The House I Live In - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The House I Live In Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 16, 2013
Americans have long celebrated justice and freedom, but director Eugene Jarecki's The House I Live In forces viewers to look closely at political policies that have turned the nation into the No. 1 jailer in the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 2, 2013
Whatever your politics, you will find things to astonish and flabbergast and enrage you in what is perhaps the most cool-headed examination of America's relationship to illegal drugs ever.
March 28, 2013
Somehow, Jarecki pulls it off, circling his subject and revisiting key themes as he constructs the convincing argument that, while the drug war may affect only a certain segment of the population, it's everyone's problem.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 2, 2013
Our search for easy answers to the evils of drugs is an addiction we must wean ourselves from.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 21, 2013
A compelling investigation into the roots of America's war on drugs, which has massively increased prison numbers whilst failing to reduce drug abuse.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 17, 2013
The movie's indictment would be more persuasive had Jarecki recognized that his audience likely already knows most of what he recaps, and can handle the odd scrap of ambiguity.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 17, 2013
This fine film makes surprising connections and offers provocative arguments.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 7, 2013
It is the insiders, the prisoners themselves who are most cinema-eloquent, along with a surprising Iowa U.S District Court judge and an Oklahoma corrections center security chief.
December 17, 2012
Jarecki's arguments, presented as a very personal response to the war on drugs, are unashamedly those of a left-wing libertarian. They are also enormously compelling and extremely convincing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 14, 2012
Suffused with a righteous anger that Jarecki methodically turns up to full boil, The House I Live In is an emotionally shattering work, but also one with a hefty, legitimate intellectual punching power.
Full Review | Original Score: A
December 12, 2012
The ambitious look at the drug problem here offers a too simplistic view that demands a more critical and more inclusive look.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 10, 2012
What this film argues, pretty convincingly, is that the war on drugs is much worse than a failure. It argues that it is tearing our society apart.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 7, 2012
"The House I Live In" leaves you shaking your head in deadened wonder at the waste of it all.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
December 3, 2012
Jarecki makes clear that all our efforts and investments in fighting the War on Drugs haven't yielded any real success, only ruined lives, families and communities. There comes a point in any war where it becomes important to ask: Is it worth it?
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 30, 2012
Expertly researched, brilliantly argued and masterfully assembled, it is also easily the documentary of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 26, 2012
One of the finest documentaries of the year, this involving film is lucid, sharply well shot and edited, and ultimately so important that it's rather terrifying to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 25, 2012
A wide-ranging examination of the futile, self-defeating "war on drugs" ...
November 23, 2012
One of the best documentaries out this year, and a must-see for Senate and Congress in America.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 22, 2012
An angry and personal attack on America's war on drugs contends it is a grotesquely wasteful public-works scheme.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 22, 2012
Jarecki is a stickler for sticking to his subject, or sub-subject, until it squeals like a leech victim.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 4