The Fault In Our Stars Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 10, 2020
Sadly, in Hollywood's hands all the things that made John Green's taut, touching and terrific 2012 novel transcend generation gaps have been jettisoned in favour of a hyperglycaemic tale of two star-crossed (cancer-riddled) teens.
April 30, 2019
It all felt kind of manipulative and corny.
August 21, 2018
The two-hour and five-minute running time of continuous sadness and unending pearls of wisdom made this viewer disconnect from the characters.
November 28, 2017
The problem may be that The Fault in Our Stars is based on a book by John Green; this certainly wouldn't be the first time a strong literary narrative had troubles translating to the screen.
August 24, 2017
The Fault in Our Stars begs us to cry, and that's where it loses its composure.
July 31, 2015
The Fault in the Stars is what my late mother's generation used to call a three-handkerchief
January 6, 2015
This movie can parade its "truth" as much as it likes, but I for one don't buy it.
January 6, 2015
The Fault in Our Stars presents itself as a cooler, calmer, more considered kids-with-cancer film, but remains content with going through the melodramatic motions.
January 6, 2015
The transparent eagerness of this movie to break hearts, through means not entirely justifying that end, always pulled me back, as it did with Love Story 40 years ago. Not buying into a stacked emotional deck means never having to say you're sorry.
January 6, 2015
Do the tears flow? It's hard to stop them but it's a reflex action, triggered by the tragic conjunction of cancer and the young, rather than any sense of kinship with the particular pair you've been watching on screen.
January 6, 2015
The film gets even more sentimental as it strains not to be so.
August 6, 2014
Speaks truth to cancer, only to wade into the puddles of tears it jerks, then bathe there by hyper-eulogizing itself; it even reduces the Anne Frank house to a metaphor for Hazel's struggle and foreplay for the star-crossed lovers' loss of virginity. Ugh.
July 18, 2014
While it may not conform to one's real-life expectations it certainly hews tightly to teen-flick conventions.
June 25, 2014
Moments of pain go unplumbed.
June 20, 2014
The film slowly turns into the kind of manipulative, lachrymose melodrama that Hazel herself professes to detest.
June 19, 2014
It paints itself into a contrived, clich-ridden corner and, to get out of that, paints itself into yet another contrived, clich-ridden corner, until it runs out of corners and becomes the formulaic, sentimental cancer movie you hoped it wouldn't.
June 19, 2014
No matter how emotionally bracing the film gets, there's a sense that punches are being pulled visually.
June 19, 2014
The movie will be the stuff of truth and tragedy for some; for others, crafted schmaltz with an eye on the money.
June 19, 2014
You have to concede the laser-guided accuracy and psychotic vehemence with which it goes for the tear duct. It's like being mugged by a professional whose skills in mixed martial arts you can't help but notice and appreciate ...
June 16, 2014
In the end it can't help but be pulled under by its own undertow of mawkishness.
Page 1 of 3