The Loved Ones - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Loved Ones Reviews

Page 1 of 55
½ December 10, 2016
The love one is hard to watch yet you can't stop watching seeing this crazy girl and her dad torture a tied up teen is crazy to watch as the movie progresses the more we find out about the father and daughters life it truly is a torture porn but a good one
December 9, 2016
One of the most overrated movies of all time. It was a huge waste of time. I'm giving it 2 stars only because I have watched worse movies in my life.
December 3, 2016
If you were like me at one point , you haven't seen it and been avoiding it for so long.

I waited so long but had to give in due to all the good reviews. And I was wrong for not looking at it before. Not just some teenage hacker flick.
October 4, 2016
I find that good psychological thrillers or horrors are hard to come by; a needle in a haystack.

The Loved Ones has satisfied me. It brought a very maniacal and twisted perspective on over the top High School horror. This movie plays on a lot of people's subtle insecurities about 'the quiet ones tend to be the psychopaths'; taking a new perspective on those awkward or quiet girls. Since I happen to be one of them, I can relate; but the music, acting, and general feel in the first 10 minutes of this movie had me hooked and grinning for more.

The actress who plays Lola (McLeavy) has nearly out performed most of the American Box Office actresses I have seen; convincingly using the right facial features and exaggerations to really entice me. She plays the troubled and disillusioned girl with such finesse it seems natural. Few actresses have played this role well and Winona Ryder's portrayal in Girl Interrupted was the last one I can really recall doing the role any natural justice.

I continued to watch this movie for McLeavy; but it wouldn't have been without the director's keen eye. The supporting cast was great as well. This will definitely be a movie I watch again down the road and will not forget.
½ October 3, 2016
Once again, I can't understand why this movie is getting such glowing recommendations. It's just a slow pretentious schlock with uninteresting characters and a really blah story.

I love horror. I love gore. I love torture scenes and body horror. But this... this just felt like it was taking the piss out of all those things.

You're better off watching one of the Saw sequels.
August 31, 2016
One of the best movies of its kind. I really loved it. Very well done, actors are great as well as the scenography, one word "WOW".
½ August 22, 2016
This was actually a really bad movie. Not sure how this got a 98% on rotten tomatoes.
½ August 18, 2016
Oh, God, this is grisly!
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ July 30, 2016
I think I watched a different movie because I've read all this praise and I thought it was silly and predictable, Terrible acting and a lackluster ending, This film is one reason I don't listen to critics.
July 22, 2016
I really enjoyed it, I liked the acting, the gore, and everything. It was a nice rare treat, since proper US horror is pretty much dead. It Follows was mediocre and boring.
July 2, 2016
<3 <3 <3 <3
June 30, 2016
Unique and original. Both campy and horrifying.
½ June 30, 2016
Que gran película, el nivel de suspenso y violencia extrema la hacen ya un clásico del cine gore. So Sick!!!
June 30, 2016
The craziest, scariest and funniest "Prom" horror movie I've ever watched.
June 30, 2016
One of the best movies of the genre I have seen and up in my Top 10 of all time now! How this was overlooked back in 2009 is beyond me. It's Pulp Fiction meets Basic Instinct meets Texas Chainsaw Massacre! This movie has it all. Extremely well written, acted and directed. Spell binding and magnificently gruesome, without getting off track with the story line. See it!
June 30, 2016
Really enjoyed this movie, dark, disturbing stuff - I mean that in a good way :)
½ June 30, 2016
Amazing !! Genius!! This movie is everything you want from a horror / gore splatter! Must see!! So watch who you reject , you'll end up to the last dance of your life .. Driller killer!!
June 30, 2016
wow....ummm just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is an alright movie 2 watch, it is nothing special 2 watch but it is an alright movie 2 watch...its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie....i think that xavier samuel, robin mcleavy, john brumpton, richard wilson, victoria thaine, play good roles/parts throughout this movie......it is nothing special 2 watch, but it is an alright movie 2 watch, its got a good soundtrack throughout this movie.....i think that this is a really creepy movie 2 watch, but it is an alright movie 2 watch......i think that the director of this art house/international/horror movie had done a great job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.....it is nothing special 2 watch but it is a really really creepy movie 2 watch, it is like the other torture porn/horror movies that are out.....it is a really creepy movie 2 watch but its got a good cast throughout this movie....its nothing special 2 watch but it is an alright movie 2 watch with a good cast throughout this movie....
June 24, 2016
Interesting romantic horror movie. Worth checking out.
Page 1 of 55