The Great Beauty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Great Beauty Reviews

Page 1 of 6
March 6, 2018
I'd like to say there was a plot, only there isn't: it is simply a baroque and beautiful reflection of a five-decade romance with Rome.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 12, 2017
... a nostalgic journey - fantastic and surreal... [Full review in Spanish]
November 22, 2017
The Great Beauty is an alleged condemnation of the decadence of Rome and its high society, but inasmuch as it approaches coherence at all.
October 25, 2017
Funny and sad, poignant and profound, elegant and elegiac, ambitious and ambiguous, The Great Beauty is one of the most utterly enjoyable movies I've seen in years.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 5, 2017
Sorrentino's heady, vivid yet wearily melancholic musing on midlife crisis submerges you in sumptuousness until you emerge, blinking, as if from some impossibly glamorous party.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 12, 2015
A richly symbolic meditation on aging, mortality and precious time wasted.
October 1, 2014
Sometimes too overblown, surreal and obtuse for its own good, director Paolo Sorrentino's film is nonetheless an exquisitely composed portrait of vapidity and decline.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 13, 2014
Exceptional, mature film dazzles, offers haunting insights.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 4, 2014
"The Great Beauty" is a great romance: a man and a city and a love that cannot be consummated but which will consume you surely. Somewhere, Baz Luhrmann weeps.
March 27, 2014
If it sounds a bit ponderous, well, maybe it is, but it's also smart, warm-hearted and sumptuously shot.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 10, 2014
'The Great Beauty' is certainly striking, but too often what it's striking are poses.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 5, 2014
It's La Dolce Vita for the 21st century, of course. But, more than that, it's the rare work that not only tips its hat to a masterpiece but sort of shockingly tops it.
March 4, 2014
A mysterious, sensual prism through which to view our own shortcomings and longings.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 2, 2014
The Great Beauty boils over with shapeless disdain, aimed everywhere but where it should be
Full Review | Original Score: D
March 2, 2014
As a parody of Italian cinema, it's tedious. Except we're supposed to be taking this seriously. As if.
February 22, 2014
I don't know that I've ever seen a film in which the visual glory on the screen was so at odds with the philosophy evident in the screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 21, 2014
The Great Beauty (or, more wonderfully, La Grande Bellezza) is a memory play, a meditation on life, a celebration of the incidentals that make it joyous and more.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 21, 2014
Ah, to be wealthy, gorgeous and dead inside in Rome!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 17, 2014
For those of us who spend most of our time still dealing with rent and health care, it is a two-hour journey into ideas and emotions we only wish there were time to consider. That's a reason to go to the movies.
February 13, 2014
The Great Beauty will become one of those movies that will be discussed over and over again in future college courses.
Read More | Original Score: A-
Page 1 of 6