The Guest - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Guest Reviews

Page 1 of 6
September 16, 2014
Good for some cheap thrills, and will probably satisfy fans whose nostalgia it seeks to tweak, but I couldn't jibe with it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 5, 2015
While you can practically hear Wingard and screenwriter Simon Barrett giggling with self-satisfaction from behind the camera, the ending feels like a shrug.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 4, 2015
The Guest has a fine premise, but thanks to the sloppy execution, the full potential of the story is never realized.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 4, 2014
Suddenly, we seem to be trapped in a cheap, corny rehash of B-movie cliches from the 1980s and you can't wait for it to slink away into a corner and disappear.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 5, 2015
A slow-burn approach seems to pose a challenging change-up for the filmmakers, who struggle to build tension as the second acts stretches well past the point when the level of menace should be escalating.
September 4, 2014
A set-up rich with metaphorical potential is squandered.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 9, 2014
'[C]inema is over, man, and there's nothing left but a death spiral of sarcastic self-reference reflecting and refracting around a dismal hall of movie mirrors and taunting us with the echoing emptiness our creatively bankrupt souls.'
October 9, 2014
"The Guest" remains watchable through the finish, but all pretense that this is some kind of attempt at a good movie goes out the window after the first hour.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 31, 2014
...a glorified straight-to-video actioner...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 31, 2014
Despite a delightfully creepy performance by Stevens, the script turns more conventional by sacrificing narrative coherence for generic self-aware bloodletting.
April 12, 2016
The kind of immediate pop artifact that's sure to keep many veteran filmmakers awake at night.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 29, 2014
I honestly can't remember the last time I had this much fun at the movies, so I'm just gonna come out and say it: This is my favorite movie of the year.
June 21, 2016
The Guest makes a strong case for Wingard as our next great action director.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 20, 2015
...[Dan Stevens] plays wholesome, aloof, seductive, dangerous, psychotic... He nails every single beat.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
October 10, 2014
A horror movie that pokes fun at itself and still gets the job done.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 19, 2014
Director Adam Wingard and screenwriter Simon Barrett have really outdone themselves with The Guest, with chilling black comedy and astounding visual panache it is the most fantastically entertaining action flick of recent memory.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 19, 2014
Knowingly melodramatic, wonderfully cheesy and all-out bonkers, The Guest is an absolute blast from beginning to end.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 17, 2014
A Grade-A, self-aware homage to cult cinema ... For genre nuts, this can't be recommended enough.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
January 23, 2014
The director-writer team have crafted a great-looking and sincere genre throwback without resorting to pastiche of some of their peers.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 17, 2014
The opening locates us easily and confidently in space, time, mood, and genre. "The Guest" delivers on that initial promise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 6