The Bunny Game - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Bunny Game Reviews

Page 2 of 2
August 19, 2012
How the hell was this worse than V/H/S?! I thought that was impossible! Ugh, the amount of flaws in this shit fest could fill an entire sewer, which is where this movie belongs.
½ August 6, 2012
AL's Disclaimer: Don't watch The Bunny Game unless you are one of my select sicko friends. That being said, I actually didn't find The Bunny Game all that disturbing. Exquisitely filmed with breathtaking/haunting Black and White cinematography, the film is intelligent and brutal, but I ultimately felt like it didn't build towards a truly brutal conclusion like such films should. It starts off with an absolutely brilliant pairing of shots that equate suffocation with rough oral sex. And the film's opening is ultimately more interesting than where it goes. The Bunny Game itself is interesting but is too short and not elaborated enough. A solid effort at artistic yet brutal transgressive cinema, The Bunny Game just didn't quite reach the heights that it could have.
½ July 20, 2012
uh yea dont ever watch this movie
½ July 19, 2012
Boring as fuck torture porn.
½ July 19, 2012
This movie was the biggest fucking waste of time. This was Pseudo art. A piece of fucking garbage. Not gory, not scary, not artistic. Crappy editing, crappy acting, crappy music No point.. Then she gets stuffed in the back of a van at the end. Did she live or die. Honestly at that point I could care less, I just wanted this piece of shit to be over. Why did I waste 80 mins of my life on this pure garbage.
½ July 12, 2012
I feel like I just wasted my time watching a film supposedly unrated by the BBFC which should be reviewed as an art film. Even then, it's not great. There are long shots intercut with speedy bursts of images throughout which provide more of a headache then anything else. There's no real narrative and worst of all, what the hell is a Bunny Game. Not explained, other than some shit about pigs and rabbit whores. At the start I thought "yeah looking brutal already" but a few rape/sex scenes and a snippet of coke sniffing does not justify a sick movie. It's crap, don't bother!
June 18, 2012
Torture porn. A sub-genre that, by the nature of its label, sounds like a type of film that only the perviest of perverts would flock to. And yet, with movies like Hostel (and its many sequels), Saw (and its many sequels), and the cornucopia of 70's/80's horror film re-makes breaking through to mainstream success, torture porn has become an acceptable; NAY...widely accepted sub-genre of horror.

The merits of the films in the genre are arguable. No doubt many exist solely to shock viewers into an epileptic fit of puke and diarrhea. I believe it can be argued that others exist as masterworks of horror and suspense that can be proudly shelved by horror buffs who crave more than just bloody tits and severed heads. The Bunny Game would make a good party guest for Cannibal Holocaust, Saw 1, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974), Friday the 13th, etc.

More so than most horror filims, The Bunny Game teeters into art house territory. Graphic depictions of sexual acts, a black and white color scheme, a tiny amount of dialogue, and abstract shots and storytelling make it stand out from the very crowded torture porn genre. Unfortunately for the filmmakers and actors involved, all of those aspects will probably keep The Bunny Game from reaching any sort of mainstream success. The best the filmmakers can hope for, financially at least, is for a cult following.

It does the crazed-pervert better than any movie I've ever seen. It realistically, almost to a fault, depicts how a kidnapping-sexual-assault would likely go with a psychopath. It's not for the faint of heart. It's a slow-burning, disturbing film only suited for those certain they are fans of the genre. But if a fan of the genre you are, I believe the pinnacle of "torture porn" you will find.
March 16, 2012
Totally devoid of any reason for existing, and so, so boring. The BBFC can keep it.
½ February 12, 2012
My review of The Bunny Game, from IMDB.COM.

Adam Rehmeier has made a film that will stick with you long after the credits have rolled. The Previous 75 minutes will leave you gasping for air as one scene of horror, is followed by another. That said, the film doesn't suffer from liters of blood, its a brutal film, the black and white cinematography is stunning but constantly helps the dark, and vile thoughts of what lays in the back of the protagonist's mind. The acting is impeccable considering the subject matter, and the music (like all music in film should) adds to the overall feel of the film. With The Bunny Game we have what i believe to be a daring piece of modern film making that will, i hope it will be followed by many extreme horror film fans if they're going to be lucky enough to get their hands on it. Banned in the UK, Sweden is about the only country with any release at this time on DVD.
Page 2 of 2