The Great Beauty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Great Beauty Reviews

Page 1 of 7
November 22, 2017
The Great Beauty is an alleged condemnation of the decadence of Rome and its high society, but inasmuch as it approaches coherence at all.
March 2, 2014
The Great Beauty boils over with shapeless disdain, aimed everywhere but where it should be
Full Review | Original Score: D
February 9, 2014
2 hours and 20 minutes of my life that I'll never get back.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
November 10, 2013
Paolo Sorrentino's film is really just a huge turn-on that has the bad manners to go sour, succumbing to its own self-delusions of moral/political grandeur.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 8, 2014
There's little to discover in Paolo Sorrentino's satiric vision of Rome, except perhaps, that some cities just look better than others while entertaining themselves to hell.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
January 25, 2014
For all its high-brow posturing, this film is tedious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 2, 2014
As a parody of Italian cinema, it's tedious. Except we're supposed to be taking this seriously. As if.
September 5, 2013
It's Fellini in Vegas.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 6, 2013
The city looks good enough to dive into. If only the humans in the frame weren't so shallow.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 22, 2013
The melancholy in this film is just as trumped up as the frenzy.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 29, 2013
Paolo Sorrentino's overwrought, Felliniesque opus ...
February 16, 2018
Unfortunately, it seems to expect the audience to find it a revelation that all-night partying often conceals an underlying sadness.
August 28, 2018
It's just a life, full of strangeness and beauty, abounding with some things and lacking others.
August 7, 2018
Ranges from acidic to surprisingly thought-provoking, disturbing, and nuanced.
March 6, 2018
I'd like to say there was a plot, only there isn't: it is simply a baroque and beautiful reflection of a five-decade romance with Rome.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 12, 2017
... a nostalgic journey - fantastic and surreal... [Full review in Spanish]
October 25, 2017
Funny and sad, poignant and profound, elegant and elegiac, ambitious and ambiguous, The Great Beauty is one of the most utterly enjoyable movies I've seen in years.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 30, 2014
Sorrentino has managed to build a loving and distinctive work on the foundation of an indolent, often self-loathing social strata.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
November 12, 2013
In blatant reference to La dolce vita, The Great Beauty is an apt if lazily postmodern response to Fellini's question: how can we convert nihilism from an existential plague into a decent way of life?
February 6, 2014
With inevitable debt to Fellini, Sorrentino's nods as reverential as they are wry.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 7