The Heart Is Deceitful Above All Things - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Heart Is Deceitful Above All Things Reviews

Page 1 of 30
April 30, 2014
Exploitative, and I say for the right reason.
It does an amazing job making you see through the eyes of a child, of how tense situations can be when they don't fully understand and/or are afraid of.
What makes this even more attention grabbing is that the story is true, yet it doesn't belong to anyone. It's both depressing to watch and to think about.
The horror that some lives suffer are so complicated and such heart aching detail that we ask the wrong questions about there stories.
This film still gave the right answer.
Very powerful.
December 31, 2013
Horrible film, absolutely horrendous but really well directed and acted by an Asia Argento in skanky mode.
May 28, 2013
Wild crazy ride filled with all sorts of unlikeable characters.
January 30, 2013
First let's talk about J.T. LeRoy, J.T. Leroy doesn't actually exist, he was an identity created by the female writer Laura Albert. Whenever J.T. LeRoy appeared in public he was actually played by a woman. The whole thing was a huge literary hoax that conned many celebrities (including some who starred in this picture) into offering support. Whether the original author or the supposedly autobiographical writings are fictional or not should be of no real detriment to the film. The subject matter covered within this film is very real. This is a no holds barred look at child abuse. Actress and filmmaker Asia Argento (daughter of horror director Dario Argento) has directed a powerful screen adaptation which documents a boy's truly harrowing journey through childhood. The film is very artistic given what we now know and the true extent and exploitative nature of the original work. The performances are to be wholly commended, especially Jimmy Bennett who is phenomenal as Jeremiah, aged 7. This film is certainly not for everyone but I found it gripped me and wouldn't let me go. I think Asia poured her heart and soul into this film and it really shows, and as such it's an extremely dark, raw but hauntingly beautiful film.
December 31, 2012
Asia manages to outdo her father on anything he has created since 1987's Opera. Daddy should learn from his daughter. A true tragedy, yet endearing just the same.
November 27, 2012
Nobody saw this film apart from fans of Asia or the book. I saw this film on Youtube and I enjoyed it. It's no masterpiece. It is what it is.

Asia just plays the same slutty, slurred voice character she always does. The only difference is that she tries to perform with a southern accent, but no avail. Her accent skids all over the place. In the DVD commentary, she said they couldn't hire a dialect coach, so that was the best she could do. Her performance is good nonetheless. Although, you have to give her credit for making herself look unattractive as possible, much like the same direction Charlize Theron went in Monster. Asia is gorgeous in real life, but her character has bad skin and has hairy armpits. It's what she looked like in the book. I never read the book, but that's what she said in the commentary.

This is not a comfortable film. This meant to be a very dark journey that poor Jeremiah has to go through. If you're expecting any happiness in this film, look elsewhere. This is an ugly film with unlikable characters. Which is what the book and the film wanted to be. Sarah is just a hateful, unlikable character. She basically our villainess.

Jimmy Bennett and the Sprouse twins are great as Jeremiah, the rest of the cast do a great job too.

How Asia's direction? Well, some bits are stylized. Taking lessons from her father Dario. Even if you have this film, there will be parts where you think "That shot was pretty good."

One problem I have with this film, is that at times I can't understand what the characters are saying. Especially when Jeremiah is talking to Buddy. The DVD didn't have subtitles.

Speaking of the DVD, some Region 1 copies have an error. A scene involving a crystal meth lab exploding was missing. I have one of those copies. Although you can watch the scene on Youtube.

Overall, I liked it. I like Asia, that's why I watched it. I wanted to see what her directing skills were like. I haven't seen Scarlet Diva yet.

If you like dark dramas, this might be up your street.

Will Asia ever act or make a family film? (sucks in teeth) Maybe. If you ask her.
½ November 19, 2012
Wouldnt consider this a cinematic acheivement or anything like that but i really dont understand why this got such shitty reviews i thought it was a pretty awesome movie aside from the blatant mockery of religion (thought the same message could have been made with more subtlety)
November 13, 2012
Amazingly powerful LOVED IT
October 28, 2012
but hey emmy did you know dcs was in this?
½ October 14, 2012
very well done art wise, and cinematography, cool camera effects , but pretty shocking and disturbing to watch
½ September 23, 2012
this movie is so terrible. i hate it. a little boy dressed in drag and was raped by some white trash man! the woman who made this movie should be locked up. terrible. this bitch was either trying to be edgy or it's what really goes on in her disturbed head. i hate this movie. it's just about a poor boy being tortured. im glad i turned it off.
August 24, 2012
Poor Jeremiah. I kept hoping for things to turn around. :'(
August 15, 2012
A subdued boy, whom I really pitied. Notable thing in the casting is Marilyn Manson, one of my fav singers. I wondered why the social service or the police didnt take care of the couple, tho. This made the flick a little too unrealistic to me.
½ August 8, 2012
Horrifying and shocking story of abandonment, and abuse. Very hard watchmaker sure how good it was because you are just overcome with revulsion at the sad life of the child in the story.
½ July 5, 2012
I put this dvd in and I said to myself I'd only watch the first 10 minutes. 90 minutes later and I had watched the whole film. Brilliant piece about a mother and son trying to make a relationship out of nothing. Asia Argento (director/lead actor) plays a great junky and Jimmy Bennett could very well be the best child actor i've seen in a film with so much adult themes. Although It's a big shocking at times, and at times you just hate it, it's worth a watch, and I'd recommend it to anyone.
½ May 6, 2012
Very depressing good movie.

Rare but on occasion i watch a movie that is sad or scary, and at a point in the middle i ask why im watching it, its making me hit a bottom and i feel a need to escape.

that my flixster friends is a genuine feeling, and a movie good enough to inspire that feeling is a good sad or scary film.

The abuse this kid goes through is crazy.

I guess i would suggest this film to the people who like when their stomach carries a little to much weight. i know i loved it.

INK
May 2, 2012
A strange, disturbing based on the novel by JT LeRoy, a infamous literary hoax.
April 20, 2012
the synopsis sounds good. but Marilyn Manson is in this?
April 10, 2012
the sad story of a young orphan boy is thrust into terrible situations with his mother and her many lovers. a must see if you have not already.
March 30, 2012
not bad, super depressing though
Page 1 of 30