The Comedy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Comedy Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 19, 2018
A searing study of an aging hipster who encapsulates the misanthropy popular culture's notion of what it means to be funny.
April 13, 2016
For something titled The Comedy, this movie isn't funny. Or charming, likable, enjoyable, or any other adjectives you would find splashed on a poster.
November 25, 2013
As a portrait of a generation that's almost collectively sociopathic, this is frightening. For the right audience it's also damn funny. If I wasn't so emotionally stunted and able to enjoy things unironically I'd say I loved it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
June 28, 2013
While this could have been the perfect portrait of a certain kind of idiot, the baroque cruelties and tonal monotony go too far.
April 1, 2013
An essential portrait of a generation of people laughing so hard that they've forgotten the joke is on them.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 24, 2013
This is a lacerating portrait of the sort of narcissistic self-loathing that has kept educated, economically comfortable young people from achieving their true potential, from Benjamin Braddock to Hannah Horvath.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 24, 2013
Champions what it appears to mock and indicts what it appears to glorify.
Read More | Original Score: B
December 6, 2012
The longest and dreariest 94 minutes I've spent on a movie this year.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
December 6, 2012
None of this is necessarily funny. That's the extent of the irony here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 6, 2012
[A] relentlessly aimless, abrasive stab at black humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 30, 2012
All this is credible enough until Swanson exits the airtight bubble of his peers to bully New York City at large.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 29, 2012
The joke, I guess, is that there's nothing funny about "The Comedy."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 22, 2012
A mean-spirited piece of mumblecore that tries to provoke you, but only succeeds in boring you.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
November 22, 2012
Pushing the boundaries of taste isn't necessarily a bad thing, but the film is so busy daring its audience to hurl insults that it forgets to simply be funny.
November 21, 2012
A billion times better than Tim and Eric's Billion Dollar Movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 16, 2012
A character study that tries to make the revolting compelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 15, 2012
If you can discern any critical distance or interesting perspective here, or even a good reason to spend 90 minutes in such company, I'm afraid the joke is on you.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
November 15, 2012
The movie may critique its antihero, but it also offers just one more venue in which he's allowed to wallow - while we pay his way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 15, 2012
It's a long, painful sit that claws at interpretational ambition, but only nails the rare moment of enlightenment, wasting 90 minutes of screentime to acquire about 15 minutes worth of substance.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 14, 2012
The Comedy pretends to be a satire of entitlement, but it's made in a style so indulgent that the whole film feels entitled in the extreme.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 2