Evil Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Evil Dead Reviews

Page 2 of 326
December 27, 2016
Cheesy lines, a lousy character development, and some of the actors have done amateur acting skills on this movie. Aside from all that, this is an authentic, legit remake that delivers a very hylophobic feels; immersive, tasty gore; a jaw-dropper in brutality; and an unnerving, thought-provoking climax. Addition to the list is the praisable performance of Jane Levy as her character, Mia.

Evil Dead [2013] puts the torture porn in entertainment with class. It is an a-okay new look - contoured with flesh and blood - for the classic ones. If you don't like it enough, well, one thing's for certain: "GO BACK TO HELL, BITCH" lol
December 19, 2016
Two Words. F'N CRAZY!
½ December 17, 2016
I enjoyed the original 'Evil Dead' and its sequels for what they were, but had no real desire in seeing it's remake/sequel, but after seeing and really enjoying Fede Alvarez's 'Don't Breathe', I figured it was worth a shot. I should have kept with my original thought process and ignored this film. It's very predictable and the horror is way more gory than real suspense and tension, which I'm rarely a fan of. The film does have a few nice nods to the original and does have a few cool parts, but overall I was disappointed.
December 15, 2016
Classic remake of a classic except this one is all horror no humor. Practical special effects are ineradicable. Other may disagree but this one sits on my list of all-time top horror movies.
Super Reviewer
½ November 28, 2016
It seems like Alvarez didn't really get what made the original Evil Dead movies so successful, and so he basically eliminates the bizarre humor that made them so much fun and now goes for a bloodbath of pure gore that is entirely derivative and relies on ridiculous cheap scares.
November 19, 2016
If you are a Huge Evil Dead fan like myself than you are going to love the crap out of this BLOODly horror flick.
½ November 2, 2016
Really grotesque, bloody scenes, but still somewhat entertaining.
½ November 1, 2016
I went into this film having never seen the original series, only heard about the impact of Ash. I heard of it through the cult following of these movies that spawned into video games and comic books like "Jason vs Freddy vs Ash"; which came out long before 2/3 of those characters had their big screen duel. I actually saw an episode of Ash vs the Evil Dead before I ever saw this remake because of all the things I had read about an Evil Dead 4 sequel that would happen parallel to the remakes sequel and eventually team up the survivors. The trailer drew me in more than anything else about the stuff I had read online, I just never got a chance to see this soft reboot in the years following. But the Director __ has moved on to anther horror film with a wonderful trailer (Don't Breathe).

One might initially think the cabin in the woods thing has been done into the ground, and one would be right. The characters have found themselves in the same cabin from the original film, but with the intent helping a drug addict get clean. Once the horror starts, it is a wonderful gore-fest full of practical effects. It shares a framework with the original story only lacking in Bruce Campbell. It's cliché and full of jump scares that are silly yet effective. The audience has to think at least once by the middle, why haven't they left this place yet?!

The characters are not smart at all. Regardless what happens, they are always wandering off alone or tripping over something. They decide to leave way too late and then the torture porn lasts a long time for only having 5 victims. It is funny here and there, but is neither light hearted nor campy as Army of Darkness. It's a scary movie that fits perfectly into a horror movie DVD night. The ending is the best part as the series tropes starts to leak out of the confines of the cabin. For better or worse, by the time the sun rises in their world you have likely reached your limit. This movie made me want to get into the franchise, regardless of its monotony.
October 28, 2016
One of the best horror films ever made! Jane levy did such a fantastic performance. Very creepy and over the top. Such a memorable horror film! A must see for all horror movie fans out there!
October 23, 2016
Normally, I prefer a horror movie that features good story and characters and operates through subtly and suspense. This movie goes against everything I like in a horror movie, but I still like it. The story involves a group of friends attempting to force their friend to beat her drug addiction cold turkey. They hope to supervise her early stages of withdraw and remove her from the temptation of buying more drugs. Once they reach the cabin, they find several disturbing omens that should signal them to leave. Of course, they do not depart; they even find a book, bound with barbwire and clasped shut. It looks like the sort of thing you should leave alone. Like any horror movie demands, they open the book and read it. Then the chaos and carnage ensues. This movie is somewhat weak in the acting department, and the build-up is a little rushed. At least, it is better than the usual gore movie. Once the horror unleashes, it does not hold back or let up to the very end. It is relentless horror for over one hour straight. It is guilty of countless dumb teen-horror clichés, but it does so without coming off as cheesy. The visuals are completely terrifying. I am not a proponent of scaring people with blood, guts, and violence, but it is so effective here. It is intense horror by force in the vein of the 80s gore-fest, but it is more than that. If the characters mattered more and the acting improved, it would be even better. It is everything I was not looking for in a horror film, but even with the shortcomings, it delivers the scares.
October 22, 2016
Doesn't compare to the original, trying not hard enough to a horror thriller it was just gore and bore? I much rather watch the 80s version...
½ October 18, 2016
Is it as good as the original? No. Is it overly gory? Sometimes. Is it intense? Yes. Is it disturbing? Yes. Is it one of the better horror remakes of recent memory? Yes. Is it worth a watch? If you have the stomach for it, yes.
½ October 14, 2016
There's no real cult value to this remake, it's simply an update using tried and tested style and scare methods employed in many contemporary horrors'. That said it's not a bad effort.
½ October 1, 2016
While not on par with the originals, Evil Dead is still an enjoyable horror flick.
September 23, 2016
A very gross yet creepy movie, I Deffinetly had a fun time watching this. It has the most unnecessary gore, but in a way it works. With hints to the original this movie Deffinetly was a good remake. A side comment who names their dog "Grandpa"?
½ September 17, 2016
gory and also a little creepy
½ September 14, 2016
Apparently the witch in the basement swallowed this remakes soul. It really tried to be good, but could never break out and be great.
½ September 13, 2016
One of the goriest movies I've ever seen. It's not a complete match to the Evil Dead of 1981, but it's still a compitent and entertaining enough reboot. The gore effects are excellent, but have no campiness to them, something that made the original so good. And, the movie itself is also a little too dark and bloody, even for the series. But I watch remakes with a very open mind, so others may or may not like it. But still, recommended !!
½ September 8, 2016
This movie was nothing more than a gore fest. If you're into that, good for you but I hated it. There was basically no plot, poor writing, the worst ending I've ever seen and all it was was people dying and a lot of fake blood and screams. I don't even think the acting in this movie was very good. The only reason I gave this movie 2.5 stars is because it was so bad it was funny and I suppose it mediocre as a comedy.
Super Reviewer
½ September 4, 2016
Dullish remake with inferior gore effects, boring performances and absolutely no humour or scares. Visually it is interesting to look at, but that's about it.
Page 2 of 326