The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Them Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 6, 2018
It goes on and on and nothing much happens but this going on and on. And you can easily imagine the amazement that filled my face when I learned that it could actually have gone on and on for much longer than I saw it going.
August 28, 2018
"Them" seems to fill in pieces that may have been better left unfilled, leaving no mystery in the film except in what the filmmaker decides to withhold from us.
September 22, 2016
It's a glum, wrenching experience to watch, but the emotional impact is just far too shallow to linger.
March 18, 2015
Even the most adamant art-house snob will have trouble defending this one.
March 14, 2015
Something about this film wasn't very satisfying for me. It is largely due to the pacing, which to be blunt is glacial, verging on deathly.
January 19, 2015
By the time the movie ends, we don't even know very much more about these two than we did when we started: that they're a pair of privileged, great-looking people with a photogenic case of the oh-so-sads.
October 31, 2014
The characters maintain a frustrating emotional distance, not from each other as much as from the audience.
September 21, 2014
A glum, torpid tale of grief and loneliness that's intended to be profound but instead is simply dull.
September 19, 2014
The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby" winds up being a frustrating movie-going experience. You just aren't sure if you are watching the movie's best possible version of itself.
September 19, 2014
An edited-together version of two movies that explain the dissolution of a marriage from different viewpoints is a mixed-up mash-up.
September 19, 2014
They get on your nerves. And it all takes place in an environment of casual wealth and privilege that movies too often take for granted.
September 18, 2014
The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Them does not play fair with the audience or its characters.
September 18, 2014
Lacks the chemistry and cohesion to make us give a hoot about any of the people portrayed by a stellar cast.
September 18, 2014
For me Chastain's unerring honesty is the only element keeping "The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby" above the realm of pure affectation.
September 17, 2014
The film feels more thrown-together than thought-through.
September 17, 2014
All I'm left with from Them are the memories of a great-but-squandered premise and a film so uninspired in its editing and rambling in its presentation that it, like its title character, almost disappears.
September 15, 2014
What remains is knowing and allusive, but muffled-the earnestness is stalled by pauses and misgivings and occasionally made handsome with long tracking shots.
September 13, 2014
Six hours to hear the whole pretentious saga of Eleanor Rigby? Let me spend the day in the Yellow Submarine instead.
September 13, 2014
The three takes of this film add up to a single okay but not outstanding movie, the two companions of each of them no more than the others with out-takes spliced in.
September 12, 2014
This movie feels more like an actor's reel than a cohesive narrative.
Page 1 of 2