Evil Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Evil Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 325
March 26, 2017
I love the original Evil Dead movies, so I was pretty skeptical about a remake. That being said, although this remake is very different in its overall tone, I was impressed and found it to be a really great horror film. It has a strong feeling of dread all throughout the movie, with absolutely brutal scenes of violence and gore, a tiny bit of sick humor, and a hell of a satisfying ending. I think it hits all the marks for a good horror film.
½ March 22, 2017
It took a lot of self convincing for me to watch this movie. I absolutely adore the original Evil Dead trilogy, so much to buy them each on blu-ray the very next day after watching them. When I heard there was a 2013 remake with an over the top focus on gore, I was worried. Despite seeing a fair amount of good reviews for it, I didn't know how I would feel when I consider myself an Evil Dead fan. So here I am... I finally watched Evil Dead (2013).

Before I hop right into the meat, bone, and bloody guts of Evil Dead (2013), I should state that when I watch a remake I look for what different steps it takes in comparison to the original. Too many remakes feel beat for beat similar with only special effects (name recognition money) giving it a reason to exist. Evil Dead (2013), however, thankfully brings some new organs to the body of the evil dead franchise.

Right from the start it is clear that this is a very different movie from the originals. I appreciate this a lot actually. While there are nods to the first two, it's not an exact carbon copy of The Evil Dead (1981). In comparison, Evil Dead (2013) is a more standard modern horror movie, but with a camera that is not shy to show bloody dismemberment. Just from that statement, you should be able to tell if this will be a movie for you.

The comedic parts like in The Evil Dead and Evil Dead 2, have no presence in this movie... which is good in its own way despite having evil dead attached to its title. Speaking of which, there's not much evil dead to Evil Dead (2013). Yes, there are the same stuff like the cabin in the woods, the Necronomicon, and the dreaded cellar, but the very nature of the evil is different. Replacing the ultra quick camera zooms that mirror the evil in the original two, is a larger focus on the cabin itself. To me, the cabin in the original always just felt like a place that was taken control be evil deadites, but in this it almost felt like it was the cabin itself that was spawning the deadites. A small difference, but every difference counts for me.

The entire cast of The Evil Dead (1981), in my opinion, were good. Each character was given time to show their personality and let the audience develop a bond with them before being ripped to shreds... as most good horror movies should. This is not the case of Evil Dead (2013), which happens to be one of its biggest fault. There's the junkie sister, the brother, the maybe nerdy guy(?), the nurse, and the girlfriend brought along for some reason. So much time is spent for developing the brother and sister characters that it makes the other friends almost have little to no purpose. Jane Levy, who I had previously seen in Don't Breathe (2016), plays Mia (the sister). Levy is given a lot of development to her character, and rightfully so considering how great she is in this movie.

Moving on to the plot of Evil Dead (2013), it's the same as before, in some ways, but not entirely. Whereas in The Evil Dead (1981), five friends go to a cabin to have a fun weekend partying, Evil Dead (2013) has a darker turn with four friends (and one random girlfriend) go to a cabin to help Mia go through her withdrawals. A subtle change that I appreciate. I'm also glad the book of the dead wasn't read aloud the same way as before because I couldn't see that working in this setting.

You'll notice the small changes that Evil Dead (2013) has to make it collectively a different movie, but really the main thing that makes it stand out from the rest is GORE. I can't even begin to explain how excruciatingly painful it was to watch some of the bloodiest scenes in this movie. That's not to say that it's bad gore, it's glorious gore done right to where it'll make you uneasily shrivel up in disgust. It will definitely not appeal to everyone, for sure. To me, this is the main thing that makes Evil Dead (2013) special as opposed to the comically gory The Evil Dead (1981) and Evil Dead 2. Still excessive with copious amounts of blood, Evil Dead's (2013) gore is downright disgusting and as real as it could get.

It seems like I've praised this movie quite a lot, which would make my 3.5/5 rating not make much sense. Along with the underdeveloped cast, the main problem I had with Evil Dead (2013) was that it lack a charming lead to get behind. Jane Levy was good, but not she, or any of the other actors, were given much of a personality. Yes, it would be wrong to try to recreate Ash Williams, but this type of story needs someone like Ash to root for. Whoever is supposed to lead the story doesn't have to be sarcastic or cynical like Ash, but instead have some other sort of unique trait. It made my watching experience quite a bummer because there is no tension when you don't like your characters...

...up until the last 20-30 minutes. Yeah, chances are you've heard this before, but the last 20-30 minutes are absolutely insane, something that I didn't see coming in the way that it did. It's absolutely glorious, and really brings the story back to form of the original trilogy. Just for that scene, my rating grew by a half point.

Evil Dead (2013) is not a whole like The Evil Dead, Evil Dead 2, and obviously nothing at all like Army Of Darkness... and it's for the best. Though it suffers from its characters heavily, the use of gore and minor changes make it a different viewing experience for Evil Dead fans. So this brings up the remake existence question again; Is there a reason for this remake to exist and does it bring anything new to the table? In short, yes. It's not a perfect movie, or not even a great movie, but I think it fits comfortably into the Evil Dead franchise. I'm sad to say that I can't see myself buying it on blu-ray/watching it again, but I am glad I finally got around to watching it.

I give Evil Dead (2013) a 3.5 out of 5.
½ March 22, 2017
Gory, horrific, great. This movie is the best horror reboot I have ever seen, in fact it is one of the best horror films I have ever seen! This movie combines a gory scare-fest with astonishing lighting and color, and every thpught in your head gets pushed aside as you jump out of your seat at the glory in front of you.
½ March 17, 2017
This was pretty much a perfect horror movie....until it tacked on an extra ending that wasn't necessary. I'm surprised that they decided to go straight-horror with this, rather than horror-comedy like the original. But that's okay. It worked quite well.
½ March 14, 2017
While it doesn't hold a candle to its superior predecessors, this modern re-imagining doesn't fail to shock or entertain. The absence of zaniness takes away significantly, in my opinion, but it doesn't dishonor the original. It appropriately adapts it to what today's horror audiences want. Also, extra props for using practical gore effects! It's a lost art that could really use a comeback.
February 2, 2017
wooo! Now that is what I call a movie!
January 28, 2017
Absolutely terrifying!!!
½ January 14, 2017
I was skeptical at first to this evil dead remake, but I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it and thought it was really good. I liked the plot of Mia being a heroin junkie, and nobody believes her about the woods raping her. It didn't hold back on the gore and grit which was great. And there is an interesting turn at the end of the film. Very different from the original in a lot of ways, but the differences within this one were effective. I definitely recommend this to horror fans.
John Ross D.
Super Reviewer
January 2, 2017
Cheesy lines, a lousy character development, and some amateur acting skills were some of the contents in this movie. Aside from all that, this is an authentic legit remake that delivers a very hylophobic feels; tasty amount of gore; a jaw-dropping brutality; and an awesome and unnerving climax. Addition to the list is the praisable performance of Jane Levy.

Evil Dead [2013] puts the torture porn in entertainment with class. It is an "a-okay" fiercesome new look --- contoured with flesh and blood --- which is as impactful and memorable as likely as the classic ones.
December 31, 2016
I very much enjoyed this remake. Dispensing with the comedic aspect (which to be honest wasn't all that prevalent in the original trilogy until the second film), they knuckle down on the gore and the tension, and they do both rather well.
December 30, 2016
A well accomplished remake. Almost as exciting as the original.
December 27, 2016
Cheesy lines, a lousy character development, and some of the actors have done amateur acting skills on this movie. Aside from all that, this is an authentic, legit remake that delivers a very hylophobic feels; immersive, tasty gore; a jaw-dropper in brutality; and an unnerving, thought-provoking climax. Addition to the list is the praisable performance of Jane Levy as her character, Mia.

Evil Dead [2013] puts the torture porn in entertainment with class. It is an a-okay new look - contoured with flesh and blood - for the classic ones. If you don't like it enough, well, one thing's for certain: "GO BACK TO HELL, BITCH" lol
December 19, 2016
Two Words. F'N CRAZY!
½ December 17, 2016
I enjoyed the original 'Evil Dead' and its sequels for what they were, but had no real desire in seeing it's remake/sequel, but after seeing and really enjoying Fede Alvarez's 'Don't Breathe', I figured it was worth a shot. I should have kept with my original thought process and ignored this film. It's very predictable and the horror is way more gory than real suspense and tension, which I'm rarely a fan of. The film does have a few nice nods to the original and does have a few cool parts, but overall I was disappointed.
December 15, 2016
Classic remake of a classic except this one is all horror no humor. Practical special effects are ineradicable. Other may disagree but this one sits on my list of all-time top horror movies.
Super Reviewer
½ November 28, 2016
It seems like Alvarez didn't really get what made the original Evil Dead movies so successful, and so he basically eliminates the bizarre humor that made them so much fun and now goes for a bloodbath of pure gore that is entirely derivative and relies on ridiculous cheap scares.
November 19, 2016
If you are a Huge Evil Dead fan like myself than you are going to love the crap out of this BLOODly horror flick.
½ November 2, 2016
Really grotesque, bloody scenes, but still somewhat entertaining.
½ November 1, 2016
I went into this film having never seen the original series, only heard about the impact of Ash. I heard of it through the cult following of these movies that spawned into video games and comic books like "Jason vs Freddy vs Ash"; which came out long before 2/3 of those characters had their big screen duel. I actually saw an episode of Ash vs the Evil Dead before I ever saw this remake because of all the things I had read about an Evil Dead 4 sequel that would happen parallel to the remakes sequel and eventually team up the survivors. The trailer drew me in more than anything else about the stuff I had read online, I just never got a chance to see this soft reboot in the years following. But the Director __ has moved on to anther horror film with a wonderful trailer (Don't Breathe).

One might initially think the cabin in the woods thing has been done into the ground, and one would be right. The characters have found themselves in the same cabin from the original film, but with the intent helping a drug addict get clean. Once the horror starts, it is a wonderful gore-fest full of practical effects. It shares a framework with the original story only lacking in Bruce Campbell. It's cliché and full of jump scares that are silly yet effective. The audience has to think at least once by the middle, why haven't they left this place yet?!

The characters are not smart at all. Regardless what happens, they are always wandering off alone or tripping over something. They decide to leave way too late and then the torture porn lasts a long time for only having 5 victims. It is funny here and there, but is neither light hearted nor campy as Army of Darkness. It's a scary movie that fits perfectly into a horror movie DVD night. The ending is the best part as the series tropes starts to leak out of the confines of the cabin. For better or worse, by the time the sun rises in their world you have likely reached your limit. This movie made me want to get into the franchise, regardless of its monotony.
October 28, 2016
One of the best horror films ever made! Jane levy did such a fantastic performance. Very creepy and over the top. Such a memorable horror film! A must see for all horror movie fans out there!
Page 1 of 325