The Man in Grey - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Man in Grey Reviews

Page 1 of 1
March 2, 2013
Soapy as hell. Also borderline racist, as was the custom. But James Mason and Stewart Granger beat the shit out of each other, so it's fun.
½ December 16, 2012
A melodrama which the story was good but at a slow pace.
December 7, 2009
This and The Wicked Lady make good companion pieces, both starring Margaret Lockwood and James Mason and being two of the best costume dramas made by Gainsborough Pictures in the period. I prefer The Wicked Lady as I think the ending of The Man in Grey is rushed and a little weak, but overall it's a decent film featuring a quartet of strong performances from Lockwood, Mason, Phyllis Calvert and Stewart Granger.
½ September 7, 2009
during WW2 two strangers meet and talk about possible connections between their familes genreations ago, around 100 years to be precise.

it then cuts to flashbacks about the sweet, loving, beautiful and rich clarissa richmond who was vacting at a girls finishing school at the time she met and befriended the bitter, twisted and poor hesther snow.

clarissa snow is pressured into marrying teh wealthy but cruel marquis of rohan or "the man in grey"; she leads a troubled life for a few years and then intertwines again with hesther snow who is now an actress, it is through their meeting that she makes a friendship and undenying bond with a charming, handsome and respectable actor.

however through it all hesther finds he way into clarissa's home and plots to take it all. with a thrilling, shocking but also with an uplifting ounce of hope following the love of clarissa and how future generations and fate can play out.


a wounderful film, which may seem slow in parts, but with a brilliant ending and message in a way, its all worth while. also with brillaint perfomances from Mason, Calvert, Lockwood and Granger showing how british dramas should be made, a nice classic which is one to be seen, even if only once.
Super Reviewer
½ August 10, 2009
slow starting but ultimately satisfying black n' white job. the age old story of the succubus woman trying to kill any competitor around her. only difference being that the evil bitch gets her commupence here, *SPOILER* beaten with a stick, *SPOILER* as lord rohan played by james mason is a character study in how people can change for the better. about time somebody wrote something about this lil' gem. BEAT HER WITH THAT STICK OLD BOY... BEAT HER! there's something so attractive to me about talking in a toff voice while beating a ho' with a stick. it just seems funny, black humoured and i do love my violence on women (the last part's sarcasm). anyway, now i've finished talking bollocks go watch the film heathens.... OR I SHALL BEAT YOU WITH MY STICK!
August 7, 2009
Beautifully dramatic & dark. Lockwood & Mason at their finest with a bit of male tights fighting for good measure - love it!
April 28, 2009
well umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch...its got a good cast of actors/actressess throughout this movie..i think that margaret lockwood, james mason, phyllis calvert, stewart granger, helen haye, raymond lovell, jane gill-davis, martita hunt, nora swinburne play good roles/parts throughout this movie...its a good 1940's movie 2 watch with a good cast throughout this movie..i think that its really well directed as its done in black n white but its worth a watch
½ April 22, 2009
Extremely well made period drama from the British Gainsborough Studios, good enough to rival anything from Hollywood in this genre from the 1940's. It certainly helps that the cast is first rate.
September 26, 2008
i caught this movie by chance on tv yesterday afternoon, and it was fabulous:) there are several parallels with "the duchess" (a loveless aristocratic marriage, betrayal of a friend with the husband, many of the same names and locations of 18th century english society) but this romantic melodrama also has fortune telling, highwaymen, murder etc, and features some of the leading actors and actresses of the era. highly recommend it!
July 31, 2008
Good afternoon stuff, James Mason is so sexy in this....
July 8, 2008
Fantastic, so very 1940s, all with perfect English accents, and even blacked up little children hehe! James MAson, as usual, utterly gorgeous, and evil. Margaret Lockwood was just stunning and stole the whole thing.
Page 1 of 1