The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Reviews

Page 1 of 321
July 31, 2016
Una de mis favoritas
July 25, 2016
This was good. Didn't care for the next two but this is an instant classic.
July 14, 2016
Before I read the book, I had considered watching the movies. I am still considering to watching the movies sometime.
July 8, 2016
Thoroughly tense with believable characters and great performances
July 2, 2016
An amazing series. Better than the American one.
½ May 19, 2016
A near flawless mystery thriller that holds your attention the whole way through, and only succumbs to one or two genre clichés.
May 6, 2016
I gave "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo", the book, four stars - but the movie was even better (which is rare). Moreover, I preferred the Swedish version over the American - the characters just seemed more real. Never a dull moment in this film, and it is very dark - it will get your adrenaline pumping!
March 15, 2016
Fantastic thriller that truly does justice to Stieg Larsson's book, with brilliant performances from Noomi Rapace and Michael Nyqvist. Can't wait to see the rest of the trilogy, catch these great Swedish films before Hollywood remakes, and inevitably ruins it.
March 5, 2016
I am surprised by how much I enjoyed this film. The book I found a little pretentious, in desperate need of some editing, slow and overlong, and with a slightly unhealthy hero-worshipping of Blomkvist going on. It also needed to lose those last 50 pages. The film, while extremely close to the book, manages to cut out the boring parts, so in that sense it is an excellent adaptation. Mikael is slightly too expressionless but does a decent job of making the main character more human. But the one I really fell in love with was Noomi Rapace as Lisbeth Salander. I had trouble connecting with Lisbeth so well in the book. Noomi really brought her to life and inhabited the character completely. I understand at last why the Lisbeth Salander character has become so popular ! She is what makes this movie go from fair to actually good. It is thanks to her that I want to watch the other movies even though their ratings aren't quite as good.
½ February 13, 2016
Very gripping thriller with some very strong, at times hard to watch scenes. I would've preferred all the stories wrapped up better than they did.
January 11, 2016
The ending is not the best part.
December 21, 2015
More accurate take on the novel than the American version, though equally constrained by the source material.
½ December 21, 2015
Watching this made me angry enough to write this review: Disaster! - we have a frame story about an arms dealer being investigated. Then the journalist sentenced to prison gets 6 months off to investigate the real story - is a girl dead or missing? Then we get a huge clichéd mystery about Nazi psycopathic serial killers - father and son share this 'hobby', would you believe! Meanwhile every year the girl who is only missing has been sending framed flowers to her uncle (or is it father, I can't remember?) to let him know she's OK, and he's been misconstruing them to mean it's her killer taunting him. SHE NEVER ONCE IN 40 YEARS SENT A NOTE?! Rapace's character was raped by her father/stepfather and burns him alive in a car while still a child. Later on she also lets the Nazi son/rapist burn alive in a car. But when she is raped by her probationist she merely blackmails him. At the end the arms-dealing story is wrapped up too neatly (as if it were more important than the Nazi story) in a final scene that is probably meant to remind us of the final scene in Silence of the Lambs, but reminds me more of Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. It has been pointed out that Silence of the Lambs is just a form of fantasy porno, and if you watch a documentary on Broadmoor hospital, the most common type of prisoner (deemed fit to be interviewed at least) is the arsonist. Rapace's character would be seriously disturbed in reality. Add to this that her sexuality is kept fluid merely for erotic interest and you have something that is even shallower pornographic fantasy than Silence of the Lambs. Rarely is a missed opportunity this tragically bungled - there's much about the technique that's brilliant; it's just that the story is the worst kind of mindless pot-boiler crap. And the two sequels are deemed even worse than this by the professional critics. I look forward to watching them to see how bad they are!
December 17, 2015
The first half was way too slow and uninteresting, and full of too much brutality towards women. It is tiresome. The second half picks up when the two main characters finally share scenes together and the mystery becomes more interesting. It wasn't perfect, but Noomi Rapace was fantastic and it made me interested to see more.
Super Reviewer
½ November 27, 2015
The highest-grossing European production in 2009, this intense Swedish thriller is both an interesting investigation drama and a terrifying sexual abuse story - and Naoomi Rapace's magnetic performance makes it certainly worth seeing.
½ November 6, 2015
This is a stunning version of the novel with the (sexual) violence portrayed without sensationalism or soft focus which makes it all the more shocking.
The acting is consistently great and this film about the little girl and woman who fights back defines what has made Scandinavian thrillers so popular.
If you have only seen the US remake (itself very good) you should see the original.
November 1, 2015
As Simon Maraudo said, "It's unencumbered by personality or finesse." The characters don't seem to know why they're on this quest, and fail to make me care. I stuck it out because of the good reviews, but was bored the whole time. It's a run-of-the-mill murder mystery, just with extra misogyny and brutality. Is that what got critics' attention?
½ October 18, 2015
Great adaptation. Fantastic
½ October 6, 2015
You can tell when a movie is good when you just read the book and the movie is still very engaging and entertaining.
September 17, 2015
This is the version I recommend watching; although the american remake is acceptable. Rapace is a great actress and overall it's filled with thrilling content.
Page 1 of 321