Shadow - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Shadow Reviews

Page 1 of 4
August 8, 2016
It was decent until it went down the torture porn route. The sadist in it was a cross between Pluto from The Hills Have Eyes,Nosferatu and Buffalo Bill. The ending is a major cop out and is like something from a bad American soap. Nice touch with G.W Bush on the wall of Dictators.
½ August 20, 2015
Kept me hanging on the screen .....fine to follow , Pleasently horror SOMDVD
½ February 10, 2015
It's creepy, but the twist totally ruins it. Gorgeous setting in Italy near the borders with Austria and Slovenia. Saw it because of Testa (Frontiers).
October 23, 2013
I really liked this film. Just when you think you have it figured out it completely pulls the rug from under your feet and changes direction.
½ September 23, 2013
Slasher + torture porn + ham-fisted political commentary + holocaust references + excessive mountain biking = this movie. I think this was intended to rise above the other movies in the genre by having a "message" and being more artsy. It failed. I would have liked it better if it was more generic, than at least it could have the possibility of having an interesting or weird twist.
February 12, 2013
Takes a few of the least successful popular genres in current Horror and tries to mash them up with mostly low levels of success. Painfully dull most of the time as well.
February 7, 2013
Puoli tahtea siita hyvasta etta jaksoin katsoa loppuun asti, toinen puolikas musiikeista jotka eivat tuntuneet sopivan mihinkaan kohtaan.
½ January 29, 2013
Would have gotten 3.5 stars had it not been for the cop-out ending
December 24, 2012
Shadow a movie that doesn't appear to know what kindof movie it is. Or at least it wants you to think that. What starts out as crazy rednecks terrorizing a couple, turns into something more akin to torture porn before becoming something entirely different that actually does a wonderful job of tying the whole film together. While the film doesn't exactly handle the horror elements of itself with any real originality, it was effective and held my attention. To describe the ending will make it seem like a cheap cop-out, but it didn't feel like it was. Rather than feeling tacked on at the last minute, it felt like the entire movie was designed to build towards that point. And that makes all the difference.
½ November 12, 2012
Shadow (2010) handles deeper themes and issues than it lets on, which is surely a good thing because as far as plot goes it's pretty standard fare. To my knowledge no other film has treated PTSD disorder in quite the same way. It adds value and depth of meaning to a crumbling genre, and aesthetic value through reflection that lingers on well after it is finished. While the events of the story are easily forgotten, the principal flaw with the movie originates not in its conception but in its execution. On the one hand, it's a bad case of writer/director displaying excessive devotion to certain obvious genre conventions and stereotypes; on the other hand, the weight of subservience only serves to heighten the sensation that something is amiss. Too bad. Nevertheless, for gestalt's sake, it's worth it to be able to observe all the strands in the final act of coming together.
½ November 3, 2012
Go and watch Jacob's Ladder instead.
October 6, 2012
Skirts the line a little too close to torture porn at times but I have to give props to the filmmakers for creating a great atmosphere. Reminds me of some old Dario Argento stuff. The soundtrack is really first rate as well, for a film of this type.
September 29, 2012
not too bad the curve ball at the end is good
½ September 21, 2012
Well, I had high hopes for this movie, but those hopes very very short-lived. The movie starts out okay, and it looks like it will go somewhere even though there are holes big enough to pilot an Iowa class battleship through. For example, when the main character David and his new friend Angeline are ambushed by rednecks, David gets shot in the arm. His entire forearm should have been shattered, but with a little gauze, he is just fine. Later, the rednecks strike again and Angeline gets one in the face with pepper spray, giving her and David the upper hand. So, David, supposedly a battle-hardened combat vet, does something incredibly stupid. Instead of taking the opportunity to kill the rednecks or at least take their weapons, he decides to run off with Angeline......leaving all their equipment behind. So, something doesn't seem quite right about David's behavior.

Eventually David, Angeline, and the two rednecks are taken out by some unseen being in the incredibly foggy woods and they end up tied to tables in what looks like a run-down hospital. So, then there are some gratuitious torture scenes without any explanation. David gets free and sets the rednecks free. The rednecks run into traps and are killed. David explores his surroundings, apparently looking for Angelina. He walks past a portrait of Stalin and then finds some films of Hitler. I guess we are supposed to conclude the torture guy is a Nazi of some kind. Maybe he's a modern day one or maybe he is somehow left over from WWII but didn't age. Whatever, it doesn't really matter. David wakes up in a field hospital in Iraq. Everything was a dream.

So, the movie is basically a lame ripoff of Jacob's Ladder, mixed with a little Deliverance, Hostel, and The Hills Have Eyes.

It's not worth watching. But it's a foreign film......I should've expected subpar.
June 27, 2012
très bonne ambiance (photo, musique style goblin...) pour un twist final un peu tirà (C) par les cheveux mais une dernière image que j'ai trouvà (C) glaçante. A suivre...
June 18, 2012
Just when you're settled into thinking you're watching another survival horror, there's a massive and quite bold change in direction and all bets are off. A clever horror film you just can't say that about many,I say RENT IT!!!
½ May 6, 2012
Stupid movie - and when I say stupid I refer mostly to the writing. The main characters, who are on mountain bikes in the middle of the wilderness, decide to use the roads to escape a couple of men bent on hurting them. They do this not once, but twice. Later, one of them will limp from danger using the road, while being chased by a vehicle. I don't have sympathy for/can't relate to characters and bad writing like this. NOBODY with half a brain would ride/run where a vehicle could easily follow them, if they had other options. I won't watch a story that involves idiots like this. If you cannot write better stories than this one, you shouldn't be making films.
½ May 3, 2012
I wasn't able of getting involved with the characters, especially the villain, I found him quite boring and predictable, but I kinda appreciate the efford.
February 22, 2012
Other than the very obviously anti American Military propaganda of the film, this is a pretty damn entertaining and sick horror film. This villain is deeply disturbing, and does some pretty cruel stuff to his victims.
Page 1 of 4