The Comedy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Comedy Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 13, 2016
For something titled The Comedy, this movie isn't funny. Or charming, likable, enjoyable, or any other adjectives you would find splashed on a poster.
November 25, 2013
As a portrait of a generation that's almost collectively sociopathic, this is frightening. For the right audience it's also damn funny. If I wasn't so emotionally stunted and able to enjoy things unironically I'd say I loved it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
June 28, 2013
While this could have been the perfect portrait of a certain kind of idiot, the baroque cruelties and tonal monotony go too far.
April 1, 2013
An essential portrait of a generation of people laughing so hard that they've forgotten the joke is on them.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 24, 2013
This is a lacerating portrait of the sort of narcissistic self-loathing that has kept educated, economically comfortable young people from achieving their true potential, from Benjamin Braddock to Hannah Horvath.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 24, 2013
Champions what it appears to mock and indicts what it appears to glorify.
Read More | Original Score: B
December 6, 2012
The longest and dreariest 94 minutes I've spent on a movie this year.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
December 6, 2012
None of this is necessarily funny. That's the extent of the irony here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 6, 2012
[A] relentlessly aimless, abrasive stab at black humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 30, 2012
All this is credible enough until Swanson exits the airtight bubble of his peers to bully New York City at large.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 29, 2012
The joke, I guess, is that there's nothing funny about "The Comedy."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 22, 2012
A mean-spirited piece of mumblecore that tries to provoke you, but only succeeds in boring you.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
November 22, 2012
Pushing the boundaries of taste isn't necessarily a bad thing, but the film is so busy daring its audience to hurl insults that it forgets to simply be funny.
November 21, 2012
A billion times better than Tim and Eric's Billion Dollar Movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 16, 2012
A character study that tries to make the revolting compelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 15, 2012
If you can discern any critical distance or interesting perspective here, or even a good reason to spend 90 minutes in such company, I'm afraid the joke is on you.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
November 15, 2012
The movie may critique its antihero, but it also offers just one more venue in which he's allowed to wallow - while we pay his way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 15, 2012
It's a long, painful sit that claws at interpretational ambition, but only nails the rare moment of enlightenment, wasting 90 minutes of screentime to acquire about 15 minutes worth of substance.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 14, 2012
The Comedy pretends to be a satire of entitlement, but it's made in a style so indulgent that the whole film feels entitled in the extreme.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 13, 2012
[A] faux-courageous nondrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 2