The Big Bang - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Big Bang Reviews

Page 1 of 7
½ April 3, 2015
A cast that any director would kill for, star in this film that plays as sort of a "Pulp Fiction" meets a screenwriter on drugs. A premise so crazy it could have worked had it been handled properly, unfortunately all of the talent involved could not save a poorly written script with a very unsatisfying ending. Banderas is good as the typical private eye. D
March 17, 2015
Dull suspense thriller, which attempts to do this in some sort of film noir style but despite the fine cast it's all rather disappointingly flat. Banderas is a private investigator looking for a missing girlfriend and a stash of diamonds
November 12, 2014
To be honest, I saw this movie only because of Antonio Banderas, but it turned out to be quite a nice surprise actually...:)
½ March 9, 2014
5/10: A contemporary film noir infused with a little sci-fi overtones. Engaging throughout but let down by the ending.
½ February 18, 2014
I just watched it. It's a lot of fun. What are all those people so upset about? Relax, guys. It's a cool movie.
½ November 19, 2013
The classic noir formula but updated to the 21st century--Resfreshingly Exciting!!
Super Reviewer
½ November 11, 2013
Watchable, but just barely. It must have been an intriguing script, because it attracted talent who surely had other options. So, let's pin the blame on a pretentious director who was totally NOT in control of his material. This started out interesting, and quirky, but went downhill at lightening speed. What a waste of talent...
Super Reviewer
March 19, 2013
This must be my Bad Movie week. This one sucks, making 2 in a row. 3=19=13 1 star
½ March 10, 2013
The Big Bang was a visual and intellectual feast made from Raymond Chandler's Farewell My Lovely, and an example of why I often like to watch films that critics pan and audiences don't normally like, because my taste is often different from that of so-called "normal" people. Sometimes the movie in question really is one that I agree only rates a single star, but other times I'm delighted by a film that I, at least, love, and this was one of those times. So, I'll keep watching films nobody else likes in the hope of finding a treasure like this one. If you want to find a prince, ya gotta kiss a lot of toads.
February 12, 2013
A film with the title of "The Big Bang" has to include some references to physics, right? That has to be a rule. And if it isn't, The Big Bang certainly wants to make it one. There are so many references that you might get the impression that the film is smarter than it really is. If you're overwhelmed by terms you might not be familiar with, you might start to appreciate the film simply because you don't understand what it's talking about. Truthfully, it is kind of an intelligent neo-noir, but not because of its references to science.

It's smart because of its plot, which has enough turns to always keep you guessing, and because of its lead character, Ned (Antonio Banderas), who has a smart mouth. He begins the film as a captive man, held that way by three detectives, Poley (William Fichtner), Skeres (Delroy Lindo) and Frizer (Thomas Kretschmann). They're interrogating him, believing he knows something about something, and are determined to find out both somethings. He then begins the tale of how he, a private investigator, set out on a quest to find a woman, and what he'd find as he got closer to his goal.

Mostly what he finds are some cameos by semi-recognizable actors/entertainers. Snoop Dogg plays a porn director who gets one scene of dialogue, and one scene of hanging dead from a ceiling. James Van Der Beek gets one scene before he also exits. Sam Elliot, Autumn Reeser, Seinna Guillory and the three detectives all get a bit more screen time, but they're hardly leads. It's Banderas' flick from start to finish, and everyone else is just along for the ride.

Part of the problem that comes from this narration style is that we know Ned has to be alive in order for him to tell us the story. He can't die early on, or even be gravely injured, because it means that he can't be captured by these detectives and forced to tell us the bulk of the plot. It removes a lot of tension from a few of the scenes, although his snarky retorts to everyone at all times also does that, so I suppose it's not big loss.

I actually quite liked Ned as a character, and not only because he was being played by Antonio Banderas. He's a suave man who knows exactly how much he can get away with in any situation. His wisecracking is about half of the reason I enjoyed The Big Bang at all. I associate well with this type of person, and making him the lead made me happy. The sarcasm drips from his mouth, ready to strike at any given instant, and it's so enjoyable to listen to him taunt everyone around him, even when not in a position to do so.

One could probably make the argument that he's an unreliable narrator, and that he didn't actually say these things to these people at the time. I don't buy that, however, as he says the same sort of things to the detectives, too, and still somehow manages to get away with it. "Diamonds," he tells them. "If you kill me, you'll never learn about the diamonds." That is his safety word, and he clings to it like a monkey to a tree: Loosely and inconsistently, often swinging away from his safety net in pursuit of higher, better ones. That simile didn't work at all, now did it?

The second half of why The Big Bang didn't feel like a waste of my time was the plot, which introduced a lot of cameos that I found fun, and also had a couple of twists in the story which were enjoyable. I wasn't putting in a lot of brainpower while watching this, admittedly, but I was surprised once or twice by the plot. And, yes, seeing Snoop Dogg and Sam Elliot appear did make me giggle, especially the latter, who plays a billionaire trying to create the God Particle.

I'm not sure The Big Bang is entirely successful, as it does a lot of meandering and appears to be building up to something more than it does, but I still had a good time. I suppose, in this day and age, I'm partial to any film trying to resurrect the film noir of old, even if it doesn't do a great job. It's not as thrilling and doesn't boast the same sense of mystery and intrigue that one would hope for. But is it kind of clever and enjoyable? Sure, I think so.

I've heard from more than one person that Banderas' dialogue was difficult to understand at times. I didn't have much of a problem with it, to be honest, although he does have a fairly heavy accent and does mumble at times. You shouldn't have any trouble understanding the plot anyway, so you don't need to hear every word that Banderas says. All you really need are the sarcastic retorts that he throws left and right. And those come through clear as day.

The Big Bang is an enjoyable neo-noir that doesn't take itself too seriously, throws a couple of plot twists your way, and has a few cameos that you'll definitely appreciate, assuming you're a fan of C-list actors. It's really quite a funny film, in large part to Banderas' character's constant sarcasm in situations which do not require it. It has a bunch of physics references that some audience members will appreciate -- while others will pick them apart and say "that's not how it really works." It meanders a touch, but overall, I had some fun with it.
January 20, 2013
Wannabe film noir that thinks its cooler then it really is. This had some promise, with a decent cast and an interesting premise, but overall, it just doesn't work, and the metaphysical science sex scene was just totally unnecessary, thus I can't recommend this in anyway.
½ November 26, 2012
I ended up turning this movie off due to its high nudity and sex content.
November 17, 2012
A colossally strange film noir misfire, The Big Bang tries to inject the soupy moodiness of the noir genre with a surfeit of cool and edgy thrills, but, ironically, it's actually just a big snooze. I say SKIP IT!!!
½ October 25, 2012
all star cast & music by the smith's johnny mar lift this noirish mystery but it reminded me of 'murder, my sweet"
October 22, 2012
A strange and ultimately unsatisfying venture into the realm of a private eye, Banderas, who's search for a missing stripper unveils a ridiculous plot involving mobs and diamonds.
October 15, 2012
Tony Krantz hasn't the faintest idea on how to direct a movie - the dude thinks he's Robert Rodriguez all of a sudden...Antonio Banderas should stick to the 'Puss in Boots' franchise.
Super Reviewer
August 30, 2012
This film definitely took me by surprise. It kind of reminded me a little bit like Sin City and little bit like Southland Tales. The film has great special effects. The film is very colorful. The opening reminded me of the opening of No Way Out. The end of the film kind of reminded me a little bit of the ending from The Cooler.

Antonio Banderas is great in the P.I. role. William Fichtner, Delroy Lindo, and Thomas Kretschmann are great as the cops in the film. Sam Elliot provides some good supporting work here. Snoop Dog is also good in his supporting role. Even Robert Maillet, who was great in Sherlock Holmes, does a great job here.

I definitely recommend this unique film.
August 28, 2012
The Big Bang is a mystery/suspense film directed by Tony Krantz from the screenplay by Erik Jendresen .Movie stars Antonio Banderas in the lead role, along with Sam Elliott.

Ned Cruz (Antonio) is L.A. based PI, he is given a job to find girl named Lexie Persimmon, Ned doesn't even know how Lexie looks? As he starts investigating, more people fall dead. A twelfth richest man in the world Simon Kestral (Sam Elliot) seems to be linked to this entire scenario. Simon is mad about finding "the god particle" by recreating exact situation in which the universe may have formed.

Antonio looked really miserable as macho man, maybe I think it was because there were no action scenes in this film, but he kept driving a fantastic car, wearing half-sleeve, promptly drawing out gun at nothing. Unbelievably pathetic interrogation scenes; this whole thing, is to blame for boring us to death. This is simply odd material to come out.
July 31, 2012
It held my interest like a melting ice cream cone with candied sprinkles drizzled down the face of a bleeding comatose diabetic. If that makes any sense to you then so will this (straight to the $5. bin) film.
½ July 23, 2012
eL AcELErAdOR De PoTroNEs ubCIADo en SuizA Es El PROtAGOnisTa Que cReARa lA eStrELLA dE DIos, PerO pArA q EsTO fUNciOne Es necesARio Que sURGa De nuEvo El Big BanG, COmpUesTO dE un ARtEFActO Y una MujeR, qUE sON pieZas CLaVEs PaRa QUE fuNcIONE LA cOLIsiĆ³n.
Page 1 of 7