The Future - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Future Reviews

Page 1 of 6
November 3, 2011
July, who gave us the lovably odd Me and You and Everyone We Know, has layered on so much self-conscious whimsy - monologues from the cat, dialogues with the moon and other dashes of magical realism - that the central drama struggles to be heard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 10, 2013
Miranda July takes the twee and cute thing WAY too far this time
July 24, 2011
A combination of morbid self-absorption and playful quirk, The Future manages to botch both aspects.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 21, 2011
Miranda July's quiet charisma is a kick. But after a promising beginning, The Future falters.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 11, 2011
The writer/director/star is enchanted with herself. I hated the cat.
August 5, 2011
Overly precious poetic examination of a couple's eccentric attempts to evolve their lives will appeal to a rarified few.
August 31, 2011
Miranda July has a way of making 90 minutes of incessant quirk feel like 30 years on a chain gang.
Full Review | Original Score: F
July 29, 2011
A T-shirt creeps around on its own, a little girl likes being buried neck-deep in the backyard. Whatevs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 7, 2011
A talking cat and moon and a restless T-shirt distract from the story, creating what July intends as interesting textures but instead come across as a form of vandalism.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 4, 2011
I find her movies passively amusing, but not particularly deep or memorable.
August 3, 2011
July, with her Chaplin eyes, perhaps knows too well how to play earnest and smart. But "The Future" feels progressively less adorned, even as it grows more magical.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 28, 2011
...a quirky little film with some humorous little touches, but what its author is trying to say is murky and its protagonist engenders no sympathy, in fact the opposite. The cult of July can continue without me.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 9, 2011
Kooky indie experimental film that might have something intelligent to say about leading a weird life, but was such a tiresome watch that it turned me off.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 22, 2013
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 25, 2013
Parece apenas interessado em lançar o meme dos "Lolcatz" como gênero cinematográfico.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 18, 2011
At times - not all the time, just enough to notice - July gets it backward.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 19, 2011
July is a provocative and honorably independent filmmaker, but given the meager rewards of investing our time, "The Future" wasn't worth the wait.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 7, 2011
...the suffocatingly nonsensical atmosphere [ensures] that even July's fans will be left scratching their heads on an progressively frequent basis.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 11, 2011
There are moments of clever invention and wry humor throughout the film, but Sophie and Jason are more insufferable by several degrees than anyone in "Me and You," which was far more grounded in recognizable human experience.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 20, 2011
Nobody but July could have made a film so defiantly insufferable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 6