The Grey Zone - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Grey Zone Reviews

Page 1 of 14
February 21, 2017
Pretty good movie of what some of the Jews wen t through to try to stay a live longer in the camp.
September 25, 2016
A true story from Birkenau acted out in American. It is rather strange how similar this film is to Son of Saul. I can only think that the people who voted it best foreign film, were not aware of this otherwise they would probably call it a rip off. It blatantly is.
July 31, 2016
Based almost exactly on a surviving doctor from Auschwitz. Read the book 'Auschwitz' first and enjoy the movie even more.
March 25, 2016
Very grim, but this kind of film is necessary, lest we forget.
March 22, 2016
An extremely violent and disturbing film - one that will haunt you and linger in your mind long after the film is over.
March 20, 2016
Horrifying. Just like the holocaust was horrifying.
October 5, 2015
If you want to get an idea of what happened in Auschwitz, this film will do that in a way that no other film has done. One of the things that the film transmits clearly is the industrial nature of the killings. The sounds of the crema are haunting. The sound of the ovens, the sounds of the ventilators, the sounds of the dying masses of people. You will never forget this film. And isn't that part of it's purpose... that we never ever forget.
June 15, 2015
I've seen many films about the holocaust, but "The Grey Zone" shows a different side of this tragedy. It deals with many ethical issues, not about the Nazis and their well known policy of massive exterminate , but about the hope of surviving and live one more day. These Jews that work for the Nazis helping to prepare their people for the gas chambers and then pushing their corpses for the crematorium just for obtain some privileges and four more months of live, but in the end they all will be dead, as the girl that is rescued after surviving the gas chamber, and the decision to save her jeopardizes the uprising, only to be shot in the final scene. Special mention for the dialogues, they sound like knives.
½ April 17, 2015
Dark and horrifying, while invoking visceral feelings of dread and despair, this movie is one that makes you think. It provides a window into the Nazi past and a glimpse at the situation faced by the Sonderkommando...this movie raises questions of morality and the balance between personal beliefs, the need to do the right thing, and the need for survival. I think the only thing that detracted from it for me was the American accents, which diminished from the realism of the film.
December 30, 2014
A dark film that shows the horror of the holocaust and the meaning of being human. One of the best holocaust film and film ever saw
September 30, 2014
A play then a film. It's theatrical sounds and rhythms create distance from the horror. Otherwise, it might not be watchable. But of course this should be mandatory viewing, especially when the Holocaust has been so reduced lately, so lightened by such films as the recent German TV series, Generation War. And as ready as one might be to give up on it, it's worth staying through to the end, if only to hear the last monologue.
Super Reviewer
½ September 27, 2014
Bleak, sorrowful, and visceral in its depictions, The Grey Zone is a holocaust film that seeks to transport you to the minute-by-minute tragedies of the Nazi concentration camp. The film follows a group of prisons in an Auschwitz camp who, by their efforts to help with the body disposal, are given special privileges, leaving them feeling guilty. An opportunity for defiance finds the group, as they plot to destroy the dreaded incinerators.

The film is unique from the standpoint that it is told in an almost clinical way, with fast dialogue, quick action, and no real time for pondering. It's almost reminiscent of a Steven Soderbergh film with its heightened sense of realism. This helps to distinguish itself from what some might consider 'misery porn', and forces the viewer to confront the realities of what is unfolding much in the way that the victims themselves had to, where the luxuries of after the fact pondering don't exist. This is bolstered by good overall performances, and crisp direction which keeps the film immersive. The problem, however, is that the film's clinical nature gave way to a sort of emotional disconnect. There is no one to really identify with, and the moments of horror are so fast as to have an almost blunted feel. Thus, the film never fully achieves the resonance that it wants, lacking a real emotional core.

An overall strong, and uniquely conceived film

3.5/5 Stars
½ August 23, 2014
With its gritty and realistic depiction of life in a concentration camp, this movie puts some other Holocaust movies to shame. Unfortunately it suffers somewhat from strange casting choices, and the choppy final act, missing the potential to create the emotional impact that would make this movie truly great.
Super Reviewer
½ December 9, 2013
I'm sorry, but I have a real hard time watching movies that are based in other countries, and the people do not even have accents. The guards did, but not the prisoners. It was as if they all were American prisoners. I have seen soooo many outstanding Holocaust films. This one not included...
November 27, 2013
My Favorite Film Is 1941's Citizen Kane.
September 27, 2013
This felt distractingly disjointed; the dialogue was very abrupt. The battle scene was very well done however.
September 25, 2013
If you have seen Shoah, you know how this movie will end. But knowing is not the same thing as wanting, and I watched this entire movie, rapt at the thought that this time it might be different. Of course, it isn't, and, as Ebert notes, this is one of only a couple of holocaust movies that doesn't have some kind of happy or at least hopeful ending.

I'm not sure if I agree with Ebert's assessment that this is "great" though. For one thing, Keitel's accent is offputting. I see why it is there (to separate him linguistically from the Hungarians), but it's still annoying. And there are some odd tonal jumps that did not entirely work for me.

Regardless, it is at least very good, well worth seeing. It is an interesting counterpoint to The Pianist, which was released in the same year (2002) in the US.
April 5, 2013
True story!!! this movie really shows you the visual of world war II in a different way......THUMBS UP!

I felt so bad after visiting the Auschwitz concentration camp. :(
½ April 2, 2013
Saw this for my Social Science class....bored to death. The director did a poor job (I know this is a 2001 movie, but I have seen better directed and guided actors in that year). The score...is missing almost ALL the movie (a few scenes have music...). The editing is awful (in 2001 other movies have better editing and camera angles, no excuse). Why many adults love this movie? Don't go with the excuse of it was our era, our time, we lived that...bla, bla, bla. Honestly, even the actor I recognized on the film did an ok job...and he has done better before 2001 and after 2001. Enjoy and HASTA LA PROXIMA! - April 2, 2013.
½ December 15, 2012
Gloomy, dark, strong, real.
Page 1 of 14