The Help - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Help Reviews

Page 1 of 11
January 26, 2018
The performances prevail in The Help as Emma Stone shows her range as a serious actress and Viola Davis epitomizes courage through her somber eyes.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 4, 2018
Hokey, but a hit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 23, 2017
It's worth seeing for the acting alone-Davis and Spencer are outstanding-but we should be asking ourselves the difficult questions the movie tries so hard to avoid.
September 8, 2017
But aside from its substantial performances, The Help's completely uninteresting script caused the whole movie to be dead on arrival.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
August 30, 2017
The Help hands us a slap on the wrist when a knee to the groin or a fist in the face is what's needed.
April 13, 2016
The racism inherent in its diversions and elisions is not only the filmmakers', but ours, too.
May 12, 2015
Is it really appropriate for us to all stand up and applaud this courageous, fictional white gIrl?
March 29, 2014
Taylor's palpably meandering sensibilities are exacerbated by an almost comically overlong running time...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 26, 2013
Lifetime Channel movie with paternalistic liberalism bordering on Paula Deen malignity.
June 30, 2013
A great story and a wonderful cast combine to make this drama a must-see.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.0/5
May 24, 2013
If you think the summer has been lacking in sophisticated adult entertainment, don't worry, 'The Help' is on the way.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
February 28, 2013
Outstanding performances and a delicate approach to racial tensions make this film a cut above other inspirational period dramas.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
January 13, 2013
Transcends its comfort-food-for-Oprah's Book Club wrapping to get at something deeper, the gray in a story that seems so far removed as to be utterly black and white."
March 12, 2012
Octavia Spencer's Minny provides the movie's funniest moments, especially when she gets her own back on former employer Hilly with an audacious reprisal that proves that revenge is indeed a dish best served cold.
January 27, 2012
They collectively drive this film's engine, and as ensembles go this is the best one I'm likely to see assembled in all of 2011.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 10, 2012
La película realmente triunfa en la exploración de la complicidad y solidaridad que se establece entre mujeres solas, quebradas, necesitadas de oportunidades e inconformes con los moldes sociales preestablecidos.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 7, 2012
I found it surprisingly enjoyable. And I suppose that's the greatest compliment I could give the film: I didn't hate it, even if I was dreading it going in.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 29, 2011
A quiet but powerful film that really does have Oscar written all over it.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
December 24, 2011
Aimed at heart and conscience, novel and film have their overdone moments but remain worthy of close attention.
December 22, 2011
Brimming with believable, likeable women characters and set against the turbulence of Mississippi in the 1960s, 'The Help' is almost as good as Kathryn Stockett's novel.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 11