The Guilt Trip - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Guilt Trip Reviews

Page 3 of 7
December 21, 2012
While it doesn't break new ground, it will play well for all those who appreciate Streisand or want to be reassured that their adult children still love them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 21, 2012
The Guilt Trip pairs Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand in the hope, no doubt, that sparks will fly. They don't.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
December 21, 2012
Rogen and Streisand are reasonably funny together, though Rogen, always best when he's angry, is crowded into the role of a well-mannered straight man.
December 21, 2012
The Guilt Trip delivers an average but unremarkable comedy offering with enough heart to make up for some missed laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 21, 2012
To its detriment, The Guilt Trip opts to work gently on the heart rather than hard on the funny bone.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 21, 2012
Does it give it away where I'm coming from that I "invited" my son to join me at the screening of this mother/son road comedy? I mean, it was demographic research. Really. You shouldn't worry. We both had a good time.
December 21, 2012
Silly and nice, basically unfunny but basically innocuous—so as satisfying as your average leftovers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 21, 2012
I was thankful it grew enough on me that I didn't end up pulling all of my hair out while watching it unfold, but I don't think I'll be taking another ride with 'The Guilt Trip' again. (Full Content Review for Parents also available)
December 21, 2012
Get in out of the cold and enjoy a family fun evening checking out "Guilt Trip", it's the funniest trip of 2012.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 20, 2012
A breezy, funny and warm road-trip comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 20, 2012
Seth Rogen and Barbra Streisand make a snappy comic duo in this road movie about a tetchy mother-son relationship.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 20, 2012
This film completely surrenders to its premise, with everything else following in a predictable way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 20, 2012
Tame but thoroughly flat The Guilt Trip is a film whose cleverness begins and ends with that title. Call it the mother of all disappointments.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
December 20, 2012
The Guilt Trip is clearly targeted at older audiences less than receptive to the crude jokes that made Seth Rogen famous.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
December 20, 2012
It zigs when you expect it to zag. It's perceptive and thoughtful as it swerves around potholes that easily could have broken an axle.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
December 20, 2012
The film's feel-good message is undermined by its ultimate purpose: As a vindication of the rights of Jewish mothers to annoy their children as much as they please.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
December 20, 2012
It takes more than a few wrong turns. And once you've reached the end, you have no urge to ever do it again.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
December 20, 2012
It's everything you'd expect in a mother-son road trip comedy starring the profane Rogen and the smart-mouthed diva Streisand. And less.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 19, 2012
The movie could have been made with random basic-cable actors, and it would have been just as unremarkable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 19, 2012
Streisand nudges, Rogan does a slow burn, and neither of them has a mean bone in their bodies [in a] paean to mothers who mean well, and sons who know the truth of that deep in their hearts, somewhere under the embarrassment, confusion, and guilt.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 3 of 7