The Edge of Seventeen Reviews

May 4, 2019
The Edge of Seventeen, as much as it wants to, just doesn't pack the punch of its predecessors.
March 13, 2019
The problem is I have no desire to spend 2 hours with a surly miserable 17 year old.
August 3, 2018
Nothing on earth would make me watch The Edge of Seventeen except a need to be depressed, the mood that results from being bored for an extended period of time.
September 29, 2017
Steinfeld herself is charismatic and brimming with energy, and delivers a performance that's much richer than the movie is or deserves.
December 1, 2016
The film doesn't present the edge of seventeen so much as its annoyingly grating surface.
November 29, 2016
[While] Kelly Fremon Craig's first feature updates some old plot points by wrapping them up in current references -- a text message precipitates Nadine's first scene crisis -- it tends to be pretty much what you expect.
November 24, 2016
Its approach is often amusing and even easy to relate to from time to time and the performances from the entire cast are comedically and emotionally rewarding, but the central character gets on your last nerve and nearly ruins a pleasurable experience.
November 18, 2016
...a forgettable teen drama that's rarely as compelling as its various performances...
November 16, 2016
We spend a sprawling, mostly agreeable, and very plainly shot 100 minutes with Nadine, but we never learn anything about her interests or ambitions outside of the two boys -- one nice, the other nasty -- she fancies.
November 16, 2016
The scenes that work just make me ache for more of them, signaling that if Craig finds her groove, she'll be a force to reckon with.
November 14, 2016
As written and directed by Kelly Fremon Craig, the characters don't exist beyond their few foregrounded traits, and the action unspools mainly in clattery witticisms that take the place of substantial dialogue.
September 19, 2016
There's sweetness and a smidge of wisdom to be found in The Edge Of Seventeen, a likeable coming-of-age comedy-drama that's too generic to recommend but enjoyable enough to make you curious what its writer-director and stars will do next.