The Bell Witch Haunting - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Bell Witch Haunting Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ January 31, 2016
for most of it, I thought it was a spoof film...its literally that bad.
½ September 21, 2015
seriously awful. i normally don't mind found footage films but this is really badly put together. first of all, it supposedly takes place in January in Tennessee. the first scene is a pool party. the temperatures in this part of TN in January are usually run 30 to 60 degrees. there are also palm trees. as the movie progresses you start to recognize scenes from other movies. by the end it's apparent that they have selected their favorite scenes from other films and then tried to cobble them together. unlike a lot of other reviewers i didn't think the acting was that terrible but the mom has the emotional fortitude of a tired 2 year old. she finds a small amount of blood in the sink and doesn't know where her husband is. this leads immediately to hysterics, shrieking, wailing, flailing and calling 911. the ending is the worst. their daughter runs off into the woods and the dad apparently decides he needs a gun to look for his daughter. a gun that has never been seen or mentioned until the moment he fires it. wtf. and oddly enough the last few scenes after the camera guy eats it are filmed with flashlight cameras? i thought this was supposed to be found footage? all the cameras are gone but apparently the flashlights record too?
½ March 11, 2015
horrible. need I say more??
February 9, 2015
this movie is creepy and amazing its a found footage film like paranormal activity and better i cant reccomend this one enough its awesome see it i love this i say make more horror like this
½ August 23, 2014
This movie is terrible. The dialogue is laughable, the acting more wooden than a carpentry shop, and the plot is as cliched of a possession horror flick as you can get. So why three stars?

Because it is supremely entertaining. I'm serious. If you want to have a good laugh with your buddies, find this thing on Netflix, make fun of all of its shortcomings, and laugh yourself stupid at a kid you don't know getting Falcon Punched by a cloud.
July 23, 2014
Found footage film cheep graphics feel like it could have done better but overall good back story and I like how they based it off of an American legend and that it was based off true events
July 20, 2014
if you enjoy the paranormal activity movies, this is a must see.
½ June 24, 2014
This is garbage. Do not recommend.
April 29, 2014
Yep, I can agree with the majority. This is just another run of the mill mockumentary that rips several horror classics. I won't bother a second watch.
April 16, 2014
Ya me marearon estas peliculas. :/
½ April 13, 2014
oh my gosh. yelling and screaming give me headaches -- this was way too over dramatic. i couldn't finish watching it.
April 12, 2014
ok, the concept was interesting, and this adaptation of the bell witch legend had some chilling shots. the scariest part of this movie is that appearantly, this area of Tennessee is where everyone carries there own personal cameras and documents their lives. The electrician wad a little far fetched, but who carries flashlights with cameras attached? According to the father they are "up to their eyeballs in debt", but he can buy his son a state of the art video camera (only it looks like something from 1970), and the son has 6 security cameras with night vision capabilities just laying around. it started out as a B rated, T & A horror flick with the kid living his life through a video camera apparently obvious to all the weird stuff he is recording(ah...he must not have time to review his stuff), then tries to become a combination of the exorcist and the Blair Witch Project, and fails on all accounts. I have seen worse, but not ny much. lastly, I think if I was the cop that is constantly being asked to investigate all of this weird and gross stuff (with a camera on my chest! see what I mean!) I'd either leave the force or demand a raise.
February 25, 2014
The quality of this film's poster/box art is just about equal to the quality of the movie itself. What starts out as a surprisingly decent first half quickly turns into a mind-numbingly tedious and horribly acted second half. Another found footage film that expects us to believe that there would be horribly cheap video fx trying to recreate camcorder static and an ominous musical score backing the tapes that were found and seized (and publicly mass-released) by the US Government. My eyes literally hurt from rolling them so often while watching this movie. This is nothing but more bottom of the barrel Redbox garbage, but if you have half a brain you should (hopefully) be able to tell that from one quick glance at the inept box art.
February 24, 2014
yet another found footage film, yet another piece of shit!
½ February 22, 2014
Pretty bored with the tired shaky cam movies.. It's like every unoriginal horror film maker is trying to cash in on an idea from 5 years ago.
½ February 20, 2014
Just terrible.. if I found out this was a tv movie, I wouldn't be at all surprised.
February 6, 2014
Another low-budget found footage film which is seriously become the norm for most horror movies, and like most, it is similarly long-drawn, predictable, and very boring.
February 1, 2014
One line summary: Found footage death elimination derby; camera quality better than some other found footage disasters.

---------------------

The Robertson County Sheriff's Department (in TN, I think, rather than TX or KY) has a short segment where they say they found some footage from the cell phones and video cameras on or near the Sawyer families corpses. So, we are locked into 'found footage.' Later on in the film the cops called to find Dana Sawyer refers to himself as from Adams County PD.

Brandon gets a video camera as a birthday gift. He starts annoying everyone immediately. He records some poltergeist activity in empty rooms, but never seems to notice this. He records a whole lot of other things that get ignored.

The daughter has terrifying dreams. The lights flicker; the electrician they call gets electrocuted on an outside junction box. The son and his friend find some history of the county which includes the Bell Witch. As it turns out, the house and grounds intersect with the land owned by the Bell Witch.

As time wears on, the family dies except for one.

--------Scores------

Cinematography: 4/10 The usual mix: anything from shaky cam plus bad everything all the way to full-lit, beautifully framed and focused. The long intervals of static shots of empty rooms were not a plus.

Sound: 4/10 Varies, just like the visuals. Some of it is really poor, where words are hard to figure out.

Acting: 2/10 More or less at reality-TV level. The exorcism scene just sucked rocks in terms of acting.

Screenplay: 2/10 Nothing new. Perhaps 10 minutes of content stretched over 90 minutes of bad visuals and iffy sound.
PantaOz
Super Reviewer
January 28, 2014
Another supernatural horror "found footage" which should not be on a big screen, written and directed by Ric White. The movie stars Doug Moore, Stephanie Love, Amber Bland and Ric White. The film is based on the book The Authenticated History of the Bell Witch by M.V. Ingram, a newspaper reporter, concerning the Bell Witch legend. It was shot in less than a month with most of the filming taking place at several locations in Sumner County, Tennessee, including the historic Rock Castle in Hendersonville, Tennessee and the First Cumberland Presbyterian Church.

The good thing about this movie is that presents the historical facts correctly... In real life, in the early 1800s, John Bell moved his family from North Carolina to the Red River bottomland in Robertson County, Tennessee, settling in a community, Red River, which became Adams, Tennessee many years later. Bell purchased some land and a large house for his family. Over the next several years, he acquired more land, increasing his holdings to 328 acres, and cleared a number of fields for planting. He also was made an Elder of Red River Baptist Church. The Bells also had three more children after moving to Tennessee. One day in 1817, John Bell was inspecting his corn field when he encountered a strange-looking animal sitting in the middle of a corn row. Shocked by the appearance of this animal, which had the body of a dog and the head of a rabbit, Bell shot several times. The animal vanished. Bell thought nothing more about the incident, at least not until after dinner. That evening, the Bells began hearing "beating" sounds on the outside walls of their log house. The mysterious sounds continued with increased frequency and force each night. Bell and his sons often hurried outside to catch the culprit but always returned empty-handed. In the weeks that followed, the Bell children began waking up frightened, complaining that rats were gnawing at their bedposts. Not long after that, the children began complaining of having their bed covers pulled from them and their pillows tossed onto the floor by a seemingly invisible entity.

As time went on, the Bells began hearing faint, whispering voices, which too weak to understand but sounded like a feeble old woman singing hymns. The encounters escalated, and the Bells' youngest daughter, Betsy, began experiencing brutal encounters with the invisible entity. It would pull her hair and slap her relentlessly, often leaving welts and hand prints on her face and body. The disturbances, which John Bell told his family to keep a secret, eventually escalated to such a point that he decided to share his "family trouble" with his closest friend and neighbour, James Johnston. Johnston and his wife spent the night at the Bell home, where they were subjected to the same terrifying disturbances that the Bells had experienced. After having his bedcovers removed and being slapped repeatedly, Johnston sprang out of bed, exclaiming, "In the name of the Lord, who are you and what do you want!" There was no response, but the remainder of the night was relatively peaceful. The entity's voice strengthened over time to the point that it was loud and unmistakable. It sang hymns, quoted scripture, carried on intelligent conversation, and once even quoted, word-for-word, two sermons that were preached at the same time on the same day, thirteen miles apart. Word of this supernatural phenomenon soon spread outside the settlement, even to Nashville, where then-Major General Andrew Jackson took a keen interest.

This movie tries to get all these things happening in the modern time... but in the way that it was boring, stupid and simply na´ve! Director could be anyone, camera work was mostly done on equipment which every teenager can probably find in their own room, screenplay had awful dialogues , and acting was shocking! Enough said...
Page 1 of 3