The Congress Reviews

Page 3 of 6
August 28, 2014
Intriguing story about what it would be like to live in a post-avatar world.
August 28, 2014
a fascinating study in self, and what we think of when we contemplate who we are.
August 28, 2014
Ambitiously trippy and compulsively watchable ...
August 28, 2014
"The Congress" becomes as frustrating and expensive-looking as "Cloud Atlas." Try to follow it and you may feel abandoned in a maze.
August 28, 2014
The Congress will thrill some but proves more often to be frustrating and lacking in emotion, especially when it comes to Wright. Even a sex scene feels devoid of passion.
August 28, 2014
While always detailed in its visual execution, each new aspect of the film's world remains conceptually hollow, growing ultimately into a Matrix-style allegory for the nature of truth ...
August 28, 2014
...The Congress falls victim to heavy-handed flip-flopping as it struggles to incorporate themes like family values and true love into a tacky Hollywood fable full of explosive action and signifying little.
August 28, 2014
The movie is a howl of pain at the technological and corporate takeover of our fantasy lives - and, increasingly, our real lives.
August 28, 2014
It spirals into logy animated nonsense.
August 28, 2014
Long on vision but short on coherence, this live-action/animation dyad boasts a stranger kind of duality: As it unspooled, I felt I'd never seen anything quite like it before... and already I was fantasizing about a tighter, less self-serious remake.
August 28, 2014
Busting with ideas, from ageism in Hollywood to the soullessness of digital life.
August 28, 2014
Like its actress, it's an ambitious knockout that doesn't quite live up to its potential
August 28, 2014
It's a folly of the first order, but one that many people will nonetheless want to see, if only because it's so out there.
August 27, 2014
If Folman's script is choppy - it doesn't help having Jon Hamm on retainer as a character who does nothing but explain a confusing world to [Robin] Wright/us - it is smoothed out, as much as it can be, by its star.
August 26, 2014
[Wright] comes through with flying colours, confidently carrying all the live action sequences on her shoulders.
August 26, 2014
Jettisoning a connection to anything concrete, Folman, who started his career in documentaries, loses his narrative moorings.
August 26, 2014
Beyond the recurring symbol of her son's red kite, there's little to connect Wright to this hallucinogenic animated space where disgruntled citizens are free to pass as the persona of their choice.
August 24, 2014
As executed by writer-director Ari Folman, the concept is tidy, superficially clever, and almost defiantly irrelevant.
August 22, 2014
The animated dreamworld of the second half is a wonderfully colourful and bizarre place, but so confusing that it is hardly credible that consumers of the future are going to want to pay money to spend time there.
August 22, 2014
The psychedelic second section derails the finished product somewhat but it's never less than absorbing. Cult classics have evolved from less.
Page 3 of 6