The Grand Budapest Hotel Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 31, 2019
I didn't find it amusing, and while I can appreciate the creativity, it's an hour and 40 minutes I wish I could take back.
August 31, 2018
Like a beautiful stacking petruschka doll - open up another and another of its layers until you reach an empty center.
February 22, 2018
The theme seems to be a kind of late-Edwardian Euro whimsy along Wodehousian lines... except that Wodehouse was really funny, and Anderson really isn't.
September 12, 2017
[Wes Anderson's] nostalgia, like his set design, is so contrived that I don't believe he really believes in it as anything other than a visual style. The Grand Budapest Hotel is a perfect miniature world, but it left me cold.
June 16, 2016
Wes Anderson makes great kid movies. He had me at 'Moonrise Kingdom' and 'Fantastic Mr. Fox.' Grown-up movie-wise, Wes's weird world makes this reviewer weary.
February 26, 2016
I can't claim Anderson doesn't have a certain power as a filmmaker. But after watching The Grand Budapest Hotel, it seems clear he doesn't use his power for good.
January 2, 2015
I like Anderson when he's making movies about childhood -- "Rushmore," or "Fantastic Mr. Fox" -- but when he ventures into the realm of adulthood, he seems out of his jurisdiction.
July 5, 2014
Hundreds of precious little moments but not much beyond extravagant artifice to sink your teeth into.
May 21, 2014
Anderson's film looks good enough to eat; swallowing it is another matter.
April 21, 2014
A typically witless comedy from Wes Anderson that has about as much to do with Stefan Zweig as it does with WWII and Nazism, the disasters that led to Zweig's suicide in 1942. A total travesty.
April 10, 2014
swallowed whole by the grey beast solipsism.
March 19, 2014
I'm bothered when an overabundance of surface effects covers up a ringingly hollow purpose, containing very little except authorial will.
March 14, 2014
All the cutesiness in the world can't really make what was beginning to happen in 1930s Europe remotely charming, as Anderson seems to want to do.
March 13, 2014
[Anderson's pictures are] comical without actually being funny, inventive without being freely playful, momentous without being dramatic. The emotional oxygen that would ignite them gets smothered in self-conscious cleverness.
March 10, 2014
There is no space in The Grand Budapest Hotel. No vacancy. It is absolutely stuffed with plot points. There is no room to breathe, no room for a joke to settle (or even register) before Anderson has shuttled us off somewhere else.
March 7, 2014
What smothers the comedy is the palpable effort that goes into each set piece or joke. The whimsical tone grows wearisome when the gags fall flat.
March 6, 2014
The ornamental riches queue up: production design, star cast, pastiche stylings of gesture, costume, dialogue in a story set in Belle Époque Central Europe. But not a sustaining calorie, narrative or dramatic, in sight.
March 6, 2014
There are hints that Fiennes has it in him to portray a worthwhile human being here -- tender, smart, impulsive, humane, and witty -- but this potential is smothered by Anderson's chronic preference for guest stars and demented art direction.
March 6, 2014
Divine pastries, divine clothes, divine period trappings, but, as with most of Anderson's films, I was never moved or understood what mattered, if any of it mattered. I'm even forgetting it as I'm remembering it, as if it had been no more than a dream.
March 6, 2014
True enchantment will elude those, like me, who remain impervious to Anderson's affected style and whimsical humour.
Page 1 of 2