The Great Beauty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Great Beauty Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Sean Burns
Philadelphia City Paper
May 12, 2015
A richly symbolic meditation on aging, mortality and precious time wasted.
Lewis Beale
News & Observer (Raleigh, NC)
October 1, 2014
Sometimes too overblown, surreal and obtuse for its own good, director Paolo Sorrentino's film is nonetheless an exquisitely composed portrait of vapidity and decline.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Renee Schonfeld
Common Sense Media
May 13, 2014
Exceptional, mature film dazzles, offers haunting insights.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Ray Pride
Newcity
April 4, 2014
"The Great Beauty" is a great romance: a man and a city and a love that cannot be consummated but which will consume you surely. Somewhere, Baz Luhrmann weeps.
Matt Glasby
Flicks.co.nz
March 27, 2014
If it sounds a bit ponderous, well, maybe it is, but it's also smart, warm-hearted and sumptuously shot.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
March 10, 2014
'The Great Beauty' is certainly striking, but too often what it's striking are poses.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Rick Kisonak
Seven Days
March 5, 2014
It's La Dolce Vita for the 21st century, of course. But, more than that, it's the rare work that not only tips its hat to a masterpiece but sort of shockingly tops it.
Cameron Meier
Orlando Weekly
March 4, 2014
A mysterious, sensual prism through which to view our own shortcomings and longings.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jake Cole
Movie Mezzanine
March 2, 2014
The Great Beauty boils over with shapeless disdain, aimed everywhere but where it should be
Full Review | Original Score: D
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
March 2, 2014
As a parody of Italian cinema, it's tedious. Except we're supposed to be taking this seriously. As if.
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
February 22, 2014
I don't know that I've ever seen a film in which the visual glory on the screen was so at odds with the philosophy evident in the screenplay.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Jay Stone
Canada.com
February 21, 2014
The Great Beauty (or, more wonderfully, La Grande Bellezza) is a memory play, a meditation on life, a celebration of the incidentals that make it joyous and more.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Rob Thomas
Madison Movie
February 21, 2014
Ah, to be wealthy, gorgeous and dead inside in Rome!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Michael Wade Simpson
culturevulture.net
February 17, 2014
For those of us who spend most of our time still dealing with rent and health care, it is a two-hour journey into ideas and emotions we only wish there were time to consider. That's a reason to go to the movies.
Charles Ealy
Austin American-Statesman
February 13, 2014
The Great Beauty will become one of those movies that will be discussed over and over again in future college courses.
| Original Score: A-
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
February 13, 2014
Wild set-pieces and rueful observations are the stock in trade of this Italian film by one of the modern masters of cinema, Paolo Sorrentino.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
February 9, 2014
2 hours and 20 minutes of my life that I'll never get back.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Chris Barsanti
PopMatters
February 8, 2014
There's little to discover in Paolo Sorrentino's satiric vision of Rome, except perhaps, that some cities just look better than others while entertaining themselves to hell.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Sarah Ward
FILMINK (Australia)
February 7, 2014
Sorrentino's film may flit between vignettes of extravagance and eccentricity, but more is always toiling underneath.
Nathalie Atkinson
National Post
February 6, 2014
With inevitable debt to Fellini, Sorrentino's nods as reverential as they are wry.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 6