The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Reviews

Page 1 of 321
July 31, 2017
The punk rocker female lead and the plot is AWESOME!!
May 8, 2017
Best of the series and far better than US version
April 14, 2017
This Swedish original captures the book really well. Noomi Rapace is stunning as Lisbeth and Michael Nyqvist is great. There is also an advantage in seeing it as a Swedish film.
April 5, 2017
Atuações boas (Noomi Rapace ?), roteiro amarradinho, plot twist inesperado

5/5 com palminhas de pé!
February 16, 2017
This will be very enjoyable assuming you haven't seen the American remake. They are both exceptional movies in my opinion but both actresses portray Lizbeth so incredibly that whichever one you see first will just be Lizbeth Salander in your mind and it will be hard to swallow someone else in the role.
January 30, 2017
The Scandinavian original, shown recently on TV. Eleanor winced at the violence which is fairly gruelling but not gratuitous. It's a very clever wee thriller - not our usual fare, but well produced and satisfying in its plot development. Quite implausible in retrospect of course, but well enough produced that disbelief is suspended. A good Saturday night movie.

We just watched this again, followed by 'The Girl Who Played with Fire' and 'The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest'. The first is the best, and stands alone; but the other two are effective too, and again there are plot faults and oodles of violence. Noomi Rapace is excellent: one can see the genesis of Saga Noren in 'The Bridge' in her perfomance, and the trilogy is an early taster for the whole Scandi Noir phenomenon.
January 29, 2017
Can't I edit my reviews? This trilogy is utterly preposterous junk, but it is not impossible to get into it for the fun of it, as long as you don't take any of it seriously. It's like James Bond meets Silence of the Lambs meets Germaine Greer as portrayed by South Park. [old review follows:] Watching this made me angry enough to write this review: Disaster! - we have a frame story about an arms dealer being investigated. Then the journalist sentenced to prison gets 6 months off to investigate the real story - is a girl dead or missing? Then we get a huge clichéd mystery about Nazi psycopathic serial killers - father and son share this 'hobby', would you believe! Meanwhile every year the girl who is only missing has been sending framed flowers to her uncle (or is it father, I can't remember?) to let him know she's OK, and he's been misconstruing them to mean it's her killer taunting him. SHE NEVER ONCE IN 40 YEARS SENT A NOTE?! Rapace's character was raped by her father/stepfather and burns him alive in a car while still a child. Later on she also lets the Nazi son/rapist burn alive in a car. But when she is raped by her probationist she merely blackmails him. At the end the arms-dealing story is wrapped up too neatly (as if it were more important than the Nazi story) in a final scene that is probably meant to remind us of the final scene in Silence of the Lambs, but reminds me more of Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. It has been pointed out that Silence of the Lambs is just a form of fantasy porno, and if you watch a documentary on Broadmoor hospital, the most common type of prisoner (deemed fit to be interviewed at least) is the arsonist. Rapace's character would be seriously disturbed in reality. Add to this that her sexuality is kept fluid merely for erotic interest and you have something that is even shallower pornographic fantasy than Silence of the Lambs. Rarely is a missed opportunity this tragically bungled - there's much about the technique that's brilliant; it's just that the story is the worst kind of mindless pot-boiler crap.
½ December 21, 2016
While the American remake is a very good film in its own right, Sweden's GWTDT is the superior version in my opinion. Rapace's portrayal of Salander edges Rooney Mara's, and Nyqvist holds his own as Blomkvist. Even darker than its American counterpart, the film's extended runtime is a strength as it helps flesh out the plot more.
November 5, 2016
Great casting and acting by all involved. Excellent direction. So good, I don't know why they bothered remaking it in the U.S. (I mean, I know why they did it, of course, but within a vacuum it's so unneeded, even though Fincher's is great, too).
½ October 17, 2016
Based on a best seller, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is another piece or art that makes its treacherous journey from the paper it was born on, to the silver screen. Donning the mantle of trying to do it justice are Daniel Craig, of Bond fame, and Rooney Mara who starred in The Social Network and Nightmare on Elm Street. Her striking transformation leaves an indelible mark in the viewers mind and is only surpassed by her performance of a badass, tech genius with social deficiencies. Craig on the other hand is anything but Bond like and successfully does his bit not to be pigeonholed as an Action-Man. Instead, he parades his acting chops and demands to be recognised for his ability.

David Fincher, the director who brought us memorable films such as Se7en, Fight Club and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button is clearly capable at the helm of Stieg Larsson's masterpiece. Fincher gently steers the audience down two parallel winding paths where the travellers are spiralling in their own lives only to meet at a crucial junction. Before you know it, you're hooked and are unable to turn away. Under the surface of the mystery, David gives you haunting glimpses in to the disturbing and nauseating primal nature of man, which is brutal in its reality.

In a genre riddled with predictability and well-travelled twists and turns, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo is a refreshing breath of fresh air. Both Craig and especially, Mara only enhance Fincher's vision further with notable performances.
October 13, 2016
I love this movie, is a modern classic, Noomi is wonderful.The best Lisbeth
October 9, 2016
I first watched the American (Fincher) adaptation about two years ago because it was going for cheap on Blu-Ray. Fincher is a competent director, but I wasn't overly impressed with that film. From what I remember (and it was all a bit forgettable come to think of it), it was all a bit vague, plodding, and disconnected - especially with regards to character and story development.

So, having recently spotted the Swedish version super cheap on Blu Ray, I naturally snapped it up and gave it a watch. I was surprised at how much better the Swedish version is in every single way. The story and characters are more engaging - the mystery of the crime itself is better told, and the characters are better portrayed, and this time around I actually felt a genuine bond between the two main leads, Lisbeth and Mickael.

This version also better depicts them tackling the crime together as a joint effort and team, and both Lisbeth and Mickael are fleshed out in more detail with their own personal problems.

In Fincher's version, Lisbeth is too cold, distant, and detached. In this version she is certainly odd, troubled, and somewhat disturbed, but she is also more warm and sympathetic. Likewise, I found Daniel Craig's Mickael to be a deadbeat nonentity who I almost couldn't care much about, but the Swedish Mickael is more spirited and likeable as a once respected journalist whose reputation and integrity appeared to have been compromised and future as a reporter in tatters.

I have not read the novel upon with both films are based, so I cannot say which one, if either, adheres more faithfully to the source material. What I can say is that if you not seen either version of the films, choose the Swedish version as it's incomparably superior to the American version in every single respect. 5/5
July 31, 2016
Una de mis favoritas
July 25, 2016
This was good. Didn't care for the next two but this is an instant classic.
July 14, 2016
Before I read the book, I had considered watching the movies. I am still considering to watching the movies sometime.
July 8, 2016
Thoroughly tense with believable characters and great performances
July 2, 2016
An amazing series. Better than the American one.
½ May 19, 2016
A near flawless mystery thriller that holds your attention the whole way through, and only succumbs to one or two genre clichés.
May 6, 2016
I gave "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo", the book, four stars - but the movie was even better (which is rare). Moreover, I preferred the Swedish version over the American - the characters just seemed more real. Never a dull moment in this film, and it is very dark - it will get your adrenaline pumping!
March 15, 2016
Fantastic thriller that truly does justice to Stieg Larsson's book, with brilliant performances from Noomi Rapace and Michael Nyqvist. Can't wait to see the rest of the trilogy, catch these great Swedish films before Hollywood remakes, and inevitably ruins it.
Page 1 of 321