The Bunny Game - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Bunny Game Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ October 5, 2016
Literally the nicest thing that I can say about The Bunny Game is that it's competently made. The video quality is good, and the director has a fair grasp on how to hold and move the camera. But technical competency aside, it's a difficult sit. The main character, who admittedly is played with earnesty and commitment by Rodleen Getsic, doesn't have a real personality, her only distinguishing trait being that she's a rampant drug addict, which is a character description to be featured on the DVD box, not something that makes her relatable or likable. The film is endlessly repetitive, full of loud, hyperactive editing and countless shots of a fat, creepy truck driver licking our protagonist. It fails to be interesting or involving, opting simply for exploitative, and despite being only 76 minutes, you'll lose patience with it long before it ends.
December 12, 2014
terrifying grotesque but sordidly brilliant. won't spoil it for you but for those who love to be shocked they will love it. A great mix of cool editing terror and horror will leave you wondering how this will all end and left me gutted it finished!
November 4, 2014
was ok nothing to shout about...
October 9, 2014
An extremely disturbing sick film. No wonder it's banned.
½ July 21, 2014
One of the more recent films to be banned by the BBFC. Apart from some interesting editorial choices and an artful black-and-white approach, this is one terrific waste of time. It's irritating throughout and you get essentially one beat hammered over and over again. Tedious and boring. However, on the plus side, the interviews with the filmmakers is incredibly fascinating. Not only is the actress essentially playing a role she experienced in real life (to a degree) but the director was actually afraid of the psychopath in the film. The director didn't use a crew and instead shot it himself (and edited/composed) total guerrilla style. By far the most interesting thing about this video nasty is that everything is real. Real blow-jobs, real torture and worst of all, real branding! They actually burned the shit out of the actress for the film. And she was game! Not surprisingly she won awards for her performance. I often complain that modern horror films are missing that dangerous factor that made so many 70's horror films so disturbing and effective. Well, here is a modern exception. The making of the movie sounded like a true horror experience. A shame that the end result lacked a script and ended up being just plain tiresome.
March 8, 2014
There's no reason to watch this unless you feel like losing all moral integrity. Turn your TV or computer off. Read a book. You're better than this.
½ March 7, 2014
Complete garbage. I am sure the people behind this crap will justify it by saying it makes some kind of social statement. Dont waste your time unless you are a torture porn idiot.
November 22, 2013
It lacked much of any plot, and the plot that was there was absolutely sick. Even though the acting was spot on, it was ruined by annoying editing and sound effects. There was so much potential to this, but it never lived up....ever.
½ August 1, 2013
Tout ce que le torture porn a de plus détestable résumé en seul film. Vraiment pénible...
June 26, 2013
Hasn't gotten the best reviews, but I guess we'll see...
½ April 12, 2013
Man, what a WEIRD movie! Definitely not for everyone. Pretty shotty filming, but overall a decent "story" as it's probably happened on numerous occasions in real life, unfortunately.
½ March 16, 2013
I know well this kind of hard movie, I saw and liked: A Serbian Film, Philosophy Of A Knife, and the very goods french movies: Martyrs directed by Pacal Laugier and A l 'intérieur (Inside) but this one apparently bored me, not a story just a succession of unbearable stages without suspense, happily it's short but already too much. Is It really based on actress own experience? I would like to know more about that...
January 2, 2013
Nothing redeeming here.
December 5, 2012
How the hell was this worse than V/H/S?! I thought that was impossible! Ugh, the amount of flaws in this shit fest could fill an entire sewer, which is where this movie belongs.
November 18, 2012
As a piece of art, I highly respect it, however it was a little too long, I don't regret seeing it
Francisco G.
Super Reviewer
½ November 3, 2012
Obnoxious, pretentious beyond belief, annoying, loud: it uses violence and sexploitation the way it should never be used. There's absolutly no point to it other than to make you sick and even at that it fails miserably. Hoping the guy who made this will stay away from a movie camera for good.
½ October 17, 2012
Good God was this film obnoxious and annoying as hell!! The Bunny Game is sick sadistic film that has absolutely no redeeming value whatsoever. During my years of reviewing movies I have seen disturbing sick movies, but at least I got something out of those! Hell, one of my favorite movies is A Clockwork Orange and it is quite disturbing! But this was just a pretentious artsy fartsy (yes this film actually got me to use a term I hate using) pile of dog crap!! The protagonist is annoying as hell, the soundtrack is just god-awful buz noise, there's no story, just torture, torture, and hey i bet you didn't see this coming, more torture!!! This genre died out a long time ago in the 70s and with good reason too!!! Now if you'll excuse me I'm gonna go watch a good movie to wash this terrible viewing experience outta my mouth!!!
October 11, 2012
best onscreen bj ever
August 25, 2012
Raw, gritty, real. Great independent film.
½ August 24, 2012
I get that it was supposed to be shocking because its so realistic, but its just boring. Not sure why they bothered banning it.
Page 1 of 2