The Air I Breathe - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Air I Breathe Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 25, 2008
None of the four morality plays ... are necessarily original in plot, nor is the film itself particularly innovative in its structure ... it just seems flat and useless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 24, 2008
Ah, January, hallowed dustbin for projects half-baked, too cooked, or both, as in the case of this overstuffed actioner.
February 3, 2008
Mr. Lee is a former director of Asian music videos, which explains why his debut feature, from the high-octane opening credits to the Marnie-esque ending, is all style and no substance.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
January 4, 2012
Pretentious in its tone, ambitious in its goals, and incompetent in its execution, The Air I Breathe is a polluted mess despite its good intentions.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 13, 2008
A breathtakingly bad Altman rip-off that seems like a wholly unintentional parody of multi-narrative films.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
January 25, 2008
Brendan Fraser is Pleasure, Sarah Michelle Gellar is Sorrow, Kevin Bacon is Love, Forest Whitaker is Happiness, and the director is Pretension.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 25, 2008
A perfectly awful example of a certain breed of American indie film that brings together a lot of familiar faces for an ensemble drama about...nothing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 25, 2008
Each story has its moments, but Air lacks an overarching vision.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 24, 2008
not a nihilistic work of cinematic art, but a laugh-out-loud slapstick free-for-all.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 23, 2008
It's particularly frustrating to watch Whittaker, the strongest thespian of the bunch, desperately mine for gold in a narrative landslide.
June 12, 2008
As the plot strands begin to coalesce everything becomes far too overwrought.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 14, 2008
aforitis dithenias ki ysterikis fotoskiasis spondyloto drama gia ti zoi, to sympan, kai ola ayta, opoy tesseris istories periplekontai me tin haraktiristiki, anamenomena problepsimi apithanotita toy eidoys, gia na ftiaksoyn me to zori, tin hrysi pleksoyda
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 24, 2008
Four unappealing mini-dramas about happiness, pleasure, sorrow, and love.
Full Review| Original Score: 1/5
January 24, 2008
With any luck, The Air I Breathe should be the last gasp of the faux-Altmanesque school of serendipitous storytelling.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 25, 2008
I can't fault any of the actors for anything other than bad judgment. Their performances are fine, but a good fortune cookie might have told them to stay away from this.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: D-
January 22, 2008
Morosely pretentious.
May 2, 2007
Godliness, so The Air I Breathe finally tells us, is all about the Benjamins.
January 23, 2008
[Jieho] doesn't know what to do with actors, however, and the film's impressive ensemble is wasted.
January 25, 2008
A stew of cheap irony, ponderous but meaningless allegory, violence and pretension, the movie is all borrowed style and calculated pandering. It does, however, get more ludicrous by the minute. So in that sense, it's good for an occasional laugh.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Page 1 of 2