The Goldfinch Reviews

Page 1 of 3
December 23, 2019
If you are one of the many people who read the novel by Donna Tartt, however, this maligned, handsome film is more than worth watching.
November 16, 2019
Within the odd missteps, I find myself moved by the full-mouth, open-hearted yearning for hope and forgiveness that The Goldfinch espouses.
October 5, 2019
Whether or not you've read the book, the film of The Goldfinch is definitely worth a look; it's no masterpiece but it's a whole heap better than many of the studio-made American films released so far this year.
October 2, 2019
I wanted this film to fill all the chambers of my heart but accepting the fact it does not and embracing these wonderful characters and rich story all over again, it still delivered me much nourishment...
October 2, 2019
In adapting it for the screen, [John] Crowley seems to have viewed the novel through the same adoring eyes with which Theo gazes upon the painting. But in the process, he has robbed the story of all its marks of life.
September 30, 2019
...yet there's much here to enjoy, from Fegley, Kidman, Wilson and Wolfhard's performances, to the staging of the terrorist act that sets the story in motion, to the impressive depiction of the completely arbitrary nature of this life.
September 27, 2019
[It] comes from a sincere place of exploring the deepest caverns of trauma and the unavoidable ugliness of being alive. The execution is far from perfect, but I think there's something to admire in the film's grandeur and ambition.
September 27, 2019
The images of the movie are equally dense in texture and tone, but a lot more coherent in their construction thanks to the work of the legendary cinematographer Roger Deakins. [Full Review in Spanish]
September 25, 2019
There are many pleasures in The Goldfinch... but it never quite becomes the sum of its beautiful, languid parts.
September 24, 2019
The Goldfinch as a representation of his mother that must survive no matter what becomes visible, but the denouement proves flippant about the violence [endured as a result].
September 23, 2019
Thoughtful viewers looking for a mature, refined drama should seek out this compelling narrative of grief, guilt, regret, and redemption.
September 22, 2019
The first 90 minutes of this 150-minute movie are for the most part involving and handsomely mounted, but the film implodes in the final hour.
September 21, 2019
Deakins' work here is some of his finest, it's almost as if every frame is a painting.
September 20, 2019
I enjoyed where scenes take place [.] Every setting belongs. Every character is believable. Theo's turmoil, as both a child and young adult, from crushing loss to his learning shocking truths, is palpable.
September 20, 2019
The film is way too long for its own good and perennially gloomy. Thankfully, the cinematography by Roger Deakins manages to highlight the dark undertones of despair and anguish in almost every frame.
September 18, 2019
A complex story told by adding layer after layer. It is not easy entertainment. You must pay complete attention from beginning to end. But overall it does deliver a comprehensive story that is mostly well told.
September 17, 2019
The Goldfinch is perfect for people like me who haven't read the book, enjoy John Crowley movies, and don't need big stars. I think there are seven of us.
September 16, 2019
The Goldfinch boasts a number of noteworthy performances... but unless one comes in predisposed to invest, it's neither a moving dramatic experience nor a satisfying thriller.
September 16, 2019
Despite flaws, the movie intelligently captures the novel's intertwining themes...
September 16, 2019
The Goldfinch succeeds with Roger Deakins' always incredible cinematography and strong performances from Ansel Elgort, Nicole Kidman and Finn Wolfhard.
Page 1 of 3