The Expendables - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Expendables Reviews

Page 1 of 11
September 11, 2017
The Expendables is more than just your average action movie; it is the action movie of the year uniting the grittiness and soul of the old genre with the special effects and coolness of the new genre. See it.
Full Review | Original Score: A
August 22, 2017
Trust me, [there's] a scene you need to witness with a crowd that whoops and cheers, which is really what this film demands of its audience throughout.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 9, 2015
Some kind of meatheaded masterpiece, it's cinematic junk food of the highest order.
November 9, 2013
What The Expendables does right is it caters to its fans. It knows exactly what they want and it delivers a a pure, adrenaline-fuelled thrill ride with some great action.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 28, 2012
The action scenes are huge and excessively violent on a scale not seen since the closing scenes of Commando. At one point, in the absence of any buildings to detonate or ammunition depots to destroy, I think I saw an explosion explode.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 15, 2012
the kind of all-out, over the top action movie they just don't make anymore, which is probably a good thing because the human brain can only take a movie that provides the equivalent to getting three consecutive adrenaline shots so many times.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
February 18, 2012
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 7, 2010
Provides a decent, if not totally fulfilling, fix of that something we miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 4, 2010
Certainly not a great film, but an enjoyable slice of surprisingly low-key, classic '80s action filmmaking complete with an awesome cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
December 3, 2010
... a perfectly enjoyable mercenaries-on-a-mission-of-redemption adventure with a mix of testosterone-fueled camaraderie and this-time-it's-personal seriousness.
November 19, 2010
Suitable for a night of cold beer, chili, and a hot woman at your side...
October 22, 2010
The film's climax delivers and delivers and just keeps topping itself, making it possibly the most satisfying experience since cheeseburgers after a very big night.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 28, 2010
It was a walk through 1984 and it was a pretty decent stroll.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 19, 2010
Equal parts self-conscious joke and sly throwback to low-budget action movies of the 1970s, The Expendables works its grindhouse cliches until they work... at least, they work for anyone who fondly remembers the sleaze of yesteryear.
September 12, 2010
Ljubitelji akcije neće biti razočarani količinom "ore" i "ege", uključujući i obavezni zavrni obračun gdje ačica junaka rastura cijelu vojsku negativaca
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
September 4, 2010
How many actions stars does it take to get audiences into theaters? THIS many.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
August 31, 2010
The entertaining action scenes are as weighty and gnarly as the actors' grizzled mugs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 26, 2010
humble, subtle and restrained
| Original Score: 3.5/5
August 26, 2010
What we get is pure, unadulterated B-movie stuff, with an A-budget.
August 25, 2010
The action sequences are terrific, the violence excessive. The guiltiest of guilty pleasures, then.
Page 1 of 11