The Guardian Reviews

Page 1 of 8
November 6, 2019
When I left the theater, it was with not only newfound knowledge and respect for the men and women of our Coast Guard, but with a wave of excitement from the sheer excellence and entertainment of the film.
November 3, 2018
As tiresome as it is drawn out.
March 22, 2011
There's nothing particularly wrong with it, it's just very tedious. Originality doesn't seem to be important and maybe it doesn't have to be as The Guardian is dealing with something true but what that something is the filmmakers seem to know.
February 9, 2011
April 25, 2009
"The Guardian" is a pro-military propaganda movie from Hollywood that attempts to mask its agenda behind the life-saving rhetoric of Coast Guard rescue swimmers.
November 20, 2008
December 7, 2007
There is a breadth of quality about the acting, including a fine performance from Sela Ward as Ben's estranged wife - making a lot more of her role than her meagre scripting suggests.
September 16, 2007
Overly bloated action drama that is predictable and drawn out.
March 24, 2007
Will definitely rescue some moviegoers from the post-summer doldrums, but someone should have told Davis that there's going to be casualities if he leaves audiences in the water that long.
March 15, 2007
The Guardian isn't as boring as Annapolis and SWAT, but it's still a feature-length training montage about kids learning the importance of taking it to the limit.
March 10, 2007
...an old-fashioned, irresistibly earnest piece of work...
March 1, 2007
A well-judged performance by Kevin Costner brings drama to this actioner.
February 19, 2007
I'd have given it an A-. But it goes on & on, off the deep end into the even hokier. But since it choked me up earlier on, I'm calling it a weak B .
January 20, 2007
The Guardian is an ordinary movie about extraordinary people.
November 24, 2006
This character-driven drama about redemption feels fresh, mostly due to good storytelling and two fine lead performances
November 24, 2006
a drama that's sometimes as generic as its title... (but)when they're not being forced to snarl at each other, Costner and Kutcher make a likable team...
November 13, 2006
full review in Greek
October 18, 2006
The film certainly comes across like a paid Coast Guard advertisement at times.
October 15, 2006
October 14, 2006
Costner's actually pretty good in the role which could, at a pinch, be seen as a metaphor for getting too old for action-based parts and having to move over for younger, prettier models.
Page 1 of 8