The Emoji Movie - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Emoji Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 7
April 16, 2019
It's difficult to compete with the similar - and superior - concepts explored in Inside Out and Wreck-It Ralph, and the oft-travelled "be true to yourself" moral of the story is, well, meh.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 21, 2019
The story is downright nonsensical.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 19, 2019
You know you are in the middle of something cynical when the most interesting character in a cartoon is a walking digital hand whining about no longer being popular.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 11, 2019
Despite a talented voice cast, the film can't escape its baseline mediocrity. It's little more than an 86-minute branding exercise.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
February 6, 2019
In the end, there is no reason to give your money to The Emoji Movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
December 20, 2018
This movie is, like the 'meh' emoji, kinda boring, sorta funny, and totally pointless.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
December 8, 2018
"I've seen worse...but I've seen a LOT better." I'll stand by that ... (It has) decent animation and other things, but the film left me meh.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.25/10
November 10, 2018
Dissing cheery children's films can feel a bit like kicking a kitten and we all know how that would go down on social media, even in animated form. But sadly this, while not as irredeemably, horribly awful as I was expecting, is still pretty rubbish.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
November 1, 2018
This is more than a flop - it is an unmitigated cinematic disaster that deserves to be mercilessly beaten in a brutal, bloody fashion.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 15, 2018
This is a movie that should not have been made.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.75/5
August 29, 2018
In an alternative universe, we could've been watching Tartakovsky's Popeye movie that was supposed to come out, but God has forsaken us and left us with "Emoji Movie" instead.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
August 25, 2018
One wishes that this movie could be erased from existence - but for now, let's hope that the burning wreckage acts as a warning to never, ever do this again.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 23, 2018
After 86 minutes of this soulless caper what can one say but ... Meh.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 19, 2018
As I exited my screening, one young lady excitedly shouted, 'It was even better than Inside Out!'.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 21, 2018
They got so wrapped up in being able to use these actual terms, songs and programs, that they didn't actually use them to do something fun.
January 24, 2018
The Emoji Movie was boring, horribly paced, horribly edited, and the jokes didn't land.
December 14, 2017
Almost every set or action or line of dialogue feels like the substandard equivalent of something you've seen or heard being done better elsewhere.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
November 1, 2017
... a weak script, with poor, ugly animations... [Full review in Spanish]
October 26, 2017
Young kids and their adult parents are the only people who'll be able to find some value to The Emoji Movie. Anyone else will probably just smash their smartphone in a bout of raging frustration.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 19, 2017
Also last but not least, our sympathies for Patrick Stewart, who lends his voice to the poop emoji. Yes, you heard that right.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7