The Guardian Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 6, 2019
When I left the theater, it was with not only newfound knowledge and respect for the men and women of our Coast Guard, but with a wave of excitement from the sheer excellence and entertainment of the film.
December 7, 2007
There is a breadth of quality about the acting, including a fine performance from Sela Ward as Ben's estranged wife - making a lot more of her role than her meagre scripting suggests.
March 10, 2007
...an old-fashioned, irresistibly earnest piece of work...
March 1, 2007
A well-judged performance by Kevin Costner brings drama to this actioner.
February 19, 2007
I'd have given it an A-. But it goes on & on, off the deep end into the even hokier. But since it choked me up earlier on, I'm calling it a weak B .
November 24, 2006
This character-driven drama about redemption feels fresh, mostly due to good storytelling and two fine lead performances
October 15, 2006
October 13, 2006
... with Kevin Costner splashing about in this An Officer and a Gentleman-meets Top Gun-meets the Coast Guard plot, the sea of clichés is mostly palatable.
October 9, 2006
The story doesn't offer anything new, but [director Andrew] Davis tells it with conviction ... and sometimes that's enough.
October 8, 2006
October 4, 2006
Performances are excellent -- especially from Kutcher -- [b]ut Ron L. Brinkerhoff's script is hackneyed, derivative and absurdly overlong.
October 4, 2006
It has a noble spirit, sorely lacking in most movies. This film is about people who would lay down their lives to save complete strangers.
October 4, 2006
Cliché plot but great action, and Costner and Kutcher are worthy of a look.
October 2, 2006
Costner comes through swimmingly.
October 1, 2006
An unforgettable motion picture experience that dives right into the heart and soul of a true hero.
September 29, 2006
Kutcher and Costner have a kind of visual chemistry that's just as elusive as the other kind. And the connection and contrast between them remind us that Hollywood isn't as forgiving of older male actors as we like to think.
September 29, 2006
...may be textbook and go overboard with its attempt at supernatural myth-making, but Davis has grounded his film with enough unheralded heroics to make it work.
September 29, 2006
Little about The Guardian will surprise anyone from one scene to the next, though the ride is hardly unpleasant and the story is generous in scope.
September 29, 2006
It is surprising to find quite a good Coast Guard movie. But then, it's surprising to find any Coast Guard movie.
September 29, 2006
[An] action-packed, water-drenched, crowd-pleasing film.
Page 1 of 3