The Guest - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Guest Reviews

Page 1 of 6
August 14, 2017
Fueled entirely on [Dan] Stevens's charisma and its synthpop score, The Guest starts out intriguing until you realise the film and its protagonist are utterly vacant.
September 16, 2014
Good for some cheap thrills, and will probably satisfy fans whose nostalgia it seeks to tweak, but I couldn't jibe with it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 4, 2015
The Guest has a fine premise, but thanks to the sloppy execution, the full potential of the story is never realized.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 4, 2014
Suddenly, we seem to be trapped in a cheap, corny rehash of B-movie cliches from the 1980s and you can't wait for it to slink away into a corner and disappear.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 5, 2015
A slow-burn approach seems to pose a challenging change-up for the filmmakers, who struggle to build tension as the second acts stretches well past the point when the level of menace should be escalating.
September 4, 2014
A set-up rich with metaphorical potential is squandered.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 9, 2014
'[C]inema is over, man, and there's nothing left but a death spiral of sarcastic self-reference reflecting and refracting around a dismal hall of movie mirrors and taunting us with the echoing emptiness our creatively bankrupt souls.'
October 9, 2014
"The Guest" remains watchable through the finish, but all pretense that this is some kind of attempt at a good movie goes out the window after the first hour.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 31, 2014
...a glorified straight-to-video actioner...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 31, 2014
Despite a delightfully creepy performance by Stevens, the script turns more conventional by sacrificing narrative coherence for generic self-aware bloodletting.
November 1, 2018
The Guest is an absolute blast for fans of old school genre pictures.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 23, 2018
The Guest is easily one of the most intensely entertaining experiences I have had at a theater this year. Do yourselves a favor and seek David out now...before HE finds you.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
November 1, 2018
I will be keeping an eye out for more films directed by Adam Wingard. From what I have seen of his work Wingard perfectly blends horror, suspense, despicable villains (that you can't help but like), amazing music, and strong female characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
August 20, 2018
The Guest is a throwback to 1970s and 1980s slashers and thrillers but instead of copying their plots it has some fun.
October 24, 2018
With a sexy soundtrack and callbacks to 1980s films like The Stepfather and, strangely, The Terminator, this overlooked gem is worth checking out.
October 17, 2017
... it's all about Dan Stevens. He is simply terrific as David.
October 21, 2018
Do yourself a favour and go watch The Guest now. Why wait until it becomes a cult classic?
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 12, 2016
The kind of immediate pop artifact that's sure to keep many veteran filmmakers awake at night.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 29, 2014
I honestly can't remember the last time I had this much fun at the movies, so I'm just gonna come out and say it: This is my favorite movie of the year.
June 21, 2016
The Guest makes a strong case for Wingard as our next great action director.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 6