Evil Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Evil Dead Reviews

Page 2 of 324
Super Reviewer
½ May 3, 2016
With confident and masterful direction by Fede Alvarez, Evil Dead is the rare remake that actually works thanks to great performances, tons of gore and a great sense of respect for the original work.
May 2, 2016
It was just ok more gross than scary
May 1, 2016
One of the better horror remakes of recent years I guess.
April 28, 2016
Good but very gory had to turn my head a few times.
½ April 27, 2016
One of the best horror films to come out in a very long time and one of the best remade films ever. Its premise is the same, but uses a new idea: terror! It drops the dark humor and goes with terror that is scary as hell. It pays homage to the original without butchering it (pun intended).
½ April 19, 2016
A solid attempt at turning the goofy classic 'The Evil Dead' into a 'proper' modern-day horror flick. It hardly breaks the mold and it certainly offers less than the original but it still succeeds as a film standing on its own ground.

The visual effects are impressive and the film is legitimately gross and captures the glee that you'd expect to see in a violent Demon-possession story. The plot itself is not particularly impressive- it serves as a tribute to the franchise, which makes it a bit dull for those familiar with the originals, and for those unfamiliar, everything just feels quite generic and maybe even a little lazy.

The strong production values and solid budget do enough to stop the film's poor elements from completely drowning it though. It doesn't live up to its name but it doesn't do it any damage either- it's a solid spin-off that (albeit by being a little more generic) distinguishes itself enough from the original to justify existing.

Mostly just worth watching for the visual effects and general grossness of it all.
½ April 9, 2016
Okay, I resisted seeing this for quite some time...until someone said: "Have you actually seen it?" to which I answered "no". And they said "give it the tiniest chance and watch it" and I did. I was blown away. This was a fitting tribute/sequel and love letter of such a much higher caliber than the original. I truly hope they make a sequel, to be forthcoming.
April 1, 2016
1981 version may having been scarey years ago. ..ridiculously, humorous, gross horror movie when watched now.
..1981 version
½ April 1, 2016
Yawn. It does have some jumpy moments and obviously more modern effects than the original but what they have done here is to remake a film which was over-the-top funny and make it quite bland. Will still scare a lot of wusses but only if they are still awake.
½ March 22, 2016
Stellar gore effects are the highlight of an otherwise forgettable trudge through modern-day, desaturated, gritty horror. While Alvarez's Evil Dead may not be the scariest, or most inventive, it still manages to keep itself afloat as a circus of blood-soaked practical effects.
March 13, 2016
Did get a bit wtf am I watching when it reached the finale. It was interesting and I think a successful adaptation since it kept the spirit of the source material and managed to change up enough things that it didn't get boring.
½ March 6, 2016
While it doesn't hold a candle to its superior predecessors, this modern re-imagining doesn't fail to shock or entertain. The absence of zaniness takes away significantly, in my opinion, but it doesn't dishonor the original. It appropriately adapts it to what today's horror audiences want. Also, extra props for only using practical gore effects! It's a lost art that could really use a comeback.
½ March 1, 2016
"brutal terror" dalam satu paket.
½ February 28, 2016
Brutally entertaining.
February 20, 2016
Probably the scariest film I've ever seen!!
½ February 17, 2016
Outrageously gory and devilishly gratifying. Evil Dead is truly everything a modern horror movie should be. Though it may lack the sense-of-humor of Raimi's original classic, it's creepy style and gore-tastic violence is enough to please hardcore horror and Evil Dead fanatics alike.
February 13, 2016
A considerable remake of the 1981 cult classic. This version of The Evil Dead should satisfy any gore hound... In other words this is fresh.
February 13, 2016
Não me identifico muito com filmes de terror, não por medo (só por cagaço) e sim porque acho bastante fracos de enredo e o andamento tende a ser o mesmo em grande parte dos filmes. Mas sabe coméquié né, quarta-feira a tarde, recém chegado de viagem, nada pra fazer - vou me envolver com a fã - então resolvi dar uma chance pro remake de Evil Dead, ou como os brazuca resolveram chamar: A Morte do Demônio. Originalmente dirigido por Sam Raimi, o maluco do Omaranha, Evil Dead conta a história de 5 jovens que resolvem fazer uma viagem muito divertida em uma cabana simpática em meio a uma floresta parecida com aquela da Bruxa de Blair. Apesar da pegada básica, o filme apresenta elementos bem interessantes para compor sua trama principal. No remake de Fede Alvarez, que curiosamente também foi a sua estréia no cinema, Mia (Jane Levy) é uma jovem marcada pelo uso de drogas em decorrência de problemas familiares com a doença de sua mãe e o afastamento de seu irmão. Em uma espécie de rito, Mia viaja com seus amigos para uma velha cabana em que costumava a frequentar quando mais nova, onde ela iria abandonar o vício de uma vez por todas. Seu irmão David (Shiloh Fernandez), acompanhado da namorada figurante (Elizabeth Blackmore), pega a estrada em direção à cabana para que possa dar uma força e se redimir perante a irmã. A cerimônia acontece e David começa a acreditar mais em sua irmã, mas fica abalado quando descobre pela boca dos amigos Eric (Lou Taylor Pucci) e Olivia (Jessica Lucas) que a mesma passagem tinha sido feita outras vezes, e que sua irmã costumava a surtar em menos de 8 horas. Aí depois o bicho pega: eles descobrem que a cabana havia sido invadida e que várias coisas muito obscenas haviam acontecido ali. E em seguida, Eric acha um tipo de bíblia demoníaca, e como todo bom revoltadex faria, lê as passagens em alto e bom som e liberta o tranca-rua. Como eu disse anteriormente, a premissa é bem basicona, mas são em outros aspectos que o filme faz seu nome. O diretor Fede Alvarez se recusou a usar qualquer tipo de artifício tecnológico, efeitos visuais ou photoshop profissional, apelando pra maquiagem pesadíssima na construção do demônio e usando bombas de sangue para auxiliar nos momentos menstruais. Eu sei que foi absurdamente ótima a experiência de ver a mina vomitando sangue na cara da outra enquanto curtia meu almoço de boa. Jane Levy está ótima em seu papel, nos transmitindo a aflição e tensão de uma garota perturbada pelo demônio das drogas. O melhor do filme é não apelar pro humor forçado que os filmes de terror costumam a ter e construir muito bem os diálogos entre os atores. O jogo cinematográfico só colabora com o suspense e o pavor estrutural. Sério, fazia um bom tempo que eu não tomava um susto assistindo um filme de terror, e só isso valeu a experiência como espectador. Evil Dead cumpre muito bem o seu papel e transforma o que tendia a ser um roteiro raso e superficial em algo de larga subjetividade e dilemas morais. Se tu curte uns gore bacana e eu sei que tu curte, pega logo pra ver.
January 26, 2016
A remake/reboot of the 80's cult series which focuses on shock factor rather than the exaggerated and humorous direction the originals took. Plenty of blood and gore but it takes itself too seriously. There is some character development but no more than your standard horror movie. This is probably due to everyone usually getting killed!
January 26, 2016
This is one of the goriest, most fucked-up, entertaining horror films in recent memory thanks to Jane Levy' performance, Fede Alvarez' direction, and Roque Baños' score.
Page 2 of 324