivia). They get married but two years later she begins to reject him for reasons that are unclear. This difficult drama does come into focus at the end, revealing the hidden beauty of it's "fairy" theme, but it does take what seems to be a frustratingly long time to get there. Then, there is the often jarring structure of the film, questionable scenes and clunky dialogue. Darin, as always, gives his subdued best, as do the other actors, but Valdivia, in such a central role, seems flat. Ultimately, director Jose Luis Cuerda is the one who fails to make this special. The potential was there for a great movie, had it fallen in more expert hands.
½ February 15, 2011
Again, a foreign movie. This one i had been waiting to see actually, i rather enjoy Ricardo Darin's work, and this was definitely no exception.

It is a think a spanish production, tough it features argentine Darin's in the lead, and some french cast too.

Is the story of a single middle aged man who falls in love "at the same time of two peoples" a widow with an 8 year old little boy, he manages to conquer both women and child hearts with clever and magical histories of fairies and fantasy...until some unexpected and intriguing middle age-marriage crisis hits this supposedly happy little family. Then he meets a tormented illegal alien working as cashier in a market in wich he sees something special... the rest you must see...

it is a wonderful lesson on fatherhood, love and creativity.

The acting is superb, this guy somehow has stayed under the hollywood radar, even as he starred the last year foreign movie winner "secret in her eyes" el secreto de sus ojos...
The little kid is brilliant, and spanish singer bebe did a confident performance. With a slow but sure pace and a beautiful photography this movie has many little flaws (maybe a little wandering of the subjects for a minute or two too long), and is also very well directed by Jose Luis Cuerdas (producer of The others).

A fantastic drama-romance.
December 29, 2010
Para empezar, AMO a Ricardo Darin. Esta pelicula me parecio muy conmovedora y la actuacion del pequeno me fascino. Muy buen drama y te hace ver que la vida es para vivirla a lo maximo dia a dia.
January 11, 2009
Hacía mucho tiempo que esperaba ver una nueva de José Luis Cuerda, ya que luego de "La Lengua de las Mariposas" me encantó mucho la forma de su cine, mezcla de nostalgia, inocencia, ilusión, sueños, descubrimientos. Eso medio Bergmaniano que tiene de confrontar extremos: la inocencia infantil y la complejidad sentimental adulta, los sueños e ilusión de la niñez y la dura realidad de la madurez.

"La educación de las hadas", es una historia precisamente de sueños infantiles y omisiones o silencios en las complejas relaciones adultas. No he negar que me sentí bastante retratado con la historia, pero me parece genial la forma con que Cuerda trata de mostrar (acercar o mejor dicho, recordarnos) la óptica y visión infantil, que muchos hemos olvidado.

Ricardo Durán con su personaje, nos muestra lo simple que es transformarse en cómplice de un niño, que a pesar de los años se puede seguir creyendo en hadas, duendes, magos y villanos. Irene Jacob ("La Doble Vida de Verónica", "Rouge"), fue un gusto volverla a ver, y a pesar de los años, sigue estupenda. Su actuación sólida. Víctor Valdivia (el niño) bastante sólido. Geniales sus preguntas, como aquella "cómo follan las hadas?". Y Bebe, no me terminó de convencer como actriz, pero el tema que regala al final de la película justifica su incorporación.

Recomiendo la película, sólo a aquellos que gustan de las películas que nos acercan a la infancia, quienes se han emocionado con películas como "Cinema Paradiso", "La Sal de la vida" o la misma "La Lengua de las Mariposas" de Cuerda.
September 14, 2008
The blend of reality and the mystical, for a child and the adult, can change the course of lives...The movie has a distinctive charm.
August 31, 2008
Irene Jacob es el centro de gravedad de la pelicula y está en pantalla menos de la mitad del tiempo -> gran actuación
August 23, 2008
DIFFERENT...
but in a good way. Of course, European movies have a completely different flavor than the ones made in North America. An original story with some very sad moments, but in spite of the sadness, a sense of hope. I think the movie is more about hope and how it can be found in the strangest of places than anything else. I do have to warn the viewers, the movie can be very slow at times, so be ready for that.

I definitely recommend this one
½ August 20, 2008
It´s a good movie. Not so deep, not so smooth.
½ July 12, 2008
Sencillamente Genial...
June 8, 2008
buena , pero un poquito predecible...me gustó la actuación de bebe
May 22, 2008
it was a fairytale frame to adult relationships, disappointments and betrayals. The fairytale contextualization of the adult issues gives them a sweetness and hope that we can actually peacefully resolve/ come to terms with our issues.
For ex: it may not always be good to make your spouse leave her/ his lover says the child!!. However, at the same time as touching and sweet this perspective is- I havent seen adults behave that way... with words of wisdom that far exceed their age and experience.
Great adult fairytale. A good watch.
April 6, 2008
A completely charming story. Moved a little slowly at parts, but over it was quite beautiful.
½ April 1, 2008
Ricardo Darin es simplemente buenisimo. La historia es linda y poco predicible. El resto del elenco es fabuloso.
March 25, 2008
Bien.
Lo mejor: la actuación de Bebe y el personaje del hijo
March 23, 2008
Está bien, pero no es para deslumbrarse. Linda fotografía y actuaciones aceptables.
½ March 3, 2008
wonderful movie. excellent soundtrack-Bebe. what is price for love? how to be honest? wonderfull relations. Me gusta mucho.
½ March 1, 2008
This is a wonderful movie that goes deep into human relationships. The story is something that touches you and so does the acting. A good movie that doesn't waste your time.
February 17, 2008
Me encantan las peliculas de Jose Luis Cuerda, pero esta en particular no tanto. La idea es hermosa y al mismo tiempo muy dificil de desarrollar en el espacio de una pelicula. La novela debe ser mas convincente; aqui los personajes no lo son. Siempre es un placer ver a Irene Jacob y ha sido una sorpresa grata ver a Bebe como actriz.
½ January 12, 2008
The relationship between the kid and the husband was very charming, and combined with the dramas and tragedies of the adults in the film, makes for a good, heartwarming sensible story. Some of the flashbacks were a bit awkward, though. I wondered, also, why the characters all had to be immigrants, since immigration didn't seem to be at the center of the story's themes. Could have worked as easily if the characters were local Barcelonians, I think. The story wouldnt' have lost its charm.
Page 1 of 2