The Burma Conspiracy (Largo Winch (Tome 2)) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Burma Conspiracy (Largo Winch (Tome 2)) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
September 29, 2014
This is what happens if they made James Bond films in a generic way. It has the worst execution, worst dialogue and maybe one of the awful acting ever. I saw Sharon Stone try so hard as she struggles more. Its generic as you can get.
August 3, 2014
A sequel to the Heir Apparent and as well handled. Once again it deviates from the source material but does create an action movie with twists and turns. Not bad.
July 21, 2014
6,5/10
better than the first one
May 15, 2014
Friday, May 9, 2014

(2011) The Burma Conspiracy: Largo Winch II
(In French with English subtitles)
ACTION

As an action movie it sucks because throughout the entire film, there's like three action sequences- one, in the beginning which involves a car chase, awfully photographed and acted, the second one, was a fight scene that's obviously inspired by the Jason Bourne movies probably the best thing through this entire film without it being any better than what I've seen before, and finally sometime near the end, when Winch was jumping out of a plane via James Bond, but looks much more fake. The plot centers on many underhanded dealings and double crosses, so many in fact, that I didn't want to see it anymore, motivating me to use a fast forward button while playing and at the same time and totally ignoring much of it's English subtitle dialogue. Yes, it's that excruciating, and without those possible options about how I can view this, I would have given this film a much lower rating. Cut the preliminaries, how's the action sequences going to be like since the plot is extremely boring and very routine.

2 out of 4 stars
½ July 11, 2012
lacks the power of the prequel.
June 8, 2012
Not better than the prequel largo Winch. But not that bad too. It had its moments, sometimes overcooked though.
½ May 18, 2012
Less flamboyant locations and a good storyline. Definitely better than its predecessor. The critics must have panned it, but here is one James Bond clone worth a watch.
½ May 3, 2012
Pfuuuh pourquoi diable faire un film sur Largo Winch pour autant s'éloigner de l'original !
April 26, 2012
This is what happens if they made James Bond films in a generic way. It has the worst execution, worst dialogue and maybe one of the awful acting ever. I saw Sharon Stone try so hard as she struggles more. Its generic as you can get.
½ April 2, 2012
Disapointing. The storyline was badly pulled, 10 minutes before the and everything is just miraculously solved. Not a must see.
March 29, 2012
La grande force du Birman en 2011, c'est qu'il est cinématographiquement flinguable très aisément, bien plus que le Russe, l'Arabe ou le Chinois. Flinguable pour susciter l'empathie quand il est de l'ethnie Karen, ou flinguable sans pitié quand c'est un trouffion à la solde de la junte au pouvoir. Et, dans une séquence qui n'a pas grand-chose à envier au dernier Rambo, Largo Winch va en flinguer, du Birman ! Tout Largo Winch est résumé dans cette scène : on uvre ici dans le domaine du divertissement décomplexé à la Besson, sans pour autant souffrir des mêmes faiblesses d'écriture structurelles. Sans être renversant, l'épisode précédent avait constitué une appréciable surprise, quand on connaît les difficultés du cinéma français pour accoucher d'un cinéma d'action correct, et plus encore pour s'approprier intelligemment une bande-dessinée («Blueberry» et «Adèle Blanc-Sec» sont de parfaits exemples de tout ce qu'il ne faut PAS faire en la matière). La suite des aventures du milliardaire barbouze réutilisent donc sans se fouler les ingrédients à succès du premier épisode : une dose tout à fait correcte d'Action, de la malversation politico-économique pour les Nuls et un humour (très) grand-public. Faute de briguer le statut de chef d'uvre, le film, qui ne peut plus être décemment qualifié de Jambes Bond du pauvre se hisse sans difficultés au niveau d'un Blockbuster hollywoodien de second rang. Hormis les inévitables entorses à la bande-dessinée, les quelques raisons d'être déçu ne sont pas à chercher du côté des contraintes technologiques et financières mais bien dans l'inclusion d'une histoire sentimentale très pathos et dans la présence de Sharon Stone dans un rôle tellement bâclé qu'elle ne peut s'expliquer que par l'assouvissement, par le réalisateur Jérôme Salle, d'un fantasme d'adolescent.
March 12, 2012
But not by that much. Actually the main actor does help a lot and the vote could have been lower without him. Sharon Stone on the other hand, seems almost completely misplaced. I'm not sure if they had American backing or if the director/producer or whoever was a fan of hers, but she almost put me off the movie. And I quite like her in other movies, but this one ...

With that being said, we get more of Largo and his back-story. While I'm not familiar with the source material (haven't read anything, only watched the first movie), it seems like there is a rich story behind the character. I'm not sure if there will be another installment into the series (could go even further back I guess), but I do know that Largo made an impression on me overall. Good action-thriller that delivers what it needs to
March 5, 2012
As Hollywood forgot how to compose good, entertaining, thrilling and sympathetic action dramas, the french did not! "Largo Winch 2" proves to be "all that", as it is also very charming. Even Sharon Stone works great. Thoroughly enjoyable and classy :)
½ January 15, 2012
san to prwto me mia sexy Sharon!!!!!!!!!!!
January 11, 2012
Je préfère le premier, même si celui-ci bouge plus. Autrement je les trouver sympa, sans plus. Et vous ?
December 11, 2011
As a Burmese, I must say this movie should be titled as "The Thailand Conspiracy". There is no single Burmese word or scene in the movie. Every dialog which is thought to be in Burmese is spoken in Thailand. And every actor who ought to be Burmese was from Thailand. Most of the scenes taken place in the movies are in Thailand and Burma border (mostly in Thailand side). Yet, they call the movie the "Burma" conspiracy.
½ November 15, 2011
Not as exciting as the first part. Disappointed!
½ October 26, 2011
Ech dmn sequels! Jerome Salle still keeps his 'signature' techniques and features so it was still quite enjoyable but this one really felt like comics...
October 19, 2011
story with Lergo continues this time with still hot Sharon Stone,
maybe part 2 ain't as first one but its there, so 3 stars
½ October 13, 2011
I liked the first Largo Winch movie a lot, so this one disappointed me a bit.
Page 1 of 4